We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golfito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sierra Resort & Casino
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Nice room nice bar nice casino
the roooms have AC and are very good and clean
The staff is helpful and will go out of there way to help you!
Loved the restaurant and the cold beer and wonderful food
The Price is right!

Room Tip: The rooms near the swimming pool can get loud durring the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
9
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A bit dark and creepy and I think this hotel is passed it prime. The pool area looked nice, but not sure how clean it was. This place may have been something at one time and you can see it had some real potential, but staff and restaurant employees know nothing about service. Probably best for the young spring break kind of crowd.

Room Tip: My bed was hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golfito hotels

Guerneville, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stay at Hotel Sierra on the way in or out of Golfito. When it was first built, it was advertised more as a luxury hotel next to the Free Port. People visiting the Free Port were required to stay at least overnight, and the hotel was convenient, as it is also very close to the Sansa airport. Over the years, the hotel was taken over by a bank, and the rooms became more ordinary. It is clean, comfortable and convenient, and less expensive than in the past. If you take the Tracopa bus from San Jose in the afternoon, the last stop is the Hotel Sierra, because the bus and driver stay there. It isn't a touristy location, but more a stopover spot. The pool is large and clean, and the restaurant has decent food. We have stayed there off and on for about 20 years, and it is just fine for our needs. There are rooms close to the pool and others near the main desk, which we prefer.

Room Tip: Rooms close to main desk have easier access and the rooms facing the parking lot are also in full vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel Sierra was a pleasant surprise for me and very affordable. At first glance the hotel raised my suspicions, but when I saw the room my comfort level was immediately elevated. The air conditioned room was large, clean, light and airy. It appears to have been recently renovated. The hotel is a very short walk from the Golfito Airport. I am somewhat spoiled when it comes to hotels, but for the price it represents good value.

Room Tip: The view of the mountainous rain forest is best from the rooms numbered 300 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel Sierra Resort and Casino is a bit dated (1970s-80s), but clean and quiet. Unlike the rest of Golfito, which is pretty run down and showing the impact of hard economic times of recent years, Hotel Sierra is a quiet, restful oasis. Prices here were reasonable and the complimentary tico breakfast a pleasant start to the day. I found the staff to be courteous, diligent, and thorough in maintaining the rooms, pool, and grounds.

Hotel Sierra has 70s resort features such as a swim-up bar that doesn't look like it has served a drink in years, but the pool was sparkling clean and right outside my door. The garden courtyard has many hummingbirds and tanagers visiting throughout the day. The casino has been closed for a while. The hotel is a short walk from the airport (it backs on to the runway which receives perhaps half a dozen Sansa and Nature Air flights a day) and close to the Deposito duty free shopping area.

There aren't many reasons to stay in Golfito more than a day or two. Other than buying duty free liquor and appliances at the Deposito (where you place your order the first day, then pay and pick it up or have it shipped to San Jose the following day) Golfito is mostly a place to stay on the way to other destinations such as Zancudo for sport fishing, surfing in Pavones, or eco tours on the Osa Penninsula.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Taking into account that Golfito is far removed from the touristic epicenters of Costa Rica, the Sierra is a good alternative if you don't want to overspend (if you want that check the Casa Roland) adn yet want to have some comfort.
The rooms are spacious and grouped around the pool area - a second row of rooms faces the single landing strip of Golfito, but no worries there with just 3 flights a day. Amenities are very basic - a shower, sink, toilet. Most rooms do have AC and sometimes the Wi-fi in the lobby really works. The staff however is friendly (brush up your Spanish though).
If you plan a vacation down there - please be aware that this is Game fishing country. The next good beach is 45 minutes away (10 by taxi boat) and the nightlife is reduced to one good bar (3 Sharks). There are plenty of restaurants around, but again - most of them are basic. If you however rather enjoy sitting with the locals then Golfito might just be worth a stay-over. The Refugio nearby is worth a visit any day.
Oh, and by the way - there is no casino anymore...

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool keep the noise from the landing strip down, but early swimmers might wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indichur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2008

I visited Golfito with a colleague of mine in November to go to the Deposito, a large duty free area open to tourists and locals to do some shopping for work. Sierra would be wonderful if it were better kept.

The pool is huge and there is a nice deck around it for sunning yourself as well as a refreshments area that was out of commission when we visited. The lobby area is beautiful as well as the restaurant, though we didn’t get the opportunity to check out the casino during our stay. Breakfast in the morning was made to order and we had pinto with eggs... not that great, I would recommend going somewhere else for breakfast. Rooms were large and reasonably clean though bathrooms were old and poorly maintained. I found the Sierra to be overpriced for what you got.

I also have to say you should avoid Golfito unless you have to go there. It is a dirty, ugly little town with not much to see or do and if possible should be skipped over. A personal favorite of mine is just across the gulf a short boat ride away in Puerto Jimenez.

  • Liked — Was clean
  • Disliked — Run down
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianacarmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
11.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
11.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
12.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Resort & Casino

Property: Hotel Sierra Resort & Casino
Address: Golfito, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Resort And Casino
Hotel Sierra Golfito
Hotel Sierra Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing