We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a WONDERFUL vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Gorgeous rooms- open air baths- holler monkeys in lieu of alarm closks, food great, worth the trip (and it was a trip) to get there! The owners and staff were fabulous- We kayaked, went deep sea fishing, ate breakfast with thd spider monkeys, watched wild boar run through the rainforest, saw Caiman (croc family) and rainbow Boas, and the beautiful birds....

The staff an denvironmentalists answered every questions and led us through hikes - what to wathc for, what to avaoid- and what to do if you cannot avoid. Like wanderer spiders, certain snakes, certain frogs... but what you can see- like the friend I made in a magnificent Amazon (parrot), was so worth the trip!

You are remote- you get tehre by boat only. No phones. The place backs up agains teh rainforest. the kids taht were there absolutely loved teh place- There is so much to do - if your children are afraid of bugs and adventure, this is not for you- if they relish life- nothing can beat this. Bring bug spray.

We ate what we caught- and it was Red Snapper and Mahi Mahi- Really a beautiful, beautiful trip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link
Thank njsadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to Costa Rica and we are sorry that we waited until now to stay at Playa Nicuesa. Difficult to know where to begin - the people, the place and the atmosphere are hard to beat. We were there from January 3rd through the 6th with friends who were on their first trip to CR. We were anxious, having never stayed here, that all of our rants and raves about this beautiful country, friendly people and outrageous wildlife might be a disappointment. Far from it! The cabins are beautiful and wonderfully tucked up in the forest. The Butler's have taken extreme measures to assure that you experience the rainforest at its purest and its best. Unspoiled, unharmed and natural - low level lights (think dark), beautiful furnishings from local wood, staff from the area and local food that is fresh, plentiful and very delicious (eggs and beef are the best we have ever had)!

We have stayed at numerous ecolodges and have had our share of great experiences, however, this was without a doubt one of the best. I don't want to name names for fear of leaving someone out, but a speical thanks to Jonathan for making our evenings special and for showing us the "dark" side of the jungle. We will certainly return on our next visit to CR. Many thanks for making this such a wonderful and memorable trip!

Mike and Candace Gillespie

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillescf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Pickup was excellent, very nice, very accomodating. The staff is extremely professional and friendly. Very accomodating. The place seemed to have several goals and they achieved them. It was nice to have access to gear without all the extra costs and the need for a guide. We could kayak and hike and kind of live there for a few days. We would have traded our stay at Cristal ballena to spend more time here. The boat transport was way overpriced to get to an activity was our only complaint. (transport to anywhere in the gulf was $200). Otherwise the food wasn't bad, the staff was great, we made a lot of friends and it was absolutely beautiful. We loved seeing all the wildlife and diversity in a sustainble eco lodge. I was even attacked by leaf cutter ants :) It was a lot of fun. Not a place for those on a budget, but it was our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripadvise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We were searching for the perfect vacation at the time, something more remote and not so touristy. We were not at all familiar with eco tourism at the time and finally came across Playa Nicuesa Lodge after searching Google for quite some time. We decided to go instantly.

Playa Nicuesa is undrescribable from the surreal boat ride in from Puerto Jiminez to the amazing food.

The staff was great, the food was excellent! It was so remote, so hidden in the rain forest it was like being in a different time period. We learned so many great things about the rainforest, about costa rica and about it's people. We loved being "in touch" with the rainforest as we fell asleep to the different sounds it provided nightly. Of course it took some getting used to but when you go home you tend to miss it.

Overall it was amazing. Simply stunning in all aspects. They took a twist of luxury with nature and combined it all making you feel like you were on a peice of land that no one knew about.

Thanks for the great memories, hope to go back eventually.

I recomend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millward137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I made a reservation with Playa Nicuesa through the eco hotels and lodge collection website. After receiving a confirmation email from them, I bought 2 expensive plane tickets. After a week of not having any charges made to my card, I emailed them on 2 separate occasions asking them to charge my credit card. The poor customer service and no response forced me to begin emailing the reservationist. Soon after, I discovered that they had over-booked their establishment, and I had plane tickets to a place where I had no lodging. My fiancé tried to rectify the situation by phone. No one helped us. A manager never returned any of his calls. No one from their establishment took responsibility for the huge mistake that they made.

We are disgusted by how Playa Nicuesa has treated us. We will never attempt to book with them again. Be careful about booking with them!

They caused us to have a very stressful honeymoon planning experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank skphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Where to begin? The cabins are gorgeous, as is the main building. The bar is so cool the cocktail hour is a great way to get acquainted with th other guests. The staff are universally polite, efficient, well-trained, and gregarious. Wildlife abounds. Kayaking, snorkeling & fishing were all great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

My husband and I visited the lodge in June for 4 nights. We arrived by car in Golfito, and were promptly picked up at the pre arranged point. The cabins were very comfortable, although a little nerve racking the first night due to all the sounds from outside. The staff were very hospitable, and friendly. We spent each evening trying one of Jonathan`s cocktail creations. The food was excellant , we didn`t have a bad meal while we were there. As for the wild life, it`s everywhere. Expect to be woken at dawn [4.30am in June] by over head howler monkeys. The best excursions we did while we were there, were the water fall hike and the river kayak trip. Definately a place worth visiting.Make sure you take a good flash light for the evenings, the paths can be quite dark and you never know what you will see!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkley63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
18.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
8.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
6.1 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
18.9 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Address: Parque Nacional Piedras Blancas, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Golfito
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range: $326 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Nicuesa is an environmentally-friendly eco-lodge set on a 165-acre private rainforest preserve on the undeveloped Pacific Coast of Golfo Dulce in southern Costa Rica. Our jungle & sea location provides a unique adventure and nature vacation: the front yard is a gulf right off the Pacific Ocean, and the backyard consists of thousands of acres of pristine tropical rainforest. Overall, the experience embraces conservation and harmony with the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing