We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect place to stay for your time in jaco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kangaroo
Ranked #13 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for your time in jaco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had so much fun at this hostel. Originally we were only due to stay in jaco for one night, but ended up having so much fun at the hostel we stayed for 5 nights. And even then it was hard to leave. The staff is incredible and Francessca will go out of her way for you. There is a real family vibe, everyone hanging out in the brilliant communal area, playing cards, talking, drinking etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnashleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    24
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
42
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the rooms are in need of a real makeover, but the communal areas are lovely with a quirky but very tasteful feel. The pool is great, location perfect - a short taxi ride from the town centre and the best thing about this place is the lovely owner, Francesca. She bent over backwards to help us while we were there and we really enjoyed our two communal dining evenings with her, her staff and some other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was the first hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica. It was so cool because it has a pool and there were some other friendly people staying there as well! We got in a cab soon after our arrival and went partying in Jaco. I recommend staying here for sure! The rooms fit two people comfortably with nice little bathrooms. Have Fun!! It is hard not to enjoy yourself here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say? A diamond in the rough! I was planning on staying 2 nights and moving on, but stayed 5. there aren't enough stars on this page to properly rate "The Roo".Most of the staff there made it a great stay. For starters, we were greeted at the gate, without a reservation, by Evan, who promptly gave us a room with a/c. The hot shower was the deal closer. Great guy, professional demeanor and an awesome host. Brian, the activity director, gave us the grand tour of the hotel, as well as Jaco Beach and all its attractions and restaurants. I think we wore him out. Maria, what can I say, my mother never made my old clothes look new again like she did. Gracias, Maria! And Walter...what can I say? Walter, Walter, Walter. The surf/dance instructor. Ladies beware! Travel in pairs. Last but not least, CHARLIE!!!!! Coolest dog on the planet! I would have taken him home I could have. What a great place to relax and meet new friends. The laid back, communal lifestyle at the kangaroo what not what I expected, but has now set the bar for all my future excursions. Thank you Hotel Kangaroo staff for an unforgettably fun trip!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 4 days in Jaco last July. Hotel Kangaroo is THE place to stay: all the staff is so nice and helpful, the place is quite and clean, the position is good, we had a car but you can take the free bikes if needed.
At first we had a room with NO a/c, we complained about this and immediately we were moved to a A/C room as it was available.
The only "bad point" is the price; 40 USD without breakfast is quite high in comparison to other places in costa Rica, where you can get the same for 30 USD.
But Jaco is all a little bit overprice, so it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balzarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I read all the reviews before booking and renting a private room at Hotel Kangaroo. Via the images and some travelers opinions - I wasn't that hopeful, but much to my surprise the artsy little hostel was perfect for us! Clean room with character. Clean private bathroom - with REAL HOT WATER! Huge PLUS. Clean - and inviting kitchen. Friendly little dog, Charlie, was a pure delight and made us feel right at home. Evan is a down-to-earth host - friendly and he made us feel extremely welcome. The place is quiet...(low season). Most reviewers complained about the roosters across the street. I couldn't hear them with the door closed - and they certainly didn't wake me up. Would I stay here again? Hell, YES!

THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back on the top level - perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sistersherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely loved Hotel Kangaroo! The place was very clean and well facilitated. We stayed in the dorm which was fine. However, it's sort of split into two rooms and the one with the two beds in gets the A/C and the other the room doesn't unfortunately. We were lucky enough to get the room with the A/C and therefore had no worries! They offer free bike hire which was really useful for riding into town or to the beach. However it's only a $2 taxi ride into the centre. Dispite it being situated a little out of the centre we found it to be perfect as you don't get the loud noise that usually comes with staying in a centre.

Although, the best thing about Hotel Kangaroo is the staff: friendly, welcoming, accommodating and just generally very lovely people. They'll help you with anything and even reccommend things to do outside of Jaco. We actually extended our stay mainly because of them :) and they're adorable, recently rescued dog Charlie!

Much love
Rosie and Rose

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#12 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.3 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#23 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Property: Hotel Kangaroo
Address: Calle Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing