We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at the end of December in 2007 and had a wonderful time. Marie and Michael made our trip very special and really made us feel welcome.

There's no doubt about it, that the Lodge is beautiful and remote. It would appeal to a certain type of traveller, one that doesn't mind being cut off from the world (it takes 30 mins to get to the nearest town by boat), who obviously loves nature and doesn't mind bugs and the fact that animals can and do easily get in your room (this aspect freaked me out on our first night, but you get used to it).

We did a river kayak tour, dawn walk, visited the animal sanctuary, yoga and many self guided walks.

One aspect to bare in mind, is how you get there. We had booked to fly with Sensa from San Jose, but due to the poor weather in Golfito they turned round and went back to San Jose. Due to this we lost one day at the lodge. Sensa planes only have one engine. I would HIGHLY recommend using Nature Air instead as they can land and take off in the rain. In the end we flew to Puerto Jimenez and the lodge arranged for a boat to pick us up. We had a number of other issues with Sensa (including a pilot falling asleep), so really strongly wouldn't recommend them. Nature Air were totally fab and ensured we made our international connection out of San Jose.

Back to the lodge, totally wonderful, sleeping does take some getting used to, as does the humidity, but would recommend it to anyone - in fact i'm sending my folks next year.

The staff were wonderful and i know my husband and I certainly see this as one of the great highlights of our trip

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — the humidity and bugs
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
70
117
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We returned to Nicuesa after a great stay last year. It didn't disappoint. The cabin was quite comfortable, notwithstanding the dim lighting and everpresent little bugs. The food is excellent and the trails wonderful. Great wildlife sighting. It is a hikers and photographer's paradise. Moreover, the staff is excellent. Their masseuse/yoga teacher was very, very good. The staff puts just the right importance upon guests getting everything they need; customer service is a big plus about Nicuesa. As its remote location -- no trains, planes, cars or other intrusive noises of civilization. It's just a great, great getaway spot although not for the beach/surf set -- more for hikers and lovers of nature.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IDOUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We stayed at Playa Nicuesa in March and had an amazing stay. The staff was wonderful and made us feel at home. We took great tours (including a little kayaking with dolphins!). The food was so delicious. We really hated to leave. It was a truly memorable experience.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jenson-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Our family recently spent 5 nights at beautiful Playa Nicuesa. We were warmly welcomed and were thrilled to find our completely private cabin surrounded by forest. Floor to ceiling shuttered french windows allow you to open up the whole room. The semi-outdoor shower was fun - a new visitor every day - anoles, geckos, etc. The food and service was excellent . Breakfasts were a bit predictable but they will happily make anything to order. Lunches and dinners were fantastic - fresh ingredients and nice variety. The lodge is so beautiful - like a big treehouse with one long communal table and lots of guidebooks and reference books on Costa Rica. The owners care about the environment. Donna is very knowledgeable about local issues and is a gracious host - going out of her way to make sure our kids got meals they would enjoy. Our main server Melissa was delightful and the other staff are all very friendly. There is always someone to help with things like finding a fishing rod or setting up kayaks. Things are very low key and there is an honour systems for things like cool drinks during the day. The trips and activities are quite good. A trip to a local wildlife rescue centre was a highlight for our kids. We found there was a bit of a push to get guests signed up for activities the night before but this has more to do with planning and scheduling guides and boats than anything else. I think the system was under review.
Estevan was an incredibly knowledgeable guide who was very good with children.
Happy hour was fun with delicious drinks and appetizers.

We felt very much at home here. Don't go if you're expecting a sandy stretch of beach. It is definitely a natural pebble beach but there's a great long dock to jump off. There's also a couple of hammocks and several comfortable deck chairs. We snorkelled a fair bit and did encounter jellyfish but nothing that would prevent us from getting back in.

The lodge is set in secondary forest but there are many trails which quickly lead into the primary forest of the surrounding slopes and the National Park of Piedras Blancas. We had capuchins near our cabin and saw a peccary, toucans, scarlet macaws, the resident caiman, iguanas, basilisks, blue morpho butterflies, lots of hummingbirds, some snakes (another guest came across a boa constrictor) and countless bugs and toads. We also heard howlers on a few mornings.

I would recommend Playa Nicuesa to travellers looking for something a bit different. We hope more lodges like this can operate in the area to preserve forest and provide local employment.

  • Liked — privacy - natural beauty
  • Disliked — dim lighting
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverKp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2007

My family and I visited Playa Nicuesa over a month ago and I don't think there has been a day since that I haven't had a nice little daydream about my experience at Playa Nicuesa. Nicuesa is nestled in the rainforest along the coast in the most majestic setting imaginable. It is a perfect example of how man can live in harmony with nature with little to no impact. You will experience nature at work from the smallest of creatures like the leaf cutter ants, to the most awe inspiring creatures at the top of the food chain, in their resident salt water crocodile "cocito". The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and the food was outstanding. I just cannot say enough about the Playa Nicuesa rainforest lodge. I can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Open air showers in the rainforest
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babaracas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We were definately pleased to have found the Playa Nicuesa Lodge. The cabins are great, owners Mike and Donna are truly hospitable and knowledgable. Food was remarkable and plentiful. The surroundings and staff made us feel we were receiving personalized service - so much so that we extended our stay an additional 2 nights, 3 days!

We will return.

  • Liked — The outdoor shower
  • Disliked — poor lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — Pack nylon clothing, the rainforest is not cotton friendly
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We had a fantastic stay. As stated in some of the previous reviews, the service, food, and accomodations were all top notch. In particular, we had a number of dietary restrictions that were addressed without problem - and the food was consistently exceptional. It seemed like each meal was better than the last. Service was phenomenal as well. We travelled right after Thanksgiving - so it was not yet high season - and there were only a few other couples there with us.

We loved the isolated location and being close to nature. The tours we excellent and Carlos was a great guide. We did a river kayak tour, a waterfall hike and a tour of the local botanical garden - all of which were highly enjoyable.

This definitely was an 'adventure' vacation for us - and the isolation may not suit everyone - but if you are interested in wildlife and nature you cannot miss here. Be prepared to see reptiles, birds, and a wide array of jungle animals. Also be prepared for the sun to be really strong (lots of sun screen!) and sporadic rain (we had some short showers just about every evening).

Overall, we highly recommend Playa Nicuesa and we look forward to returning there. C & C

  • Liked — Food !!!, Service, Natural setting
  • Tips/Secrets — Lots of sun screen, 'Dry fit' clothing (it's humid and cotton does not dry well!)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCM_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
18.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
8.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
6.1 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
18.9 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Property: Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Address: Parque Nacional Piedras Blancas, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Golfito
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Nicuesa is an environmentally-friendly eco-lodge set on a 165-acre private rainforest preserve on the undeveloped Pacific Coast of Golfo Dulce in southern Costa Rica. Our jungle & sea location provides a unique adventure and nature vacation: the front yard is a gulf right off the Pacific Ocean, and the backyard consists of thousands of acres of pristine tropical rainforest. Overall, the experience embraces conservation and harmony with the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing