We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing small boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing small boutique hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

i stayed with my family for 2 nights in the beginnin of june. We didn-t have reservation butwe did the check in without problem. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoyed to talk during our breakfast with the manager. The room was large enough for 4 people with a small kitchen . The view was amazing from our room , but all the rooms have the same view...incredible...peacefull...
Our kids they really enjoyed the pool.
The hotel is located 5 minutes driving from Jaco...that it-s not a good town for family with young kids. We spent a lot of time visiting around jaco and we founded amazing place . We went to carrara national park and we were a little disappoined since there is only one trail ..we saw a lot of animals and birds inside the park...but..only one trail!!!
At the end...i really reccomend this hotel, it-s not for budget tourist but really comapre others hotels i visited you feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion about our hotel and service we provide. When we read these feedback know that we are on track, we know that our customer service can improve day by day and we can make our clients feel we have exceeded all expectations. Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    77
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
176
239
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The El Paso de Las Lapas hotel exceeded my expectations in several ways. The service was incredible in many aspects:
- The hotel manager was able to work with a delivery service to retrieve a left cell phone in a town 3 hours away and had it delivered in 5 hours for $35. We thought that the cell phone was never to be found again but due to his persistance, he solved that problem. He probably worked for 30 minutes on making that happen.
- The day of our check out, we received a personal wake up knock and breakfast at 4 a.m. in the morning

We were the only people in the hotel on the first night and enjoyed the place all to ourselves - it felt like our own personal mansion complete with a maid, security and manager. The place is very quiet and full of wildlife. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the end have ceiling fans and larger patios. Also, there is a flora/butterfly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloveisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello my friends thank you very much for your comments, how good we could help you recover your mobile phone, at any time we want our guests feel special and at home, it was much easier to pay for a delivery service to our hotel instead mailing it to your home in USA.
We hope some day you get back and visit us one more time.
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I read so many fantastic reviews about El Paso de las Lapas before we made our first visit to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Somehow our experience exceeded all the wonderful things we previously heard about the hotel.

From the moment we arrived Laura and Flora’s hospitality was incredible. They did so many little things throughout our stay to make our time special, not just meeting our needs but ensuring that we had a memorable stay from start to finish. The meals they ordered for us, the homemade breakfasts, and the excursions they arranged were just the start. My birthday happened to be on the week we visited and Laura and Flora made sure it was special. I happened to leave a bag at the hotel, and it was returned without any cost or inconvenience. We had trouble arranging a trip back to the airport, but lets just say they took care of it better than we could have ever imagined. Everything is done with such kindness and ease, it really makes for such an incredible experience. The graciousness and hospitality of the sisters at El Paso de las Lapas can not be overstated. I could go on and on with examples of all the wonderful things they did, and personal touches they added. They really are special women!

Oh yeah, and the hotel? It’s absolutely beautiful. El Paso de las Lapas is tucked away from the bustle of Jaco in its own corner outside of the town. It might as well have been secluded miles away from anyone else. We hardly left, aside from a couple trips and a couple meals. I got a terrific massage, and we loved spending hours by the pool, or on our patio enjoying the amazing scenery. The hotel is so relaxing and the surroundings so beautiful. It was the perfect setting for a getaway. We were so happy to have discovered this gem, and knew from the second we met Laura that it was going to be an incredible week.

If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, plan on spending time here! And if you are anywhere near Jaco you HAVE to stay at El Paso de las Lapas. We were so sad to leave, not just because of the beautiful surroundings, but because of the wonderful people that run the hotel. It would have been an awesome visit without all the personal touches they added, but all that they did to make sure our honeymoon went beautifully made for an unforgettable stay. Laura, Flora and family we love you guys! Can’t wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
"Amazing place. Incredible people"
These words fill us with a lot of satisfaction, this kind of feedback helps us to improve every day, starting the day our goal is to give all our guests the best customer service they have received. Thank you very much for these words so flattering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great management, beautiful location. It's outside of town, which keeps the noise of the strip away. While only a mile out, you feel like you are in the middle of a jungle paradise. We ate breakfast every morning overlooking the riverbed and garden, and the pool was steps from our door. Juan Carlos was extremely helpful and booked several excursions for us. Awesome hotel, wish Google had the right coordinates on its maps.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms, all overlooking the pool. I don't think that one would be better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WISparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello! We appreciate your comments, your opinion really counts, we love to improve every day on what our guest want and enjoy. What make us different is to bel located just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours.
Hope to have you back soon with your friends and family, please let us know in advanced so we can help since the beginning of your plans. We have our double suites know the second suite has 50% discount. Best regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed there for a couple of nights in February. Nice hotel, clean rooms and good management by Juan Carlos. The pool area was nice and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is a few kilometers outside Jaco, which is no bad thing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your opinion counts, we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. we love the personalized service and enjoy with all our guest. Hope to have you back some day. Best regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I love this beautiful hotel. Very personal attention...only 10 rooms! Great to plan a family gathering or small wedding...I didn't want to leave, but HAD to see more of Costa Rica. Could have spent the entire trip on the property. Not too big, very romantice had a massage in the hut with my husband listening to the river and the rain coming down! The staff are fantastic wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: have the hotel arrange transportation from the airport and other excursions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
We miss you too, we hope you can visit as again soon and stay longer, you will always be WELCOME!!!!, you, any member of your family or friends can ask for you VIP discount, because it will be a pleasure to have their visit. Now you know you can have a lot of adventure, jungle, beach and entrainment from the most 1 hour drive or transportation tour and come back home at the end of the day!!!! Take care and thank you for your opinion that is very important for us!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent two nights in this idyllic hotel set on the edge of the forest. Very peaceful with a lovely pool. The room was exceptional with balcony and view of the pool, garden and forest beyond.They serve breakfast but no other meals, although the manager will get a range of meals from a choice of several menus in your room from local restaurants in Jaco. Just make your choice and he brings it to your room or the restarant area, whichever you like. There is also a small kitchen attached to the balcony with fridge, hotplates and microwave so you can cook basic meals if you like.The manager Juan Carlos could not have been more charming and helpful, initially with booking the room from England by e-mail and organising a brilliant forest trip in Carara where we saw Mackaws, Jesus lizard, kingfisher, bird eating snake and Kingfisher . He even managed to keep secret from my partner the fact that we were going on to a cruise from Puerta Caldera the next day, and instructed the taxi driver to keep quiet as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
We hope you enjoyed the rest of you cruise, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we love lo help or guest, so they can enjoy our country the most! We want our guests to be special on the area while visiting, that s why if you want to go out for meals we have the best places in the area to give you a courtesy or discount. We appreciatte your opinion it is very helpsfull for us!! Have a nice week and hope to have you, your family or friends back some day, remember to contact us so we can give your our VIP discount!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Property: Hotel Pumilio
Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing