We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Nights in Paradise”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My 10 year old daughter and 13 year old son and I (mother) stayed 4 nights there. The scenery, hospitality, and food were divine. We were serenaded by howler monkeys, catered to by loving staff, and had every need taken care of. The food and drinks were often created with ingredients grown there. The tour of the mangroves and kayaking the gulf are highly recommended. This is one of those places that didn't require a vacation after the vacation; it was relaxing in pure beauty and full of activities such as hiking the primary rainforest. The outdoor shower was a treat. I would love to return!

Room Tip: My children loved the fishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322Melanie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 259 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Highly Recommended. We spent 6 nights at Saladero. Susan, Harvey and the staff are helpful and friendly, the food is excellent, and the grounds and surrounding rainforest are beautiful. It’s a great place to either relax or have fun. The kayaking and fishing was good (so was the snorkeling) and the mangrove tour is a must. Our only complaint was that we showed up in the middle of a heat wave, so on a few nights, the “tree house” was pretty hot. All in all, the vacation was exactly what I wanted and I hated to leave. If I come back to Costa Rica, I will definitely spend a few more days at Saladero.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Fantastic place with lovable hosts. The lodge is enbeded in a beautiful landscape at the Golfo Dulce. The free use of kayaks and snorkeling gear is a big plus. Also the well maintained jungle trails on the grounds of the lodge. There are several tours available, the tours we joined are highly recommended. The delicious food consists of many own grown fruits and vegetables as well of meat of own chicken and freshly caught fish. There is a choice of delicious fruit drinks from own production served. We spent 5 days at Saladero Lodge as a family and felt quite sad to leave this really recommendable place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Saladero, in the wonderful Tree House. We were so impressed with the beauty of this resort, the attentiveness and friendliness of Susan and Harvey, our hosts. Every morning we had fresh pineapple and bananas from Susan's gardens included in our wonderful breakfasts. Lunch and dinner were also delicious. The grounds are beautiful and include lovely trails into the rainforest. The location is so quiet and peaceful. The sunsets at night were awesome. One of the highlights was the kayak trip down the river and through the mangrove channels where we saw flocks of parrots, egrets and herons. Saladero is truly is a magical place and we hope to return some day!

Room Tip: The tree house was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellystpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I (seniors) had a perfect 4 days with Harvey and Susan at Saladero. We felt like house guests enjoying their wonderful paradise with them. The beauty, remoteness and tranquility of Saladero, combined with the warmth and interest in the environment of our hosts, made it a relaxing and fun visit. The only downside was that it was too short. We are already planning another longer visit next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstephens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is a present and it was definitly my highlight on my 7 week-trip through Costa Rica, when I got to Saladero Lodge. Enjoying an nature reserve and being introduced to plants by wonderful people who took care of me in a very special way is something I didn´t experience so far. Susan and Harvey shared not only their home but also their knowledge with me. Also I got very tasty freshly made food every day and had some wonderful little adventures by paddeling along the golfo dulce in their kajacs together with seaturtles and dolphins.
If you want to experience the nature of Costa Rica in a silent, magic way, Saladero Eco Lodge is you place to go and stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uschi_serafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a wonderful camping experience at Saladero last week! We live in very southern Costa Rica, so we boated (with a motor on our ocean kayak) up Golfo Dulce four hours to Saladero Eco Lodge. We didn't stay in the cabinas but I have heard they're very nice, including the tree house. We didn't bring a tent as we knew that Saladero had one available. The campsites are right by the shore, though there is a beach wall protecting the camping area. Also provided is a picnic table and a covered food preparation area which includes a sink/running water. There is also a (cold water, but it's the tropics, so it's not really cold) shower nearby, discreetly shielded by some bushes and rocks. There is also a toilet and showers on the other side of the lodge/restaurant building, just a minute or two from the campsite. Those showers are so great (even hot water!), set in stones, quite unique. The restaurant/bar is open-air, and the food is great. We prepared most of our own meals, but did have a delicious dinner our last night there. There was plenty of food and home-made bread. And try the desserts! The coconut cookies are heavenly! Harv and Susan are perfect hosts, and their cook, Paulina, obviously is a good cook...she and Susan actually work together preparing the meals. But apparently Paulina is the master dessert maker there. Oh...we had engine problems with the boat's motor, so Harv towed us to Golfito, about an hour or 90 minutes away, and then would not accept payment for his trouble. So, would we recommend Saladero? Of course. Just keep in mind that it's rustic...it's not a five star luxury hotel...it's for those who want to be out of the way, and not see a lot of people. There's plenty of wildlife around the area, and the water is perfect for a swim (and perhaps plan a kayak trip with Harv up the mangroves nearby), and often you'll see pods of dolphin swimming offshore. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
22.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
13.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
355 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Golfito
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
9.1 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
19.3 mi away
LagunaVista Villas
LagunaVista Villas
#4 of 6 in Carate
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Golfito
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Four tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. Our 6 new "glamping cabins" sleep two persons each, have a view of the Golfo Dulce and are in the gardens. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown organically at Saladero ), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and you can fish from the beach of the property or by kayak. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing