We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
20
21
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
21
1
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2019

Booked the suite the day before arrival. When we arrived we were told the room was not available. First we were told that there was work being done in the room, (there was not, as we went into the room). Then we were told it was already booked. The manager had his staff inform us. The manager was there, and walked past us 3 times without any kind of acknowledgement, reason for sudden change, or apology. The staff on the other hand were excellent. We stay at this property at least 2 times a year, along with 2 or 3 other couples. We eat and drink at the property as well. We are good customers, or let's say we were good customers. Not impressed!!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Originally had booked 2 night stay at a different hotel in Golfito. We had business, and not enough time to stay in an ecolodge outside of the town, which would normally be our preference. Our original booking was clean, but staff not too friendly, and rooms and all of hotel was extremely dark and depressing. Went to Banana Bay for lunch. Food was great but the staff was even greater! So friendly and welcoming. So, we decided to change places, if a room was available. Christy, in the office was so kind. She showed us an available room with nice, bright light, and the entire place is right on the water with gorgeous views. We knew it was the right choice, to change our 2 nights to Banana Bay! It was so worth it, and we can't thank Christy enough for welcoming us, and putting us up on such short notice!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

i booked a large room with a marina and gulf view for 2 nights - Very confortable and large room, very good bathroom, tv, wifi, a restaurant and bar. What else ?
the staff helped me to book a tour in the rainforest in few minutes - so they were helpful and efficient - I recommend that hotel

Room tip: lovely stay - rainforest is a must see for wildlife
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

During a recent visit to all of the provinces of Costa Rica, our southern most stop over on the Pacific side was Golfito. One of the reasons being, that we wanted to explore the Osa peninsula from here (which unfortunately due to rain and landslides did not come to full fruition).
Reading travel magazines and books, one gets a very dark picture of Golfito, as it was once a bustling export harbor for interalia the banana industry. But, has since fell in a little bit of disrepair. There is a impressive new marina being developed at the upper end of Golfito which will once completed probably get rid of some of the negative publicity this area gets.
We found our visit to the area worth while, both because of its beautiful natural surroundings, as well as still some very commendable places to stay, eat, and shop. We were booked into the Captain Suite at Banana Bay, which had its own private little overwater deck complete with chairs and hammock. It also had a welcome little kitchenette. The rooms were clean, very spacious, with airconditioning, ceiling fans, and in room safe, and easily accessible.
The staff had no problem to extend and alter our stay on short notice literally an hour or two once again because of our plans to drive to the Osa Peninsula being altered due to landslides.
Although not 100% fluent in English, there were enough staff members having a good enough use of the English language to accommodate us, discuss and meet all of our needs.
For yachties, it has its own little “on site marina”, docking facilities and all that goes together with this form of travel, accommodation, and lifestyle.
There’s a bar, overlooking the Gulfo Dulce, as well as a basic good restaurant serving traditional fair, bar type food, and anything in between.
This is not 5 star, but good solid, recommendable, and affordable lodging.

Room tip: Get the Captain suite on the corner as it has a kitchenette and deck over water.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

Never been in a Hotel with the kind of service they offer, completely clean, nice food, very well located, and the way the personnel service to you is simply amazing.
During nights is completely quiet, and has a very hight security. They care about their guests!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews