We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the beach - no restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Far from the beach - no restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful room.

However, please note, the hotel is 4 km from the beach/restaurants/strip.

No restaurant. The hotel offers order-in service from several restaurants, but you pay for the delivery fee, or else you take a taxi to the restaurants - and the hotel pays for the taxi.
We took a taxi to the strip and had a great time, but future vacation-planners should be aware.

The hotel provides a breakfast buffet in the morning, but because they have to bring the food in, it really is not up to par for a hotel charging as much as they do.

So, although the room was nice, if I ever go back to Jaco Beach, I would get a hotel on the beach, not 4 km away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hermsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Your opinion counts, we want to thank you about the comments and we feel sorry you did not know we are not in front of the beach or the strip of Jaco when you booked. We decided to be away of the noisy Jaco and enjoy the nature but close enough to go out and enjoy, that`s one of the reason the hotel have the private shuttle called "taxi", to take our guest wherever they want to go and we pay for it. And try to be different than regular hotel rules, like the schedule for breakfast, and not having a restaurant since the all have their own kitchen, we have some of the best restaurants in the area and order and serve it to our guest wherever they want, the personalized service, but we understand not everyone likes the same. Thank you and best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    58
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
113
178
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

El Paso de las Lapas is an incredible place for a quiet getaway in the tropics! Great view, beautiful rooms, balcony/patio with kitchen facilities, delicious and bountiful breakfast. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I was upstairs, and liked the view and the privacy, but if you are on the first level you can just w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Helo Mr, W

Thanks for recommending us to your friends and visit a us second time, we hope to see you soon and able to speak with you, we also like to thank you for your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

i stayed with my family for 2 nights in the beginnin of june. We didn-t have reservation butwe did the check in without problem. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoyed to talk during our breakfast with the manager. The room was large enough for 4 people with a small kitchen . The view was amazing from our room , but all the rooms have the same view...incredible...peacefull...
Our kids they really enjoyed the pool.
The hotel is located 5 minutes driving from Jaco...that it-s not a good town for family with young kids. We spent a lot of time visiting around jaco and we founded amazing place . We went to carrara national park and we were a little disappoined since there is only one trail ..we saw a lot of animals and birds inside the park...but..only one trail!!!
At the end...i really reccomend this hotel, it-s not for budget tourist but really comapre others hotels i visited you feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion about our hotel and service we provide. When we read these feedback know that we are on track, we know that our customer service can improve day by day and we can make our clients feel we have exceeded all expectations. Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The El Paso de Las Lapas hotel exceeded my expectations in several ways. The service was incredible in many aspects:
- The hotel manager was able to work with a delivery service to retrieve a left cell phone in a town 3 hours away and had it delivered in 5 hours for $35. We thought that the cell phone was never to be found again but due to his persistance, he solved that problem. He probably worked for 30 minutes on making that happen.
- The day of our check out, we received a personal wake up knock and breakfast at 4 a.m. in the morning

We were the only people in the hotel on the first night and enjoyed the place all to ourselves - it felt like our own personal mansion complete with a maid, security and manager. The place is very quiet and full of wildlife. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the end have ceiling fans and larger patios. Also, there is a flora/butterfly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloveisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello my friends thank you very much for your comments, how good we could help you recover your mobile phone, at any time we want our guests feel special and at home, it was much easier to pay for a delivery service to our hotel instead mailing it to your home in USA.
We hope some day you get back and visit us one more time.
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I read so many fantastic reviews about El Paso de las Lapas before we made our first visit to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Somehow our experience exceeded all the wonderful things we previously heard about the hotel.

From the moment we arrived Laura and Flora’s hospitality was incredible. They did so many little things throughout our stay to make our time special, not just meeting our needs but ensuring that we had a memorable stay from start to finish. The meals they ordered for us, the homemade breakfasts, and the excursions they arranged were just the start. My birthday happened to be on the week we visited and Laura and Flora made sure it was special. I happened to leave a bag at the hotel, and it was returned without any cost or inconvenience. We had trouble arranging a trip back to the airport, but lets just say they took care of it better than we could have ever imagined. Everything is done with such kindness and ease, it really makes for such an incredible experience. The graciousness and hospitality of the sisters at El Paso de las Lapas can not be overstated. I could go on and on with examples of all the wonderful things they did, and personal touches they added. They really are special women!

Oh yeah, and the hotel? It’s absolutely beautiful. El Paso de las Lapas is tucked away from the bustle of Jaco in its own corner outside of the town. It might as well have been secluded miles away from anyone else. We hardly left, aside from a couple trips and a couple meals. I got a terrific massage, and we loved spending hours by the pool, or on our patio enjoying the amazing scenery. The hotel is so relaxing and the surroundings so beautiful. It was the perfect setting for a getaway. We were so happy to have discovered this gem, and knew from the second we met Laura that it was going to be an incredible week.

If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, plan on spending time here! And if you are anywhere near Jaco you HAVE to stay at El Paso de las Lapas. We were so sad to leave, not just because of the beautiful surroundings, but because of the wonderful people that run the hotel. It would have been an awesome visit without all the personal touches they added, but all that they did to make sure our honeymoon went beautifully made for an unforgettable stay. Laura, Flora and family we love you guys! Can’t wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
"Amazing place. Incredible people"
These words fill us with a lot of satisfaction, this kind of feedback helps us to improve every day, starting the day our goal is to give all our guests the best customer service they have received. Thank you very much for these words so flattering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great management, beautiful location. It's outside of town, which keeps the noise of the strip away. While only a mile out, you feel like you are in the middle of a jungle paradise. We ate breakfast every morning overlooking the riverbed and garden, and the pool was steps from our door. Juan Carlos was extremely helpful and booked several excursions for us. Awesome hotel, wish Google had the right coordinates on its maps.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms, all overlooking the pool. I don't think that one would be better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WISparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello! We appreciate your comments, your opinion really counts, we love to improve every day on what our guest want and enjoy. What make us different is to bel located just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours.
Hope to have you back soon with your friends and family, please let us know in advanced so we can help since the beginning of your plans. We have our double suites know the second suite has 50% discount. Best regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed there for a couple of nights in February. Nice hotel, clean rooms and good management by Juan Carlos. The pool area was nice and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is a few kilometers outside Jaco, which is no bad thing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your opinion counts, we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. we love the personalized service and enjoy with all our guest. Hope to have you back some day. Best regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
2.7 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Property: Hotel Pumilio
Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Costa Rican Central Pacific, surrounded by an spectacular view between pristine tropical jungle mountains, a wide variety of birds and other local fauna specimens, you will find Hotel Pumilio, a tranquil and peaceful heaven, yet only 3 minutes away from famous Jacó and Herradura beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country. Ideal for family, couples or friends vacation stays, you will enjoy the wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours that the area offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets and stores, the best marina in Central America, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. You will enjoy the 10 comfortably decorated large luxury suites, impeccably cleaned and fully equipped outdoor kitchen for your convenience. We include a complete breakfast without schedule, free Wi-Fi, AC, a balcony or a terrace to admire and enjoy the view with your loved ones. Our palm leave's thatched roof Spa surrounded by exuberant vegetation, will take you to a relaxation state so you will enjoy to the maximum the experience of being in harmony with nature. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. We know how to find the happy in you and every one of our esteemed guests, so everyone can return home with unforgettable memories of the visit to our beloved Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing