We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pumilio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
506
88
26
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
88
26
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchentamalesorder foodcosta ricabeautiful boutique hotelspa servicesthe hotel managerminute drivethe hotel offersbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful rainforestexotic birdsoff the beaten pathstaff went out of their waystayed longersmall hotelroom hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 635 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a fantastic first three days of our Costa Rica vacation at Pumilio, the room was big the balcony was great to sit, eat, listen to nature and relax after a day at Jaco beach. To bad I booked late and couldn't stay longer. Great Staff!!!
We will be back

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the most private
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DantheJet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

You are a very special family and we are sorry you could`t stay longer, we really missed you, thanks for your opinion that is very important to us, we feel happy your will leap into happiness at Pumilio in the future let us know in advance because we love to be part of the plans! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit in Costa Rica and remember we will always be very welcome back. Best regards to all of you from all the staff and especially me. Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Hotel Pumilio is a small, hospitable boutique hotel in the hills above Jaco. The location is preferable over being right in Jaco, as the town is a little dumpy. Pool and service was great. The service overall was fantastic and the owner, Laura, was very nice. The only complaint was that the spa services we received were simply average.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kyecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Nice to hear from you a very special couple that really appreciate our personalized service we take care every day to help our guests as much as we can for an unforgotten experience leaping to happiness. Sorry to hear the massage was not excellent as we want them to be, certainly I will take care to work on the service, after reading your valuable opinion today I asked everyone after they had there spa about satisfaction and they were very happy, so I will keep trying to find out what happen with your experience and that specific therapist, thanks a lot for your comment. We hope to have you back in the future and your friends and family. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This a great little hotel located just outside of the hustle of the beach area but still close enough to be easily accessible.
The staff are excellent, the rooms are big beautiful, it’s very cozy, very clean and modern. The kitchenettes are fully equipped. The pool area is a great place to just chill out and enjoy the tropical quiet setting. The breakfast is served in a very relaxed environment, good food and good people. Laura the Owner as well as all the staff helped to make this a wonderful experience for my family and I.. we will DEFINITELY be coming back here..
They even had bicycles for me to do so morning fitness and look around before the family got up ;-)
nice touch..
I highly recommend this place for anyone who prefers to be just a little off the beaten track and in a beautiful tropical environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thanks for your opinion that is very important for us, the better way to improve our service and little spot outside the hustle of Jaco but accessible to a lot of things to do in the area, is nice to hear our help and recommendations were helpful for a wonderful experience for your wonderful and nice family, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I feel happy you will leap into happiness at Pumilio some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Small 10 room luxury B & B with the friendliest staff we have ever encountered. What stopped me from giving them 5 stars is:

1. Beds are very hard and uncomfortable.
2. They have no restaurant. (They do serve a wonderful cooked breakfast).
3. The rooms have no desk or even a comfortable chair or sofa.

Room Tip: Every room is identical - lower rooms open to pool.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sedona-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments, your opinion is very important for us, sorry we didn't know the beds were hard for you because we can solve that with a special mattress cover and soon we are going to have some Premium suites with desk, small living room and a King bed instead of 2 Queen Beds, our guest are going to be able to choose there pillows plus other extras, for your next visit we will have them ready so let us know in advance and leap to happiness at Pumilio again! If you have any other suggestions for our new premium suites they will be very welcome. Best regards to a very special couple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Friendly staff, clean, beautiful and very spacious rooms, beautiful pool area, wonderful area in which you can see a lot of animals. It is just a 10 minutes Ride by car to get to the Nationalpark. Hotel is located at a little road- so really calm. The only noises you will hear are from animals

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annehase23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hello, thank you for your opinion that counts and is very important for us, is the best way to keep walking to improve our guest services, we agree that is a perfect location spot surround by nature but close to a lot of places, a perfect way to explore Costa Rica home away from home with the birds singing, fresh air, memorable relax vacation. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews