We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around a great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia
1 review
“All around a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed here for a wedding and really can't say enough about this hotel! The location and grounds are obviously stunning; it's hard not to be swayed by the landscape in Costa Rica. However, I think the service is probably what sets it truly apart. Having traveled internationally fairly regularly for work, I can honestly say that Anna and her staff go well above and beyond the norm. They provide friendly, personal service and a strong knowledge of Jaco and beyond. I strongly recommend this hotel and will absolutely return again - although I'm sort of hesitant to be TOO vocal in my praises, since I don't want to let too many people in on the secret!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Hi Rob,
Thank you so much for the nice review. I can honestly say it was a truly great experience hosting you and your friends here for our first wedding - first of what we hope will be many more. I'm glad you guys had such a good time and I'm looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    70
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
158
222
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

From the first contact via email until we drove away from las lapas it was a great experience. Ana Pana is THE BEST hotel manager and she made us feel like family. There were only a few rooms occupied but it was so peaceful and so relaxing and Ana gave great suggestions and anything we wanted she made happen. I was there to celebrate my 40th birthday with 2 of my girlfriends and we all enjoyed our trip and stay at las lapas, even the rain and exotic bugs lol. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firechica70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Hi,
I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us ... Maybe you should make it a yearly thing, coming here to celebrate birthdays :-) I know we would love to see you again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Anna is GREAT, she made our first visit to Costa Rica wonderful.The view from your room is breathtaking always lots of wildlife to enjoy and the landscaping is beautiful. Breakfast is made in their outdoor kitchen by Anna and is yummy.We would go back and stay there again. THANKS Anna.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brice8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
You're really quite welcome ... I had a great time with you all. Hopefully one day you'll be able to come back and visit - bring the rest of the family next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a great stay. If you are looking to relax in a place out of the way this is the place. Even though it is down a dirt road and seems desolate I think personally it is a better option than staying in Jaco. It is about 5 kms to Jaco so you will need a car or the B&B offers 2 round trips into town per day which worked very well for us. If you are wanting an adventure, that is not a problem. Ana is more than happy to help you out any way that she can. She went above and beyond helping us anyway she could. Relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseP053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
I'm so glad you two had such a nice stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We really look forward to your next visit in what we hope is the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea where to stay other than what we were able to learn on line. Needless to say we were a little apprehensive, When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed. The rooms were excellent, the setting was beautiful, and the staff great. We stayed for 9 days, Ana was great! we feel like we made a dear friend with her. If we ever get back to C.R we would definitely stay here again. Keep up the great job Ana !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Hi Doug,
It was really great meeting you. Thanks to all of you - I had a great time getting to know you all. Thank you for dinner - the ribs were EXCELLENT! I hope you make it down this way again one day. I know I've made some new friends for life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redway, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We loved staying at El Paso De Las Lapas while in Jaco. My husband and I were in town for a concert at a nearby hotel and loved the peaceful setting this hotel had to offer. Ana and all of the staff was great! Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaybrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Hi Lindsay, I'm so glad you guys enjoyed your stay, we definitely enjoyed meeting you both and having you stay here. We look forward to a return visit from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Before we arrived, we knew we were in for a wonderful experience and from the moment we arrived at El Paso de las Lapas we knew we had arrived at a little piece of Heaven on Earth! Ana and her staff truly know the meaning of hospitality and they honestly want your stay to be perfect. The rooms are beautiful with a spa feeling and all of the ammenities are provided to allow for a wonderful relaxing stay.
The grounds are beautiful and the pool was very enjoyable. As there are only 10 rooms the pool was often empty or very quiet with only 1 or 2 people in it.
The daily breakfast was delicious. Ana provided a wonderful assortment of hot and cold items and I am so missing her rice and pintos to start my day.
Although we had a rental car we required a taxi for one evening. Ana arranged for Norman a local cab driver to come and get us. He was absolutley delightful and provided us with some information of the area as he was driving us to our destination.
We absolutely loved everything about this hotel and we can't wait to come back. We arrived strangers and when we left we felt as if we were leaving friends. Thank-you Ana and all of your incredible staff for a truly unforgetable experience!












to a relaxing , comfortable stay have been thought out. The

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calgary08Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us and we're looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.7 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Property: Hotel Pumilio
Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Costa Rican Central Pacific, surrounded by an spectacular view between pristine tropical jungle mountains, a wide variety of birds and other local fauna specimens, you will find Hotel Pumilio, a tranquil and peaceful heaven, yet only 3 minutes away from famous Jacó and Herradura beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country. Ideal for family, couples or friends vacation stays, you will enjoy the wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours that the area offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets and stores, the best marina in Central America, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. You will enjoy the 10 comfortably decorated large luxury suites, impeccably cleaned and fully equipped outdoor kitchen for your convenience. We include a complete breakfast without schedule, free Wi-Fi, AC, a balcony or a terrace to admire and enjoy the view with your loved ones. Our palm leave's thatched roof Spa surrounded by exuberant vegetation, will take you to a relaxation state so you will enjoy to the maximum the experience of being in harmony with nature. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. We know how to find the happy in you and every one of our esteemed guests, so everyone can return home with unforgettable memories of the visit to our beloved Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing