We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pool and excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice pool and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is the best place to stay at this region. The location is beautiful. It faces the sea. There is a nice swimming pool at this hotel which offers a perfect relaxing time while you are here. The environment is completely peaceful. You have a feeling of safety while you are at this serene place. The food is excellent. The staff and the service are extremely good. The rooms are spacious and clean with good air conditioning. I stayed at this place with my wife and kids. My kids had a great time at the kids pool. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this place and would definitely come back for some relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaakovjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
11
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

If you travel to Golfito to shop at the Duty Free Deposit, this is the best place to stay, very well located in front of the sea and near downtown Golfito in a safe environment. And if your travel for pleasure, this is better, because the hotel has its own marina. They have nice swimming pool and ussually there's only a few guests inside, so its pleasant to relax without a noisy crowd around you. But the best is the food, because the place is owned by a french family, they treat you like their personal guest at their home, and usually you can taste the fresh catch of the day from the fishing boats. I go twice a year and I enjoy every time I stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

This hotel received rave reviews from other folks, so we decided to go there for our short stay in Costa Rica. We were very disappointed. The rooms were quite large and very clean, but badly in need of repair and revitalizing. Lamps were broken, there was no control device for the AC (the only way to make it work), water leaked from the shower stall and there was a septic tank smell that permeated the room. The property was once quite nice, but lights were broken off around the pool, tiles were cracked and the "museum"/gift shop was dusty and dark. On the bright side, as mentioned in other reviews, the staff was excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The dinners were great - fresh fish and seafood prepared anyway you wanted. You could go into the kitchen and pick out your fish. The waiter remembered your preferences for drinks and accompaniments from one night to the other. For some reason, lunchtime food was always overcooked - perhaps a different chef than at dinner. Be prepared to entertain yourselves. Unless you fish, there is absolutely nothing to do in Golfito. We did take a boat ride where we were told we would see monkeys, dolphins, crocodiles, birds. We saw nothing - but the boat ride was pleasant. And, management invites local folks in to use the pool. Unfortunately, the local folks are young boys - not families - who take over, scream and cannonball into the water. We stayed away from the pool until they left or rested for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dextertalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

I can't think of a thing that could have made our stay any better. With the butterfly pools one for the kids one for adults overlooking the marina and the bay, the outstanding service and food at the bar and restaurant and the oversized rooms with windows front and back and a/c. Good water pressure in the shower with plenty of hot water. The owner and his staff seem more than happy to go that extra step to make our stay one we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeak307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We only stayed one night at this hotel,however the service was truly exceptional. Rooms are big and spacious and meticulously kept clean. My husband had lost his reading glasses in Panama, and the owner of this hotel ( Claude)drove him to the market,escorted him to the right stall and bought him a pair of reading glasses. We were truly touched by this mans kindness. This is a family run business and all the family attends very attentively to all their guests and all are made to feel welcome. I give it the highest praise possible

  • Liked — cleanliness and service
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oatmealpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

The nicest couple in the world, with the BEST Shrimp Cocktail in the WORLD!!!.
We drove from Pavones after surfing one day, just for the C.Shrimps.

They let us swim and even gave us towels to dry off with, knowing we weren't staying there, just being the nicest people you'll ever meet, as in all of Costa Rica

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
8.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur

Property: Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Address: Km1, frente a carretera principal, Golfito 8201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa Del Sur Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing