We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there!!!”
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kangaroo
Ranked #20 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This place is horrible!

For $41 per night (double, low season) you get a crappy room and a crappy breakfast!

This is only a place for trashy surfers with no valueables!

One of the staff members stole our cell phone (we left it at the reception for safety reasons and then it was suddenly GONE) and we ended up with a $200 bill!!!

This was the most expensive hostel I ever stayed at!

KEEP OUT, the Lonely Planet should be ashamed to recommend this as the author's choice!!!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank expropriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

At the last minute, we decided to abandon the cold Cloud Forest and head for the beach. Lonely Planet highly rated this hostel and at $25 a night for a double bed, my friend and I were sold (since we still had to pay for the hotel in Monteverde that we'd reserved). We were only staying one night, so I had very minimal expectations (which were met).

The room was sufficiently clean. We didn't need air conditioning (fan is sufficient). The bathroom was clean enough, there was free internet, and a pool in the back. Free internet, common TV room...Definitely worth the $25/night. If you are sensitive to noise, bring earplugs. While there is an 11pm quiet time, there are live chickens and a restaurant across the street.

The hostel is a bit of a walk from town but it is right on the beach and has its own pool. The food places within walking distance are pretty good...have the empanadas at the pizza place and go a few houses down for a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

When my friend and I arrived at the Kangaroo Hotel we got a room that had two bunk beds. The rooms were ok...a little dirty but no bugs that we could. The beds weren´t comfortable. The good thing was that it did have air conditioning. Also, there´s one computer available for using the internet. The Kangaroo Hotel had 3 dogs. The lobby which wasn´t air conditioned smelled like dirty humid dogs. There was a pool in the back and it was clean. Staff weren´t very knowlegable. They told us that there would be a BBQ at night for 6$ at the Hotel. All the guests were sitting at the table for hours for our dinner. Finally after a few hours someone asked about the BBQ and the staff had said that it had been cancelled. They hadn´t even come to tell us themselves while they could see all of us sitting around waiting. They also gave us the wrong information about the bus schedule which we then missed our bus even after waking up at 6:30am. There was also dog poop outside on the floor around the pool. My friend stepped in it. The place cost 12$ a person. If you just want to crash one night then it´s fine. Don´t rely on the staff for any information.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sailor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traguelaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones privadas,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mauricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.1 mi away
Croc's Resort & Casino
0.7 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaco Lodge
Jaco Lodge
#6 of 64 in Jaco
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#33 of 40 in Jaco
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Address: Calle Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: $12 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing