We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Mango Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a small 14 room motel with a great location. If you go out the back gate you are on the beach and the front, you are a block away from the main street of Jaco. You are centrally located, so everything is very walkable. The motel could use some updating but if you are looking for a bargain on the beach and walkable to everything, this is your place. When checking in, they speak only spanish so we got the key but weren't always sure what they were saying about breakfast or the various keys. We did find others staying at the same place that were able to explain what the extra key was (back gate) and when breakfast was and what the code was for the internet. So from there, we were all set and good to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
14
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Mango Mar for the weekend in November 2013, we had an ok time but I have to say the Photo's on the hotels website are extremely flattering.. Our room was large with OK beds, but full of ants.. The front door was badly fitting and gaps all around where insects could crawl through. The locks were also broken, it took me several attempts every time I tried to lock it as the lock was very old and worn.

The bathroom needed a total re-vamp.. the shower had electrical wires hanging out of it (dont see how this can be safe!) and could not be moved to point in any direction other than the wall. The wash basin was right in front of the toilet, so unless you stood on the toilet seat, you could not stand in front of the wash basin making it almost unusable.

The staff were friendly and the location, close to the center of town was great, the hotel just needs some TLC or be honest about the facilities and rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mango Mar was a pleasant surprise on my trip to Costa Rica. It was actually the nicest place that my friend and I stayed at in Costa Rica. Located on the beach with it's own security gate to the beach; nice, clean swimming pool and 24 hour security, made Mango Mar the ideal location for us, within easy walking distance ot shopping and restuarants.
The rooms were very clean and quiet at night. As it was the low season we were able to negotiate the room price down to $55.00/night, a very reasonable price for value received. The continental breakfast was quite meager, consisting of fruit wedges and two slices of toast, with coffee and juice. If I ever return to Jaco, I will certainly stay at the Mango Mar.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice, all have ocean view over looking a stunning court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Mango Mar twice, once in July and again in Sept. It was low season and I was charged $60 U.S.D. Per night. The staff was great. Low season was quiet and serene. Can't wait
to go back. I has an issue with the Air Conditioner in Room 3 but was immediately relocated to room 4. Great Location!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VtownLeeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there end of May beginning of June. Great location. Breakfast, very helpful staff, on the beach. Small but very nice the best places to stay in Jaco. I will stay there again. good security

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine State
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the Mango Mar a couple of times now and will return. It is right on the beach and a block from Jaco Centro with resturants and groceries close by 2 min walk and a casino right next door. The staff is awesome 24hr security

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We has a part of 5 people staying in the 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights at the end of May (2012) and everything was great. The staff was very nice, we had an amazing ocean view from our balcony, and breakfast was simple (fruit, toast, OJ, coffee) but satisfying and fresh. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was just what we needed with a little fridge 4 beds, and a bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#30 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tangeri Hotel
Tangeri Hotel
#21 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#18 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#24 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Property: Hotel Mango Mar
Address: At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar has 12 standard suites, and 2 apartment suites. They are all equipped with air conditioning, TV, safe box, coffee maker, microwave and bar fridge to meet your needs for your stay with us. Each room has a balcony or patio with table and chairs and a great ocean view!. Most of the bedrooms have two double beds but we also offer rooms for 5 and 6 people. Hotel Mango Mar is located at the end of Calle Cocal, in the middle of Jaco Beach and oceanfront for you to enjoy every sunset and relax at the beach. The Hotel has beautiful tropical gardens. The swimming pool is right in front of the beach with plenty of lounge chairs for tanning. Also the front gardens provide outdoor tables with a BBQ for those who wish to BBQ under the palm trees in front of the beach. Hotel Mango Mar is a completely private and secure. We have security guards at night and maintain access to the beach for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing