We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
548
90
27
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
90
27
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen tamales order food costa rica beautiful boutique hotel the hotel manager spa services breakfast was delicious exotic birds the hotel offers small hotel minute drive off the beaten path staff went out of their way the owner the ground floor infinity pool
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 682 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We've stayed at the Pumilio two times now. Both times we had exceptional experiences. The first time just my wife and and myself. We had such a great time that we decided to take my parents to the hotel to celebrate their 59th wedding anniversary. Once again the experience was top-notch,the hotel beautiful, and Mom and Dad were thrilled! We will certainly visit again, and highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

It was a pleasure to have you back with your lovely parents, it was amazing to celebrate with you and them their 59th anniversary, congrats again and we wish them lots more together, nice to see you taking care of them with an amazing vacation time.

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time.

Looking forward to have you back leaping into happiness at Pumilio again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Fantastic staff who helped to make our stay truly memorable. Starting with Juan, Krishne, and Milton who manned the front desk and took care of everything from room needs, booking tours, ordering meals, general Costa Rica Q&A, and taxis into town, to the wonderful lady who, every morning, made my son scrambled eggs and waffles that had him completely hooked, to the grounds keeper who worked tirelessly but quietly in the background, morning-to-night...all top notch staff!!
Was even pleasantly surprised one day when the staff came knocking at our door with a giant birthday cake in hand - somebody had noticed my birthday from my passport and gathered the staff together to give me a Costa Rican happy birthday, complete with song, candles, and a card!!
Hotel is immersed in Costa Rican nature, bringing something interesting each day - toucans, vultures, iguanas, jesus christ lizards, multitude of butterflies and birds. Spending time out on the balcony was enough to destress the craziest of days - fresh air, natural smells, sounds, and vibrant nature all around us. The pool was a great way to wind down after an excursion out to the beaches, jungles, or city.
A step into our room and all the comforts of home, including air conditioning and drinkable water!
The staff's done a fantastic job of picking out the best tour providers as well. We enjoyed every tour and found the vendors just as professional and customer-focused as the Pumilio staff. We always felt comfortable/confident booking with Juan/Milton/Krishne's helpful tips and recommendations!
First time I've ever felt sad about leaving a hotel and ending a vacation; typically looking forward to getting home. The staff truly made us feel comfortable, at home, and part of their family!

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd fl suites for those who seek more privacy, and 1st fl pool-side for the social butterflies
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank himajinochaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better and helps others that are looking for a hotel to spend their vacation. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time, absolutely spoil to explore Costa Rica.

According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it`s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, when our guests trust they have a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we take care of our guest’s budget and schedules and usually can make combos so our guests can save money and do more tours!.Guests that book we offer the free taxi to downtown.

Nice to hear you liked our Birthday surprise, we love to celebrate with our guests, Happy Birthday again and all our best wishes.

We decided not to have a restaurant, so we are able to offer more meal options, we chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck.

For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast everyday, so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday!

This little spot is perfect to enjoy the pool embraced by the forest with ocean weather, especially at night lit up with torches, nice to hear you enjoyed after adventure, relaxing in the pool, sitting in the balcony and feeling the magic of nature.

We have our own well and double filter the water, it`s even better than the bottled water, good you trust us.

Best regards from all the staff that is very grateful that you appreciated our service that they enjoy giving our guests and they have the same feeling and miss you.
Looking forward to have you back leaping into happiness at Pumilio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Beautiful Hotel and the staff bends over backward for anything you request.The view and the breakfast every morning is excellent.They also provide transportation to Jaco every day which is a big plus for shopping or going to the beach.

Room Tip: Love the balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidmiller3751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Hello David! Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better and helps others that are looking for a hotel to spend their vacation. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time, absolutely spoil to explore Costa Rica.

For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast everyday, so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday!

It`s better when our guest trust us and book the tours and activities with us instead of making ahead by themselves, depending in our guests plans, likes and preferences we know which tour operator will be the best option, we take care of the schedule and can double check for the best service to our guests, we love to be part of your plans, so you can relax and explore Costa Rica like been pamper at home and for those booking tours with us we offer the free taxi to downtown, nice to hear you liked our courtesy.

Best regards from all the staff that is very grateful that you appreciated our service that they enjoy giving our guests.
Looking forward to have you back leaping into happiness at Pumilio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Excellent customer service, very friendly staff, great breakfast. Rooms were very clean, staff was happy to help with any needs we had. They arranged for taxis, meal deliveries, transportation to and from the airport, and provided help with excursions and adventures. They had everything we needed, was a very quiet getaway. Spa was great as well.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wyattchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time.

For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast everyday, so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday!

The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. They are fully renovated!

We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck.

According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it`s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, when our guests trust they have a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we take care of our guest’s budget and schedules and usually can make combos so our guests can save money and do more tours!.

Like you hear you enjoyed our Spa, being outdoor and surrounded by nature is and unique adventure instead of been in an AC Spa and the perfect complement for a relaxing and spoiling time.

Best regards from all the staff that is very grateful that you appreciated our service that they enjoy giving our guests.
Looking forward to have you back leaping into happiness at Pumilio!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

The hotel was excellent for a relaxing 3 days after a busy tour of Costa Rica.With only 10 rooms it was almost like having the place to ourselves a lot of the time.The staff were friendly courteous and extremely helpful.Having the use of the BBQ to cook our own food was great as we didn't need to go out to restaurants.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time.

Our boutique hotel with only 10 rooms is the prefect size to have a personalized service, and during the day most of the guests go out for tours and activities, since the area offers to many things to do, that's why we have longer stays a lot, so they explore Costa Rica like pamper at home and don't loose time changing hotels. Nice to hear you had a good time your last 3 days.

The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. They are fully renovated! Nice to hear you enjoyed our BBQ too.

Best regards from all the staff that is very grateful that you appreciated our service that they enjoy giving our guests. Looking forward to have you back for a longer stay leaping into happiness at Pumilio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews