We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfer's Paradise, Non-Surfer's Nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Olas
Save
You added Hotel Las Olas to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surfer's Paradise, Non-Surfer's Nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I came here in January with 7 friends, about half of us surfers and the other half not surfers. January is right at the beginning of Costa Rica's dry season, and not only is it HOT, but it is HUMID! I stayed in the sky box at the main house and my friends occupied the two rooms below. Only one of the rooms had air conditioning, and the remainder of the house was wide open.

Pro - You are sleeping right in front of an awesome beach! Great surfing, but beware the hot black sand beach. When I say it's hot, I mean it's HOT! / Con - The waves are loud and will keep you up at night.

Pro - The rooms are open. Con- The rooms are open. Mosquitos will bite, and the geckos crawling up your ceiling make loud squeaky sounds that keep you up at night.

Pro - The food is GREAT. Hight quality food, at great prices (especially if you get the package through WaveHunters.) We had fruit smoothies with every meal, and they were delicious! Cons - Once they run out of a dish, they are out for at least the day. So if you like something, get it. I really appreciate how fresh their food was, so I'm not really complaining about this.

Overall, I'm giving this place a 2 out of 5 because it was just so damn dirty. We'd sweep up the termite poop just to see it again the next day. The bathroom smelled like pee and made me gag every morning when I brushed my teeth. Everything smelled of mildew (but I don't blame them, it's humid out there and nothing dries out completely).

The best part of this place is the people. Jason, Raf, and Nelson are awesome, and made Las Olas such a fun place to hang out. Those guys are super!!

Room Tip: There is 1 room at the main house with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
4
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

One of the best trips I have taken! Both Jason and Raffa were very professional and made us feel at home! If you like to surf and enjoy good food, I highly recommend Las Olas Hotel and Restaurant! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I only had breakfast here when I stayed at Surf Inn Hermosa. The place has a very rustic look that fits very well into the kind of beach it is located on. A very different and relaxing location. I am not a surfer but I still enjoy this place as it's so relaxing to just sit back and enjoy watching the Surfers get adventurous. Love the black sand beach but I didn't dare go deep into the water as the waves are tricky and is known for rip-tides.

The breakfast I had here was my favorite meal during my entire Costa Rica trip. The banana pancakes and potatoes were the best I ever had. The pineapple juice was fresh made from pineapple in front of us.

Room Tip: Banana pancakes and potatoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were robbed in this hotel by hotel staff (the bar manager sneaked in our room when we were doing the check in). We reported the robbery to the police and notified hotel management about it ... they did nothing. They have no insurance, no cameras, etc. The police recommended us to stay there until they gathered more info. The rooms were awful. The window screens were broken and the shower/bathroom was dirty. We reported this hotel to the Instituto de Turismo de CR and an investigation is in the way. Definetely this place is a SCAM!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank avidtraveller w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here in March/ April for 5 days and had a blast. The hotel itself is rudimentary, but the staff totally make up for the lack of amenities! Jason and Cameron (the owners/ managers) were super friendly and very accommodating. I broke my surf board the second day down there and they loaned me a board to use for the rest of my trip. The rooms are very basic with ceiling fans but no A/C. Be prepared for that. The weather is constantly around mid to upper 80's during the day so acclimating to the climate didn't take long. The rooms have safes in them and a small fridge and the bathrooms are useable, but not great.
The restaurant is great! Incredible views, especially at sunset, and the food is fresh, very reasonably priced and tastes great! The hotel is located on a great stretch of beach in the middle of all the action at Playa de Hermosa. The surf right behind the hotel is incredible and there is a surf contest every Saturday just 50 yards south of the hotel. The locals are all very helpful will translate (and teach!) Spanish at any time. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location and staff definitely made my vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms above the office. The rooms have a great view with a terrace that overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cltadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came to Las Olas without a booking after a minor stuff up with respect to which Playa Hermosa we were supposed to be going to. Costa Rica is full of Playa Hermosas - Trip Advisor often lumps them together so make sure you know what the Province is!

Had I read the other reviews of this place from non surfers, I would have left it alone as a ‘non-surfing, party late into the evening family’ this really isn't that suitable. The day manager Kenneth (I think his name was) was fantastic - very friendly and helpful (we didn't meet Jason or Cameron). The food in the open restaurant was good but expensive compared to what we have seen of Costa Rica so far - think in the 5-7000+ Colones bracket.

Whilst we (4 of us) did get the Skybox mentioned in the Lonely Planet for $60 a night instead of $100 - it wasn't at all clean (we found shards of broken glass on the floor) and due to the open nature of the place, the pillows and mattresses are somewhat mouldy. I don't know how they can justify $100 a night. It's hot too - the breeze off the beach drops off overnight so make sure you have a working fan - we had to ask.

The shower is very reminiscent of the showers I have seen in Bolivia - the water is heated through electrical wires at the head of the shower. It makes for a prickly experience.

This place (particularly the Skybox) has the potential to be really good with a little TLC - the small pool is a welcome retreat from the heat but it has the feel of something that just isn't cared for at all. I suspect that this is because they want to knock down most of it and put up a multistorey hotel - check out their website.

Would I come back? Probably not, not just to Las Olas but to Playa Hermosa - unless you are a surfer, there isn't much else on. We chose this place over Jaco but in hindsight it may have been the better option for us.

All said and done the surfers love this place - check out their reviews. The beach is beautiful but no good for swimming in due to the dangerous rips and massive breakers.

Tip: If you do get the skybox be careful coming down the stairs from the top – I slipped coming down and landed very awkwardly resulting in a broken toe – no-one’s fault that but mine!

Another tip: If you don't have your own car - get cash before you get here - the nearest ATM is in Jaco 6km away and this place only takes cash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cost is very low, and expect to stay in a more "surf Hostel" environment with open air rooms, basic bath/showeer and overall very utilitatrian. However for the price you should not exepct much more. The location is fantastic, right on the beach at one of the best surf breaks in Costa Rica. Jason, Cameron and the rest of the staff are amazing, really laid back and very conscientious of their guests. If you want one of the best surfing experiences of your life, meet some fantastic people and you are on a budget Las Olas is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#39 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#32 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Green
Hotel Green
#22 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: Playa Hermosa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing