We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No disappointments at this spectacular boutique inn”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I just returned from 11 wonderful days and nights at the Pumilio and we could not be more pleased with our experiences there. Laura (the owner) and her husband have created a private, secure 10 unit retreat a short 5 minute drive from the bustle of Jaco Beach that is both visually and sensually stunning from the moment you enter the private, gated drive. The staff is superb, with every request from booking first class tours to ordering meals handled with ease and professionalism. Laura does a marvelous job of making the inn feel like a home away from home (their spectacular mountain estate is next door), and we enjoyed many conversations with her and the staff about Costa Rica and our time there as we sat during the balmy evenings around the pool. Do not miss this absolute gem if you are looking for a tranquil oasis close to so many things to do. You will be in the very capable hands of a couple that truly understands the meaning of hospitality. Pura Vida, Laura and staff. Thank you for making this one of the the most memorable trips of our lives.

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor for more privacy and larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

What a pleasure to hear from you wonderfull couple, we loved to meet you and have you with us at Pumilio, sharing some of our experiences of our trips with cold and snow and making some recommendations of the area with sunny and hot days, we are pleased to know that we are part of memorable trip. You really leaped into adventure and happiness. A trip planned "Pura Vida" not jumping from place to place there is lots to do around exploring, enjoying and come back home away from home every evening and have dinner at the terrace in front of the pool surrounded by nature, tranquil perfect to relax. Thank you so much for your kindly comments, the best way to improve and look forward is our guest opinion and since the beginning trying to find our the purpose of the trip, the name for the welcome card in the snack courtesy. We love hospitality and the best part is to like what you do every day!
If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you!
We will always remember you. Thanks a lot and have a very special year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 604 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had a wonderful time! Spent 8 days here in mid January. Helpful, friendly staff, very clean, breakfast each day was good. Great location if you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of Jaco Beach. It was very quiet for the first 2 days but even at full capacity with many active children, it didn't feel crowded and we could still relax. The kitchen on the balcony is great, we prepared meals some days. We also had meals delivered from local restaurants and the staff prepared them and brought them to our room and we ate on the balcony. The room was large and comfortable there was just 2 of us in a room that can accommodate 5. Good efficient A/C. The pool is large enough to get exercise and has jucuzzi jets at one end. We had massages in the outdoor spa, it was at dusk with all the sounds of the wildlife. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 25 is a corner suite on the second floor, so most private. First floors open out right onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndrewBSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Good to hear you enjoyed close enough but away from hustle and bustle of Jaco an unique experience to relax. We really care about our guest vacation, all the staff works taking care of details and love to hear you had a wonderful time during your 8 days with us! Your opinion counts thanks for your kindles comments, the Spa is amazing and a perfect combination on a special vacation and we believe that having dinner in the balconies, terraces or dinning room is very peaceful. Hope to have your families, friends and specially you back soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We, a family of four (2 adults+2 teenagers )wanted a home away from home to rest a little after 6 days of very active vacation elsewhere in Costa Rica. This hotel was perfect. It is not on the beach, but I prefer it to the Jaco Beach where it is too crowded. The boutique hotel is very well-maintained, tranquil, and clean. It has a resort-feel of a small boutique hotel. For 4 days We enjoyed relaxing, swimming in the pool, & jogging to the beach (a very hot and tiring run 3km away). The out-door kitchen was a bonus where we could do some cooking.
The breakfast was nice and was home-made.
If I had to find faults, the rooms looked larger in the advertised photos than it actually was,and the bathroom was small. However I was happy with the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi! Thanks for your opinion that is very important fur us! It was a pleasure to have with us such a nice family, lovely teenagers! Glad you liked your home away from yours! At Pumilio Hotel you can explore a lot of places from Costa Rica and come back home and always will be very welcome and we care about suggestions on places, restaurantes and things to do but surrounded by nature, peace, close enough from Jaco but not in the crowed place. Remember you have a home in Costa Rica hope to have your friends and family visiting and specially you back! Let us know we love to be part of the vacations plans! Happy New Year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The setting for this boutique hotel is breathtaking! We booked 2 nights at Hotel Pumilio as we were traveling on an 8 day vacation thru Costa Rica. I was initially hesitant about the lack of a restaurant. We arrived the first night in time for dinner and were greeted by Mauricio who graciously ordered our dinner that we able to chose from several restaurant menus available. We thought they would just deliver the take out to our room but were delighted when we were informed that our food had arrived and would plated and served in the beautiful out door dining area by the pool. It was lovely, so much so that instead of taking advantage of the free transport to and from Jaco the next evening we decided to have dinner again at the hotel by the pool. We felt as though we had the place to ourselves (even though we were there over New Years eve and New years day and the hotel was fully booked!) The morning breakfast that we were served were equally delightful. We also saw two huge beautiful Macaws on our first morning at breakfast! I would definitely return and stay at Hotel Pumilio. It is a very special place!

Room Tip: I saw a recommendation to stay on the second floor, we stayed on the first floor and enjoyed it imme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi! You are an amazing family that really enjoy our culture to do our best everyday to guarantee unforgettable experience at Hotel Pumilio, we like to be different, not schedules and having a restaurant limited our guest prefers, that's why I decided to offer the best on the area but like at home and serve wherever our guest prefer to enjoy it! I'm glad you like it! The macaws and toucans love this place to stay free and naturally glad they visited you at breakfast.
Hope to have you, your friends and family with us soon, it is really a perfect spot to explore Costa Rica and have a special family vacation with us! Thanks for your kindly comments that are very important for us! Our best wishes for this new year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Because of the weather above USA on the day we had to fly home our flight was canceled. We had to stay 4 more days in Costa Rica before we could fly back home. We decided to stay at the coast in Jaco and make a choice to book Pumilio. We never regret that!

This small boutique-hotel is situated in a nice position in the middle of mountains and jungle. We experienced the most warm welcome we ever had (even a 4 or 5-star hotel can get any closer) The rooms are large sized and the beds are very comfortable. A nice rainshower completes the bathroom and the rooms keep clean every day. Every room has his own kitchen with fridge, microwave-oven and a sink and when u sit outside of your room u have an amazing view!

The hotel provides u free complementary taxi-trips to Jaco, a nice basket of snacks on arrival, and if u want u can order food from 10 different restaurants in the area of Jaco. When u order, the food will delivered under your patio! And if u want u can get simply in touch with home because of the fast Wifi-connection, which is free avalaible all the time!

Ana, Marcelo and many others: thanks for a nice stay!

Room Tip: Get an room on the ground floor. Makes it easier to jump directly in the pool when u wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hi! We really enjoyed your stay with us while waiting for the weather in USA to go back, thanks for your kindles comments, your opinion is very important for us and feel very happy to hear you are always going to have good memories from Hotel Pumilio's generously sized and comfortable suites, the rain shower, our suites outside to feel the mountain environment and we believe a good internet is always necessary to have, the free taxis to downtown and our Gastronomic Adventures service, which allows you to easily enjoy the best cuisine from the region's top restaurants and dine in the comfort and intimacy of our outdoor rancho (or your room). Hope to have your family, friends and you back soon! Our best wishes on this year 2014! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have little to add to the excellent reviews recently posted (e.g., Charl L, krisnoga) except to echo them. For a family of five "strangers in a strange land" we felt extraordinarily safe and comfortable. We thought the on-site breakfasts were wonderful; and ordering in (or going out to) local restaurants for dinner was not a problem at all - all meals were excellent. (While we loved the authentic local food, we also found their pizzas to be better than we have back home.) The staff helped sign us up for wonderful local tours. My only tip is to make sure you pay attention to the directions. The turn off is between Herradura (2 km) and Jaco - you do not go to Jaco. If you rely on google maps or mapquest - at least for us - they appeared to show the hotel to be on the south side of Jaco, which is inaccurate. (I believe due to confusion between the hotel's old name and other hotels in the area with similar names?) Watch for your turn 2km after Herradura, right before a little bridge; if you cross the bridge and soon come to Jaco, you've gone too far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

At Hotel Pumilio we love to make our guest feel like home and even are visiting a new place to help get comfortable and safe at the area. Our gourmet adventures with the menus as some of the best restaurantes in the area have work perfect, so everyone can order even from a different place and eat what they want I'm glad you liked! Since our name was changed about a month ago, the providers haven't finish their signal job and we hope as soon Google Maps take off the last name directions tat 1 of them is wrong and just keep the one with the new name. We really appreciate your time with this kindly comments your opinion is very important for us. Hope to have your friends, family and you back soon! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just come back from a week at this lovely and charming boutique hotel. There are only 10 rooms, very spacious at that and you have a large balcony overlooking the rainforest where you will have breakfast on a terrace next to some iguanas and lizards (totally harmless). The staff were very friendly and helpful. You get a paid for return taxi to Jacó or Herradura everyday and a choice of 10-12 restaurants which deliver to the hotel in good time. Myself and my husband dined on the terrace and had it to ourselves. Breakfast good, nice and healthy. It is situated in a small pueblo and feels remote at first but is only 5 mins from the beach. It`s a truly unique experience of jungle meets beach meets sea. I would say this is not a hotel for children although some children were around during our stay. It is in such a tranquil setting that having children around shouting kind of ruins the experience. Definitely suited to couples, on honeymoon or groups of friends looking for a getaway. Ana and Marcelo were extremely helpful on reception. Pool area amazing and immaculate. Badminton can be played next to the pool, although I would suggest a ping pong table (more fun!). Wifi works really well all over the hotel and the outside areas. It is definitely one of the best boutique style hotels I have stayed in and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to stay on the 2nd floor, all rooms face the pool and the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello! Nice to hear from you, very special couple that really make your travel experience fantastic, thanks for you opinion that is very important for us, certainly our guest enjoy being 5 minutes away from the beaches and downtown that's the reason we provide the transfer to simplify and the gourmet adventures portfolios with the menus works pretty good and have a lot of variety of food to enjoy in contact with the nature and this peaceful place. Our lizards are very friendly and love to be feeder. We are going to try to have a pin pong table is a very good idea! Thanks again for your recommendation and hope to have your family, friends and specially you back soon! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $96 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing