We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is place is a hidden gem. We were looking for a place to stay around Jaco and decided to stay here. We are a family of 5, and the boutique hotel was perfect. It's located about 1km off the highway just north of Jaco. The grounds are very tranquil and the landscaping was very fitting for Costa Rica. The staff at the front desk let us store our luggage until later in the day, so we could go to the beach until check-in (we arrived at 9:30am) After a day at the beach, and a great dinner at I Love Sushi, we checked into our room. Two comfy queen beds and a sofa bed. The room was decorated in a contemporary Costa Rican theme. The infinity pools included a waterfall and slide. We enjoyed the evening in the pool. The resort is small with about 10 rooms, and they all look out over the pool and garden. There's an outside kitchen with dining table and chairs just off each unit. We used the fridge for our drinks. You can order food from any nearby restaurant, and the staff will pick it up and deliver it to your room! We loved the breakfast, and were able to sit in a quiet relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Great alternative to downtown/beach area of Jaco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Director de Recepción at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel, just the idea is to welcome our client and make you feel at home, where families can come to relax and enjoy a good time surrounded by nature, the hotel facilities are dedicated to making the guest feel comfortable, we hope to have them back soon and can enjoy our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 592 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a lovely location. The other reviews complaining about the distance from Jacó city are true, but it was not a problem at all for us. The hotel offers a complimentary taxi ride into Jacó and then back to the hotel once every day. Generally, we found that to be enough for us, as we didn't tend to leave the hotel until we were ready to be out for the day. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, sitting out on our little porch and watching the natural setting around us, and feeding the iguanas at breakfast. We also took advantage of the spa with body wraps the night before we left, and they provided a lovely end to our trip.

I noticed several people complained that the breakfast options were limited, but I found them to be perfectly fine. While the amount stayed the same from day to day, certain elements of the breakfast varied from day to day, and we were certainly satisfied with the food. (I recommend the scrambled eggs with leeks if they make those!) We also took advantage of the order in option and found the food to be good and served by hotel staff as if it was actually room service.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Marcelo was especially helpful, as he was the only person there during a transition in management. He handled the task in an exemplary manner. He was able to give us good recommendations for dinner and helped us find a good surfing lesson. All in all, it was a fantastic stay, and I could see it being a lovely place for a couple or a family who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of central Jacó while enjoying the beauty and opportunities provided by the Pacific coast region of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms walk right out to the pool area, which was wonderful. However, if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springdove42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello! We really appreciate your opinion, it is very important for us and counts to improve every day our personalized service, since it is a boutique hotel is the perfect size to take care of what our visitors are looking for on their vacation. We like to make different breakfast every day so people can try different styles from Costa Rica, of course we always have our typical “gallo pinto” (rice and beans).
As you say we are located far enough from the hustle and bustle of Jaco with a spectacular view of a virgin mountain jungle, a river and the constant crossing of red macaws and toucans...but ...yet close enough to enjoy the night life, easy access to different National Parks as well as diverse islands and beaches in the Central Pacific. We are a mountain, beach and adventure boutique hotel. And we decided since we opened instead of having a shuttle going and coming we have a personalized one “taxi”, that’s why we pay them and have special ones that work with us.
We miss you and hope to have you back soon, please let us in advance when you plan to come back or your family and friends, it will be a pleasure to help while you are planning the vacation. Have a nice week!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We (2 adults and our 12 year old daughter) just stayed 3 nights at this exquisite hotel (March 2013) and could not have been happier. It is the perfect blend of eco - toucans, gorgeous green "jungle" setting, and the lovely amenities of a top hotel. Everything was perfect - the rooms were lovely and sparkling clean, the staff were incredible (thank you Anna for all your help!), the pool was just beautiful. So much thought has been put into this place. We loved the little "outdoor" kitchens and that we could eat on our patio. And it is so close to everything. (If you are not familiar with this area - do not, i repeat do not stay in Jaco - this lovely hotel is just 3 km from there). Fantastic value. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely. But we chose a ground level so we could walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello! You are a very special couple and your daughter is so cute, can wait to have you back for more than 3 nights, so you can enjoy all the activities around from 5 minutes to 1 hour, beaches, volcano, mountains, surfing, bird watching, adventure, islands, etc. and come back home every day. We are having more toucans every day right know they have their nest in our trees, we really enjoy them every day. It was a pleasure to be helpful during you stay and that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen so the room doesn’t smell the cooking, in Costa Rica our weather allows us to have them outside so you can be submerged in nature while you prepare your meal. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again soon. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a great time. The owner is super nice, the room has great decoration and everything works perfectly. Great air conditioning and wifi. The pool is in a beautiful garden and the atmosphere is very relaxed. THe owner lives there and personaly takes care of all details and the staff was very kind to us. We spent 4 nights in 2 rooms. We are a family of 6.

Room Tip: They have only 10 rooms. Rooms are big and have a kitchen. I suggest the ones on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi! We really miss all of your family members, you are a nice and active family, it really was a pleasure to have you with us. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. The ones on the second floor are more private we are glad you were on those and to see you again in Costa Rica surfing!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we enjoyed having 2 adjoining rooms on the ground floor, which were just steps away from the pool. We were very happy to meet Marcello who helped us through some last minute flight changes! It was wonderful to be greeted by him and the wonderful surroundings after a long day of travelling! We were tired and decided to order supper from one of the restaurants in town. Our meals arrived quickly and was served on our patio! The pool was wonderful and most of the time we had it to ourselves with a few birds, lizards and a very large frog! We had a very early birding tour the next morning so they were kind enough to cook breakfast for us earlier than normal! The eggs and ham cooked in a muffin tin were very good!
The rooms were perfect for 3 people and the shower was absolutely the best that we have had in a hotel! The A/C was efficient and peacefully quiet!

Room Tip: The ground floor room away from the breakfast area is probably the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate you comments, your opinion it is very important for us. We were glad to help you with your las minute flight changes; we believe it is going to be a story to remember. Our guest enjoy the Gourmet Adventures because if you are tired you can eat at you room or dinning room, and everyone can choose his own place to eat, but at the same time without going downtown, glad to hear you enjoyed your decision. Out breakfast is serve when our guest desire we want people to get of schedules during vacation, we enjoy our personalized service and been helpful with all we can. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again. Have a nice week!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been to El Paso de Las Lapas, Jacó, in january 2013 for 2 nights. That's the first time I was disappointed with the reviews of Tripadvisor in years. Let me start saying that the Jacó city is ugly and lacks attractions. The beach is ok and the hotel is hidden on a dirty road on the mountains. The instant we've checked in and entered the room, we felt a strong smell of mold. Alright, the room looks at the pool which is 10 steps away from the bed. The pool is really nice and surrounded by green everywhere you look. Gorgeous sensation! But that's all. There's a palapa with massage beds which is abandoned: dirty and full of insects. Our small kitchen outside the room was smelling really bad, so I didn't use it thru the 2 nights of our stay, only the fridge. The smell in the room was kind of ruining our first night and I started to notice that the room was not clean at all. The furniture had spider webs all over and I was really trying to find where the smell came from. I finally noticed that a fabric that decorated the bed was the source of the bad smell and was full of silverfishes. I told the front desk about it and he told me he would be in my room in five minutes to remove the infested fabric. The nice guy never returned and I took the fabrics out myself with bare hands watching a silverfish rain over the bed and the floor. Disgusting! Later on the night I told the guy on the reception I removed the fabrics myself and he collected it saying: "que pena!" or "too bad" / "what a shame". We slept and enjoyed a very limited but decent breakfast. Spent the rest of the day on the amazing pool and used the menu on the room (very nice indeed) to order food from local restaurants. The Hicaco was, by far, the best. In this day I could also notice that the lounge chairs and all the hotel furniture was broken or malfunctioning. There were 6 lounge chairs and only 2 were perfect. We left the hotel with the sensation that the reviewers were there at another era. I think it could be a great place if several issues were solved. Staff is nice and kind, but there's no room service at all, only breakfast at hotel. Would not return and I recommend this hotel for very relaxed people that need one night of sleep before reaching the east coast. That's it!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private than first floor pool front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brasilianontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi I am the owner and really want to apologize about the situation, we already changed the administration after this opinion, we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. We already took care of all your comments, and your suite I agree with you was not clean as it should be, can´t believe how he didn´t take care of the situation and change your suite to another one. We also changed all the lounge chairs and with the new administrator that is a women that would not happen again, I live most of the time in my house next door, while you visited I was traveling too. We love the personalized service and staying out the strip of Jaco is more peaceful but close enough to go and enjoy for a while, and from here there are more than 45 attractions you can do, but probably he didn´t tell you either. Sorry I missed your visit and thank you very much for your comments, they helped me a lot to know what happened while I was traveling and work so this situation won´t happen again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent a night at El Paso de Las Lapas and would really recommend this place. We were very welcome with a glass of wine, the receptionist was very helpfull, took his time, gave us a map of Jaco and recommended some restaurants.
The rooms are very big, nicely decorated and absolutely spotless, same for the bathroom equipped with complimentary quality toiletries. I still think the rooms are a bit overpriced.
We enjoyed chilling out by the pool with our friends: the land monitors.
My only disappointlent in the city of Jaco, I don't know why it attracts so many people, if you enjoy big buildings and a lor of run down places, why bother coming to Costa Rica ???

Room Tip: all rooms have a terrace on the pool side, I prefered the downstairs ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello! Your opinion it is very important for us. We really agree that in Costa Rica the best for enjoy is nature, that’s one of the reasons we are far enough from downtown Jaco, we believe plants, all the birds and animals that visit us every day, makes our boutique hotel a lot different, but close enough to get to the beach, restaurants and more than 45 tours and activities to do around the from 5 minutes to 1 hour drive, hope next time you can stay with us more than one night!!!! Let us know when your friends and family want to come by and hope to have you with us again. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#1 of 3 in Punta Leona
1,357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 40 in Jaco
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $110 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing