We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Excellence in a Fishing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Zancudo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Zancudo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Excellence in a Fishing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just returned late last night from Zancudo Lodge. This was our second visit there. This is the place that will spoil you for life! Remote and so unexpected.

This lodge has definitely been through some major renovations. Goldine and Gregg have managed to take an already comfortable and beautiful lodge and elevate it to a fishing resort! Men and some women will go to fish; women and some men should go and enjoy the resort while their significant others go out fishing. I did both. The sea life is plentiful and worth seeing.

The rooms are spacious, incredibly clean and comfortable. The decor is divine. No detail has been overlooked. The bar and wait staff are friendly and attentive, as are all the staff. Frankly, the service was impeccable. The gourmet food is fresh and presented beautifully. You can have ice in your drinks as the water is filtered! The furnishings are comfortable, beautiful, and a real pleasure. The plants and trees are manicured, plentiful and enjoyable. New shaded decks with lounge chairs, overlooking the beach, have been added. Surprises of beauty await you on every turn of this property! A koi pond walkway? Unreal. Set up tented beach chairs on the beach for you? No problem.

The game room will have you weak in the knees. Pool table, darts, card tables, foosball, comfy seating, outside deck...did I forget something? If you enjoy a massage, definitely schedule one! The massage room overlooking the palm tree tops and the beach will take you to yet another level of Pura Vida!

Oh yes, the fishing. Organized. Reliable boats, Skilled captains. You only need show up and they take care of the rest.

We were there with a large group this time - a fishing tournament. Zancudo Lodge managed to make everyone feel special and on their own individual vacations. I am certain I speak for all of us that were there. The awards were spectacular.

There is a tiny village close by that is charming. Friendly people are all around you.

This jewel of the jungle has the quality experience of a five star property. No detail, absolutely nothing is overlooked!

I cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
WOW! We knew you had a good time with us but wasn't expecting such a fantastic review!
Your thoughts will be definitely brought to the attention of the staff and they will be delighted to hear that as a team, we accomplished our goal of making our clients feel that it's a great experience to vacation at the Lodge. We look forward to seeing you next year. Stay tuned for more surprises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
37
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from Zancudo Lodge, Golfito, Costa Rica. What a wonderful vacation we had. We traveled with our good friends that we usually travel with. My husband was the only one that wanted to fish. However, there were lots of other things to do for the rest of us. The place is beautiful. Absolutely breathtaking. Grounds were covered with gorgeous flowers everywhere. The beach was very clean, clear and felt wonderful. The fishing was great. The lodge was beautiful and the wait staff was so gracious and accomodating to us. Gregg and Golding the owners are very friendly and caring and certainly did everything they could to make our stay the great vacation that it was. Now for the best part...Five star chef did a phenomenal job of preparing the food at every meal. Everything was grown right there. Fresh, fresh, fresh. Even homemade ice cream! Fresh fish at every meal. Wonderfully presented and prepared. I highly reccommend this as a great vacation destination.
Vonnie M. from Tx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ywmhicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
So happy to know that you had a great time relaxing at the Lodge. We're glad to know that everyone enjoyed the meals as we take great pride in presenting the freshest of the southern zone to all our guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review and we hope to share more good times with you in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon arrival to the Zancudo Lodge I was welcomed personally by Gregg and his wife who own the Zancudo. Thoughout my stay they asked if there was anything I needed and even looked into changing my flight for me, so I could squeeze in one more day of fishing. The view from the lodge overlooking the ocean is beyond words. The wait staff, bartender and all on-site help went out of their way to make my stay fantastic. During my fishing experience, I couldnt have asked for a better captain and mate. By the end of my 3 day fishing venture we were laughing hysterically at jokes and talking about next years trip. My only regret is not booking 5 or 6 days fishing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So glad you had a blast here at the Lodge. Thanks so much for your fantastic review and we have shared your generous words with each and every staff member here! We look forward to sharing more happy times with you in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My fishing buds and I just returned from another fabulous, awesome adventure with Gregg and his team at The Zancudo Lodge. Five of us made the trip and what a trip it was in a word - Flawless, flowless arrangements, flawless connections, flawless reception, flawless lodge, flawless staff, flawless equipment, flawless fishing, flawless weather, .... did I say the trip was flawless?

Gregg and his lovely wife have made The Zancudo Lodge a destination. If you haven't been, I really can't describe it or do it justice. Yes, Gregg has been around for a bit (from the beginning), but maybe we can just have his wife run the lodge from here on out and Gregg can hang out surfing and such!

We docked after arriving form the Golfito airport, as the boats were arriving from the days fishing and brought back tales of large sails, Marlin that got away, some tuna and Mahi-Mahi on the cleaning table being readied for bar/pool side snacks. We got settled in quickly, ordered a cold one and next thing I knew it was Mahi-Mahi snacks by the pool side along with a fresh drink.

That evening a fabulous meal, and wonderful desert then off to bed. More upgrades to the rooms this year to make them even nicer. Most noticeable were the high thread count sheets! Up early for a wonderful breakfast and then to the boat, make bait and out past the point to the blue wate. We headed out about 15 miles .. saw birds and dolphin.. our Capt Raphel readied the lines and we began .. in less than an hour, we had a double hook up of 2 tuna. My Buddy David landed a 40#+ one and I had on about a 70+ brute. Of course, I got the bigger tuna! After about 20 min, we had both in the boat and were partaking of fresh sushi!

Later we raised a couple of sails .. and boated one! Wow, what a way to start another Zancudo Adventure.

A quick run back to the lodge --- more drinks and fresh tuna appetizer. Awesome tuna steak for dinner, and home made ice cream for desert.

Day 2, fabulous eggs ranchero, on the boat and off to make bait, then out after the monsters. This time we went out to about 30 miles and immediately hooked up on a double sails! Boated both! Then it was time for those fabulous Zancudo PB&J on home made bread! A couple of those and a few more beers an we were ready for more action... that day, we missed a couple of sails and boated 6. Wow.. another winner of a day. Today, David got the big fish!

Day 3, not as much action, but by any measure... not a slacker of a day either. Raised and boated a sail. Raised and caught a brief glimpse of a blue marlin --anytime a Marlin comes up in the spread it is exciting. Really wish we could have gotten him to the boat, but - it's fishing, not catching. We did land a nice Mahi-Mahi - abt 40#.

The lodge just keeps getting better and better. This year while there were some improvements with the facilities and equipment, the most notable was with the staff. Ryan the bartender was back - definitely a welcome return. The wait staff was pleasant, and so accommodating it almost made you feel guilty to ask for anything. They have added some recreational activities to the lodge grounds. My bud and I tried the YOLO boards... no we weren't daring enough to go on the river side with he crocks, we went to the gulf side with the sharks. Had a blast and if I must say... I stayed up longer and looked more masculine than his skinny --- self.

We have a wonderful trip. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, couple, or family wanting something different and to experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. This is a wonderful experience that really can't be topped -- it is definitely a value proposition!

whw

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whw0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
What an awesome diary of your trip! Our team appreciates the great review and we are glad that your group had an enjoyable time with us. We aim to strive for an even BETTER experience for you next season! Tight lines and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

First the good: This was our first trip to Zancudo Lodge. The lodge itself was tropical/beautiful/fantastic, with a great location and awesome scenery. The service was amazing, food fantastic, and the staff more than gracious. We had a terrific professional crew for the 3 days we fished, who worked hard to get us onto the fish. Our son got his first sailfish ever, and the largest tunas he has ever caught.
Now the bad: Our stay was too short. This was the most enjoyable fishing vacation I have ever had, anywhere. For anyone contemplating going to Costa Rica, Zancudo Lodge should be the first name on your list. Can't wait to go back.

Brian, Marilyn, and Jeff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review and kind words. We are so happy that your family had a wonderful stay at the Lodge and we sincerely enjoyed serving you as much as you enjoyed your visit. We hope that we can make more great memories together in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First the good: Beautiful grounds, owners on-site, easy to get around, private marina and private beach just steps away, food is delicious. If you fish and eat fish, this is a great place. HOWEVER, I would not return nor recommend this as an "all-inclusive" for persons who are not there to catch and eat fish. There is a clear double standard; the fishermen are treated like royalty, but the other guests are treated like poor relations at the family reunion. I felt the American owners were more concerned with their profit margin than with their customer service. Their surcharges on local tours were out-of-line, and they didn't even provide water for us on the boat on the way over and back after a strenuous zip-line tour. The owners are not "people-persons;" they and the wait-staff failed to anticipate regular and repeated needs; they skimped on the food choices for us, denying us food (especially non-seafood choices) and drink readily provided to the fishermen; they failed to provide us hot water for showers; our TV did not work, and there were no instructions for it anyway! At a pricey $450 per night, I expected, but never received, 5-star service. The bartender and the on-site customer service person (both locals) were most gracious, and despite the problems, we managed to have a nice time there, largely of our own making

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. Nothing to write home about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Ms. Tracey D,
We are so sorry that you had such a disappointing trip.
We actually spoke with your trip leader right after you left because we were concerned about your stay as you seemed disgruntled and disappointed from the time that you arrived at our Lodge to the point of your departure. Our staff really tried their best to cater to your needs however it seemed that it was never right. The others in your group assured us that they had a great time and even wrote a sparkling review. Please see "Fishing and more...." from January 13, 2013 as that was a member from your own group.
To address your complaints, (1) your local tours involved private boat transfers which is pricey because of the exclusivity and fuel prices....but they are basically very standard pricing in the southern zone (2) we offered your selection for breakfast and lunch from our 40 item menu and our dinners were a minimum of 3 courses per evening (3) we never denied you of drinks, (4) your hot water and TV issues were addressed the moment you advised of same (5) the $450.00 charge was for 2 (you and your partner).
Again our apologies again for your dissatisfaction however we suggest that in the future, you avoid purchasing meal plans because of your restrictive dietary requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A magnificent beach,a comfortable and convenient pool, beautful views, excellent room accomodations, comfortable gathering spots, internet access, food on a par with the best restaurants in New York, and a caring management and staff.
A variety of outings can be arranged. While this lodge is known for its fishing, there's much else that can be done, from zip-line adventure to visits to botanical and wildlife preserves.
Each member of our family of 13 (ages 13 to 84) had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
One of the most gratifying things about the hospitality business is seeing families of many generations gather on an annual trip abroad and we were fortunate enough to be a part of your family celebration this year. We truly appreciate your visit and allowing us to catch a glimpse of how sweet life really is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
10.9 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
22.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
12.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
11.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zancudo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zancudo Lodge

Property: The Zancudo Lodge
Address: Playa Zancudo, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica (Formerly Zancudo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zancudo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zancudo Lodge is surrounded by the beauty of Costa Rican wildlife, verdant tropical foliage and is located beachfront. Ideally bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Rio Coto river, we offer our guests the perfect setting for an idyllic vacation accompanied by your choice of a variety of thrill seeking activities. Our guests can choose amongst a list of popular sports such as world class surfing, standup paddle boarding, premier catch and release sport fishing and kayaking or a variety of day tours indigenous to the Golfo Dulce such as a visit to a botanical garden and a wildlife sanctuary, oceanfront horseback riding or a zip-line canopy flight through the rainforest. Those guests who prefer to enjoy the tranquility of the resort can spend time relaxing by the pool, taking a stroll in our tropical fruit garden, playing a game of bocce ball on our regulation court, receiving a deep tissue massage, practicing yoga or pilates in the open air or simply relishing the vastness of the Pacific Ocean from the privacy of our Zancudo Beach.Our brand new public space houses an elegant fountain reception area, gift shop, 3 lounge areas, a fine dining restaurant (seating capacity 40), bar (seating capacity 16) and a state of the art kitchen. On the second floor, there is a game lounge complete with a widescreen TV viewing area, pool table, shuffleboard table, card table, foosball and a massage relaxation room with an outdoor shower. On our property, our guests will also find beautiful tropical gardens, green houses (with our own organically farmed product), our own Lodge marina located on the Rio Coto (where all guests are greeted with a VIP service of a welcoming drink and cold towel), a salt water pool and palapa lounge area and open air beachfront platforms (for exercise, lounging, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Zancudo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zancudo Beach Hotel Golfito
The Zancudo Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing