We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Camas Budget Hostel
Ranked #31 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Hostel”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This was by far the worst place I have ever been in. IT IS NOT A REAL HOSTEL. It is just a man renting dirty bunkbeds out of his house. When we first arived, we arived in a dirty, dimly lit front room. The owner then gave us a pair of really worn out, old sheets to put on our worn out, rickety bunk beds. We needed to get out of that place and promptly went to the beach. When we came back we sat on the back deck with some other travelers, there was old cups with half drunk beers, from who knows when. There were ciggerate butts everywhere. I decided to take a shower to clean off from the beach, all the showers are out side, which I didnt mind at first. The shower floors are coverd in mold and there is no hot water. After that we decied that we really coudlnt bear to stay the one night that we were planning on staying, and spent twenty extra dollars to go to a decent hotel acrss the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Decent hostel in the armpit that is Jaco. We happened upon this hostel randomly during the day. We only stayed one night in Jaco (we left before the 24 hour mark), but the various travelers in the hostel went to the beach for a bonfire and shared Costa Rican rum and travel stories. I was glad to have saved one of the few days I had in Costa Rica by meeting people and staying at this hostel. It is not overall the picturesque version of Costa Rican hostels that you find in many beach towns, but it worked nonetheless. A very happy place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Untracked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night in August, we didn't like Jaco that much, but Las Camas was a nice enough place and had air conditioning (necessary at the beach, but not included in a lot of hostels). I thought it was amazing how clean it was for being so near the beach (everyone comes back full of sand!). The only thing that slightly worried us was that they give out front door keys to everyone, so you never really know how safe it is as you don't know whose hands the front door keys get into...especially since Jaco is not the safest of communities. Having said that, we didn't have any problems and the owners probably know what they are doing!

Regarding the previous comment, I wonder why someone would stay three nights if he didn't like it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed in a private room on the first floor ("The Cave") for 3 nights with my girlfriend. Although it was nice to have an air conditioner, the bathrooms were not clean, always sandy and wet. We were right next to where the computers were so you always heard people talking and skyping. It was really loud and difficult to sleep. Edit the owner was nice and helpful; very knowledgeable about the area. But her boyfriend, Chubbs, was on the rude side (don't try to use the outside phone or he'll bite your head off!) Hotel De Haan is supposed to be really nice for backpackers. I would try that hostel if I ever return to Jaco.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auspicious14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I spent two nights in this centrally located hostel in Jaco. This place attracts some great backpackers and Edit and Csaba are the best!!! The hostel has a great rooftop to chill and the dorms have airco. Thanks for the warm welcome Edit and Csaba, next time I visit you I want to see my picture on the wall! ;)
Jeroen

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hostel is adorable and run by the sweetest couple ever! Their hospitality was extremely welcome being that we had just arrived in Costa Rica and had a less than wonderful experience in San Jose. We had our own private room, which consisted of a bed and a broken chair, but really it was all we needed for the night. The bathroom is shared and could have been cleaner, but we didn't expect much since it was so cheap. Free internet access and an awesome rooftop area to hang out on were big pluses. The owners also gave us restaurant advice and other traveling tips to help us get to our next destination. Jaco, in general, will probably be seen as a total dump if you are over the age of 25, but for young backpackers and surfers, it's great. Definitely stay here if you are in that category, and want to meet other people and get a great deal for a place to sleep. otherwise, this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Tried to go by the book, but the most recently (October 2008) published Lonely Planet only had budget options, which were either out of town, or out of service.

I accidentaly found this hostel just across the bridge going north and instantly was cought by its vibe. The owners (Hungarian couple) were the most enthusiastic I´ve ever seen in the Hostel business. Rooms are basic, but clean. The building is two floors, plus an excellent roofterrace to chill out in the evenings. There is hot water in the shower, internet desktop+ wifi and a proper kitchen.

The owners hang out with the guests not just in the Hostel but in and around town and they also occasionally organise the "bring your meet" BBQ party on the roof (providing salads and rice apart from the BBQ equipment), so everything is set for getting to know your fellow travellers and to hang out with new people for a while.

Dormbeds are 14USD.

  • Liked — the vibe
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adviceforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perico Azul
Hotel Perico Azul
#5 of 42 in Jaco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riva Hostel Jaco
Riva Hostel Jaco
#6 of 69 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
0.3 mi away
Beds on Bohio
Beds on Bohio
#16 of 69 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Perlita
La Perlita
#7 of 30 in Jaco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Camas Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Camas Budget Hostel

Property: Las Camas Budget Hostel
Address: Jaco Centro, across from KFC, Jaco 4444, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Las Camas Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Camas Budget Hotel Jaco
Las Camas Budget Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing