We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dependable eatery in Golfito”

Banana Bay Marina Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A dependable eatery in Golfito”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the Banana Bay Marina twice, in 2007 and in January 2013. The marina guests and the public are welcome to the restaurant at the marina. Overlooking the boats, the beautiful bay and the sunsets over the harbour entrance, the outdoor restaurant and bar are cooled by effective overhead fans. The bar staff, especially Blanca, are friendly and most speak enough english to help the north american. The menu is varied and there are good daily specials. We had hits and misses eating here in 2013...from delicous fajitas to over-salted burgers. But when we explored the town are tried other restaurants we concluded that this was the best overall in Golfito.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

When you have no idea where you are eating and you just stop and hope for the best...and you get good...I think that is great. We had breakfast here, coffee was great (as to be expected in Costa Rica), gallo pinto (rice and bean) were good as were the eggs and OJ. If you aren't sure where to go...you can go here for a good meal and nice view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“on the bay restaurant with no windows”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

a full menu with many great items giant burgers, scratch french fries. all of which over look the beautiful bay of Gofito Dolce. beautiful views of Sunsets over the Osa peninsula, that you will never forget. The best margaritas since Mexico and a happy hour always crowded with local ex-pats ready to tell many local stories about golfito and surrounding areas

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found this place by accident. We stopped by for happy hour, and looked at the menu. Too bad we had already ate, as it sounded wonderful. We decided to have breakfast there the next morning, and was it worth it! We has the Smothered and Covered which was home fries, topped with a piece of cheddar cheese, and scrambled eggs on top. It was huge and more than I could eat. It is right on the water, and the staff was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mingo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best food in Golfito Central District”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

the staff, meals and service over all is GREAT!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Criscastrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay Marina Restaurant also viewed

Golfito, Osa Peninsula
Golfito, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Banana Bay Marina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing