We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kangaroo
Ranked #19 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable bathrooms and rooms. Safe. Great pool. Excellent communal kitchen. This place just off the beach and about a 15min walk from downtown, Jaco... perfect for those that don't want to be right downtown. The Kangroo has bikes for guests to use at their leisure (about a 5min ride to downtown Jaco) and even offers a laundry service ($8US) to it's guests. With 2 great balconies and an up and coming yoga loft, this place offers exceptional value!

Room Tip: Rooms available with or without A/C. My room did not have A/C, however did have an excellent ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    24
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
42
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bienfait, Saskatchewan
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hotel Kangroo made my trip! I booked 2 nights and ended up staying the remaining 4 days there to finish off the trip of a lifetime. The staff is well versed in spanish, as well as english. Cheap, hands on surf lessons, very familiar with the area and can reccomend eateries, hiking trails, taxis, everything you want to know. Wildlife around every corner! It is a 15 minute walk from downtown, which was perfect to walk twice a day, half hour walk to a beautiful lookout overlooking the south pacific ocean. The coolest staff in the world that really make u just open up and enjoy life minute by minute. Several rooms to have options from, whether single bed, to double, to dorm like. Best part of it, besides the people i met, was the community kitchen. It brought everybody together and i will never forget my Hotel Kangaroo family! I reccomend this place to anyone that wants to chill, be out of the hustle from town, loves animals and life. Best experience of my life and didnt cost me really anything. After leaving the Kangaroo, you will look at life in a different manner. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: cheap rooms, but lots to choose from for what you want. You will be in the community area most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolanLeptich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Its cheap,clean and super friendly. The staff and owners are wonderfull and helpfull.
The rooms and dorms are very basic but thats what you get for such a good price, the swiming pool is very clean(a rarety in CR), there is free wifi,comunal kitfchen,and free bike usage.
Its quiet there since its far enough from town that you can get sleep but close enough that you can walk and go partying...
Highly recamented if you are looking for a cheap friendly place with a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for one with aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindri Hlíðar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

the location is short bike ride outside of the maintown of jaco. the rooms are OK but poorly sound-proofed.. there is a community kitchen free to use, a nice and clean swimming pool surrounded by trees, palms.. it isn't a very quite place, but it's not that bad.. there are free bikes to use at the hotel.. very nice service! thanks clair.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel kangaroo for about two weeks and couldn't have be happier! From the time I got to the hotel the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I felt very comfortable asking the bilingual staff questions about jaco, costa rica, the bus system, tourist activities, or anything I was unsure of. My room and bathroom, the tv room, outdoor patio, kitchen, and pool were always adequately cleaned. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to town however this makes for a very peaceful environment at the hotel. The hotel also provides bikes to guest so I trip into town can be as easy a little stroll on the a bike. It's also just a 2 minute walk to beach, a 5 minute walk to a local grocery store, and a very good pizza place just next door. The hotel is also surrounded by 12 ft. walls providing a very safe haven. The hotel is locked at all times with each guest provided a key. The AC window unit was go enough to keep my room cool during the night and day. The pool in back is clean and a nice place to waste away an afternoon or go for a quiet night swim. Next to the pool is a back patio where it is nice hang out with friends or meet other guests in the hotel. While the hotel owners/staff encourage a good time it's not a place to have a party or invite guests back too. The price is definitely a bargin compared to other places in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Kangaroo for a couple of nights during February. The new owners were very personable and helpful. They were ready to assist us with whatever we needed whether it was getting us a cup of tea from their personal cupboard or advice on catching the out of town bus.
We were all ready to take a cab into town to catch the bus when they told us that as long as we had the tickets in hand we could wave it down 100 feet from their hotel. We really appreciated that.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone!
Tom Moran
Fenton, MI
USA

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa tn 38451
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

On the plus side
#1While not beach front it is Close within a block and a half
#2 Clair was nice and check in was simple after i paid i never saw her until 4 days later at check out and i had to go to the house next door to find her.
#3 The room was clean at check in I had to pay for 2 beds for a privet room there were 2 single beds with sheets two towels

On the bad side
#1 my room was on the second floor facing the street and accross the street is a chicken farm the roosters crow all night long!!!
#2 4 panes of glass were missing from the window that allowed hot air and noise to come in the room and as a balcony with table and chairs where smoking and card playing gave me no privacy at all
#3 the curtian was nothing but a sheet that let the light shine in all night long as the sheets blew as the windows were missing it also allowed anyone at the table to see in the room
#4 The air conditioner was small and could not compete with the air coming in the missing windows
#5 it is no where near where shown on the map in hostelbookers one mile to Jaco maybe one kilometro to the edge of town but to the mas Xmenos the local supermarket its a mile or a 2 dollar taxi ride.
# 6 Coffee is avalible but not always hot in the morning it may be hard to find a cup or you can walk a mile for a cup in town
#7 After check it is almost impossible to find the staff
#8 While clean I found it very run down missing windows broken lamps clogged sinks broken chairs and open drains with no covers.
#9 the mattress was no thicker than 4" and i could feel the solid bars from bed
All in all not the worst place but there are places in Jaco much better and well kept for the same price I found one for 40 a night closer to the beach real bed privet balcony with view of the ocean right in the center of town it was near the gym and river,

Room Tip: if you stay at hotel Kangaroo get a room away from the street the further you can get from the chick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beestinger777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clara11111, Owner at Hotel Kangaroo, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Firstly, we would like to say that we take all negative reviews very seriously and take on board any complaints as motivation to continue improving the hotel. We do however have a strict "no unregistered guest" policy in order to maintain the family friendly and relaxed atmosphere that we are proud of and to ensure the safety and comfort of all of our guests and our staff. If this policy has caused problems for any of our guests we can only apolgise but as business owners in the area we are unwilling to promote any type of "sex tourism" that is damaging to Jaco's and Hotel Kangaroo's image.
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 41 in Jaco
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
2.0 mi away
Croc's Resort & Casino
6.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Property: Hotel Kangaroo
Address: Calle Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing