We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the bad road ends and the good life begins...”
Review of Rancho Burica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Burica
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where the bad road ends and the good life begins...”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We passed almost 3 weeks at this place and it's the best to experience wild life of Costa Rica... jungle, surf, meet nice people of the place (Ticos). It was a way for us to return in our old memories, when we were kids and had no stress (by the way, meals are so good), just had to think about our dreams, things that we would like to do during afternoon after a surf session and before a nice sunset. Rancho Burica is really far but it's quite easy to get there because it's the last stop of the local bus. Once you are there, you should stay for a couple of days/weeks to enjoy the place. Boat trips, surf, snorkeling, walks on the beach, kite, yoga (the yoga farm is really near and you can go to the daily classes). Horsebackridings by a local guy are also amazing. Thanks to the manager Jord and his wife Femke for this amazing experience of pura vida.

Room Tip: There's a dormitory and some private cabins for cheap prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualilou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Unfortunately we're only able to stay three nights at this peaceful place,... Our kids (7 and 10 year old girls) had a great time enjoying the waterfall, the beach and simply nature (and finally without their I-pad's).
Both Jord and Femke showed a huge hospitality, served delicious meals and made us feel really welcome! Besides that, they we're great with our kids! For us it was our second time at the Rancho (we've been there in Dec. '00 as well), but thís time we didn't feel outcast not being surfers. We had an awesome time and hope to be able to come back one day. According to our daughters (and we can only agree) this was the best place of Costa Rica (keep in mind that we've been on 7 locations afterwards ;-).
Thanks again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BastianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great secluded place at the end of the road. Extremely welcoming (Femke and Jord are awesome!) and charming. The location provides you with a relaxed experience or make it full of fun activities. It's really surprising that this place is not busier! The food is amazing and so cheap for what you get. The beach, the waterfall, the sunsets... You won't be able to leave this place! I've plan for a week and stayed for 3!!! Thanks you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unbelievable location, it's exactly how they sum it up; ''where the bad road ends, the good life begins''

I have been here on holiday trips as well as a photoshoot for a major clothing brand. Both trips were amazing although you definitely don't want a agenda when you're there. Best location ever for a photoshoot though..

A fun, private left hand reefbreak in front of the property and one of the longest left pointbreaks in the world around the corner. All set to a vibrant jungle tune and epic vibes. As a surfer this place couldn't be more perfect. The food is very pure and varied. The accomodation ranges from simple and clean, but with the occasional jungle insect to very nice, authentic and bug free.

The recent make over has made all the accommodation fresh and the people that run it will make sure you will have the time in your life! Make sure to hook up with the Gardener - Wilbert - and join him on one of his horse riding trips, guaranteed something you will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannickdeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have two young daughters and we felt very safe with them anywhere on the property. We had such a relaxing time and also took a couple amazing adventures. I would recommend this place to anyone whether you're a surfer or just a traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiiliamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Amazing spot in the tail of Costa Rica. Unspoilt nature, beautifull sunrise and sunset, the best waves, wild animals and a stunning beach. Friendly staff with healthy food every day. There are plenty of activities to do and see. One of the most beautifull places from Central America.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotnic038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Costa Rican dream is right here. No need to search any further. At Rancho Burica you'll meet great people. The hosts Jord & Femke make you feel at home. In this undiscovered little gem it's the tropical dream your living in your own beach cabin. We skipped Corcovado after this, because we saw all the most amazing plants and animals already. The surf is right in front on a fantastic beach. The food is amazingly prepared every day (great deal), so need to go out anywhere. And fun to have dinner with lovely mix of people (and play games). Want to do fun stuff? Lots to do: yoga, hiking, best horse back riding in the world, surfing, you name it! Enjoy Costa Rica in it's true way at Ranco Burica. The pleasure can be yours. (PS and the best of all NO BUGS here, it's a miracle!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
24.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
24.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
11.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 41 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanzas de Fuego Surf & Adventure Lodge
0.8 mi away
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Punta Banco
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Burica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Burica

Property: Rancho Burica
Address: Apartado 131 | Punta Banco, Golfito 8201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Golfito
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rancho Burica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Burica Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing