We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of spending an entire week at this magical place.
Words cannot capture our amazing experience.
The setting is pristine, jungle on one side, beach and ocean on the other. The best of both worlds.
The lodge is beautifully designed with great attention to comfort and aesthetics, yet it somehow maintains a seemless connection to the wildness surrounding it. We loved being in our cabin, as it felt open and within the forest.
The main lodge is large yet inviting. We met interesting people there, and having our meals together was both a a culinary and social experience. We met one particular couple who were so wonderful that we have no doubt that we will remain lifelong friends, despite living on two continents.
Oh yes, the food- fantastic! Every single meal was different, healthy, creative and delicious.
Finally- the extraordinary staff! The resident yogi at the time, Thais, is gentle and soulful. She conducted classes in Spanish or English and was superb. The yoga platform is on the beach, beautifully situated, and the classes I had wth her there touched me deeply.
In fact, the entire staff, without exception, were a group of knowledgeable, eager young men and women who wanted to make sure we had an optimal experience at all times. Each person seemed to have their own niche, and a set of talents generously offered.
Both of us, very experienced travelers, cried when we left.
When we die, we hope heaven is a little like Playa Nicuesa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    31
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
60
103
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zuerich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hey you guys. First thank you all for helping me after my little accident in the bar. The walking stick saved my life for the following 5 days, glad to say I got home ok, but without the help of any wheelchairs . The message did not get through to the airlines. Anyway I have a great piece of art which will remind me of you all and in particular the great guide that made it for me.Thank You. We had a great time with you, we love your country and even more, we love the people. Maybe we will return sometime, we will defenitely reccommend your lodge. Thank you for the offers. Our best wishes to you all. Jim and Anna Sullivan
Greetings on the 50 Delphin

Room Tip: Talk to the manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsullivanZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can we say, this place is fabulous! No internet, TVs, mobiles, makeup or having to dressing up. You don't get a swimming pool either just the lovely warm natural sea to swim in and the rainforest to watch.
You can do as much or as little as you want, 5 days was just not enough.
Great Food
Great Staff
Great Place
If you have never been to Costa Rica this place is somewhere you will alway remember.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you want to visit Fantasy Island, this is your spot. Location is remote, lush with rain forest vegetation, birds, mammals, tropical flowers and a pristine coastline. When you arrive by boat you are greeted by Joe, the manager, who proceeds to orient you to your vacation stay. You walk up the long boardwalk, through the gardens and up to the main reception/dining area where you are given a refreshing fruit drink. You then get lunch and a review of the activities and options for your stay. We got an upgrade to a private open-to-the-outside hut. It was very private and offered great views of the monkeys and birds. You have to be comfortable with being disconnected from email and the world and sleeping with the sounds of nature with no doors that close you from the outside to enjoy this lodge. We loved it! So relaxing! Staff was great. Took in the kayak trip through the mangrove forests and an eight hour hike to the waterfalls along a rustic trail through the rain forest. The food is very good and the dining with a long communal table with other guests a nice way to visit with everyone at the lodge. This is a special place in the world and one we would enthusiastically recommend to adventure travelers. Also enjoyed the yoga classes under a very private hut facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a private hut/lodge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Activetravelerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A fabulous place to be in the Osa! Playa Nicuesa has it all, from lovely accomodations,gorgeous location, great food, great staff and so much to do in one of the most pristine places left on this planet! A real life changing experience. I am a yoga instructor and will be leading my 3rd yoga retreat at Nicuesa in February 2013!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Nicuesa and had the best vacation yet. The accommodations were comfortable and just simple and rustic enough to still be charming. Our cabina was clean and really adorable. We enjoyed sitting on the little porch watching the crabs and ants go about their business below. The food was fresh, delicious, and local. I looked forward to every meal. The setting of the lodge is gorgeous, absolutely beautiful. Pictures don't do it justice. But there very best part was the staff. From the boat captains, to the servers, to the managers, to the best bartender anywhere. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and just interesting people. I really can't say enough about how welcome and at home they made us feel. The activities organized by the staff were all a lot of fun and excellent adventures from the in-shore fishing trip to the waterfall hike. I recommend the Multisport package to anyone interested in having an adventure everyday. We were never at a loss for something to do, or for a place to lounge and take a rest. Nicuesa is a great place for a couple, friends or a family. We will go back and bring our little boys next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

A gorgeous location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful eco lodge, stunning nature... Nicuesa Rainforest lodge has it all. For those who have never been to Costa Rica, this place is the best to get to know the real authentic atmosphere of this country.
We felt connected with the nature. One of the best 'rules' was the time spent together with other guests during the one big dinner table.
If we could stay there forever, we would totally go for it:)

Room Tip: We were staying at Dolphin Cabin, which was an absolute blast! Everything was perfectly clean, quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapesVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
8.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
6.1 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
17.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
7.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
19.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Property: Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Address: Parque Nacional Piedras Blancas, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Nicuesa is an environmentally-friendly eco-lodge set on a 165-acre private rainforest preserve on the undeveloped Pacific Coast of Golfo Dulce in southern Costa Rica. Our jungle & sea location provides a unique adventure and nature vacation: the front yard is a gulf right off the Pacific Ocean, and the backyard consists of thousands of acres of pristine tropical rainforest. Overall, the experience embraces conservation and harmony with the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing