We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop reading and go!”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The best advice I can offer regarding Saladero Lodge is to stop reading this review and book a stay there as soon as possible. Honestly, as the many other reviews here attest, it’s a wonderful property and Harvey and Susan are the perfect hosts. Their dedication to their environment and their joy in sharing their knowledge about the local area are always evident. With no road access and surrounded by primary rain forest, Saladero Lodge is particularly well suited to those looking to get away from everything and completely relax while enjoying the amazing wildlife found in this part of Costa Rica. Meals are delicious and prepared from very local ingredients (including many ingredients from right on the property). Our three-day stay in the Beach House last week was wonderful – it is very comfortable and has amazing views of the stunning sunsets over the Gulfo Dulce. Harvey’s kayak tour of the mangroves in the nearby Rio Esquinas was a highlight – don’t miss it! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Beach House very much, but the Tree House is also a good option if you don't mind...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Saladero Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Paradise on earth. Harvey, Susan, Paulina and Palto made our vacation to Costa Rica the best we ever had. They treated us like family, they made sure that everything was beyond what we expected. We shared amazing stories and jokes. Great great time. Saladero lodge gave us one of the most relaxing times of our life. We had excellent food, fresh fruit, amazing juices and most of this right from the property. We kayaked, fished and snorkeled right in front. We saw Whiteface and Howler monkeys, Scarlet macaws, parrots, lot of birds, sting rays, dolphins, sea turtles and a lot of fish. I'm pretty sure I'm forgetting something else :-)
The sunsets are breathtaking.
We are definitely going back.
Ali & Crystal

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hosts, Harvey and Susan arranged for our rental car to be left parked in Rincon, where Harvey picked us up on a boat. We spent the next 3 days at their Saladero Lodge, and left regretting we did not plan for a longer stay. The lodge is not a single building, but a number of cabins and facilities scattered along a well-landscaped territory. It is located on the beach right next to primary rainforest, where the howling monkeys wake you up with their morning calls just like roosters do in the countryside. Which is good because we spent most of the time snorkeling and kayaking, and mornings were the best time for that. It rained couple of times at night, but the mornings were perfect, with low tide, calm sea and transparent water. Harvey showed us the best spots for snorkeling, and we took 3 or 4 of 2+ hr swims, either directly from the lodge, or leaving the kayak on the beach just S of the mangrove bay. The sea life near the shore is quite rich, with good coral growth at some spots. We saw a sea turtle, an eagle ray, numerous stingrays and Cortez angelfish, puffers (both porcupine-fish and burrfish), occasional parrotfish, and schools of jacks and small coral fish like Sargent-majors and chromis atrilobata. Almost every hole at the bottom had someone hiding, either a moray eel or lobsters, so we saw at least 4-5 of each during every swim. Lycra tank and shorts would be beneficial though, due to the strong sun and occasional stinging creatures in the water. But no jellyfish, nothing serious there, just a minor nuisance. By noon the sea became somewhat choppy, and after lunch and some rest we switched to hiking local trails, watching macaws, photographing flowers and, by day's end, watching the sunsets. The hosts are fun to talk to, and they make everything very educational. You have fish soup with yucca and takiska (if I remember the names correctly), and then Harvey will show you these plants growing. Enough was said here about the excellent food in the lodge, but local-grown white pineapples in particular deserve special mentioning. Overall, a highly recommended trip!

Room Tip: Walk around and choose!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

- Ideal hosts, Harvey and Susan, and their staff, made us feel like old friends - sharing their time, stories, and local knowledge with us. They worked hard to make sure every detail was right for us.
- Dining was a treat! The food was delicious - the freshest, tastiest food we found in Costa Rica and the dining area was welcoming. Nice to eat and visit with the hosts and staff as well.
- Scarlet macaws, monkeys, and more were right outside the door.
- Things to do, and also time to not do anything - very peaceful - a great spot!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marj t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent my Christmas vacation at the Saladero Lodge and loved every minute of it. The trip itself was very affordable. The secluded area makes the trip very relaxing and you can customize your vacation upon arrival. The food was delicious with most of the ingredients being taken right from the property. Wildlife is easy to find and you will see Scarlet Macaws, Whiteface Monkeys and Howler Monkeys daily.

You can kayak, snorkel, fish and relax on the beach under palm trees. For the more adventurous, you can zip line and check out the nearby town of Puerto Jimenez, learn how chocolate is made at the Finca Kobo, explore mangroves on the river tour, or hike the primary rainforest (right on the property!).

This was a very unique experience. Not only are the facilities and food amazing, but the company was very special as well. It was a pleasure to get to know Harvey and Susan. They were fun to be around and very accommodating during our stay. While trying to book our vacation Harvey was always quick to respond with suggestions.


At the Saladero Lodge you can enjoy good company, beautiful scenery and really explore the rainforest. I definitely recommend a trip here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a great escape!
Sublime spot to enjoy being looked after by such wonderful hosts. Harvey and Susan take care of your every need. Great food, funny stories, cool kayaking, and plenty of wildlife on the doorstep. A fantastic place to unwind and explore the rainforest, spot flying fish and dolphins, crack open coconuts, taste fresh roasted cacao beans and feel the natural world all around.
You really will love this place...

Room Tip: The tree house is great for spotting monkeys from your balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

There isn't much more to say other than to echo the superlatives previously written. Excellent hospitality and facilities. Make this your choice and you will not regret it.

Harvey and Susan are the perfect hosts and the food and facilities were superb.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
21.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Golfito
Price Range: $212 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing