We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zancudo Lodge is Outstanding”
Review of The Zancudo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Zancudo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zancudo Lodge is Outstanding”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A magnificent beach,a comfortable and convenient pool, beautful views, excellent room accomodations, comfortable gathering spots, internet access, food on a par with the best restaurants in New York, and a caring management and staff.
A variety of outings can be arranged. While this lodge is known for its fishing, there's much else that can be done, from zip-line adventure to visits to botanical and wildlife preserves.
Each member of our family of 13 (ages 13 to 84) had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
One of the most gratifying things about the hospitality business is seeing families of many generations gather on an annual trip abroad and we were fortunate enough to be a part of your family celebration this year. We truly appreciate your visit and allowing us to catch a glimpse of how sweet life really is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
38
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Total experience at Zancudo Lodge is the best .
The Chef is one of the best ever, wish he would do cooking classes in the afternoon.
Relaxation at its best.
They will make sure you have all you need, and the endless miles of beach and great fishing help.

Room Tip: Ask questions before to talior your needs this lodge will make sure its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We're happy to know that you had an enjoyable time. And yes, a cooking class of some classic Costa Rican cuisine is a great idea and we will definitely put that on our "project" list. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at the Lodge in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

There is a reason we have a 16 year history with this lodge and it just gets better every year! This is paradise, ensconced in the jungle and fronted with beautiful beach. The architecture of the buildings and villas is amazing, with lush landscaped grounds -all perfectly designed compliment the natural surroundings. Rooms and common areas are very Fung Shui. They are so gorgeous and immaculate that you immediately relax and feel happy to be there. Service is top notch, the cuisine is local, fresh, and delicious. The pool area is delightful with a tiki-roofed furnished lounge offering shade. Fishing captains are unparalleled in their expertise and professionalism. Any day spent at sea with a Zancudo Captain is a life-affirming rush. The hope of returning here this year is what helped me get through chemo and it was better than I could have imagined. I enjoyed learning the stand up paddle board, mingling with the locals, meeting new friends and trying new things. The Costa Ricans (ticos) that live in this town are so warm and friendly, totally accepting of all the ex-pats that also live there. The owners, Greg and Goldine, are so sweet and accommodating, you will feel spoiled. Put this place on your bucket list, you will not be disappointed. And there's a tuna out there with your name on it, waiting to be caught and offered as sashimi in the bar!

Room Tip: The 2 Villas are charming bungalows with private decks, our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaPitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
A year is never the same without your visit and we were so happy to see you this December..... especially after your successful recovery. Thank you so much for your kind words and it is guests like you that make us strive to be better. We look forward to seeing you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A truly unique experience! The grounds and landscaping are immaculate, accommodations’ first class. The wait staff and boat captains’ are knowledgeable, friendly and bilingual. The food prepared by Chef Daniel was outstanding. All of the things we look for in a trip, ambiance, and value for the dollar, hospitality and great food were found at The Zancudo Lodge. We look forward to our next trip. Thanks Gregg and Goldine!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We know that you have a wide selection of places to visit and stay and we are honored to be your choice. We hope to see you here at the Lodge in the very near future. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been going to The Zancudo Lodge since the year Gregg purchased it.. and wow what a transformation has happened. When we first went to the lodge, it was nice (or we would have never returned) and the fishing was great. Yes, compared to what it is now, it was a bit crude.. a fishing lodge!
Each subsequent year the lodge has gotten better, boats better, equipment better, staff fantastic and fishing is still an Awesome Adventure.
This last year on a whim, 4 of us decided to go, called Gregg and he had some cancellations on the date we wanted, so off we went with only a week’s notice! It was late in the season, but the lodge was crowded and the fish were biting. It is now a truly awesome “RESORT” experience and there is nothing in the region to touch it for accommodations, food or fishing. I must admit I do miss the quaintness of the “old fishing lodge”, but all the improvements, inflation and so many improvements, Gregg and his wife have managed to keep costs in check – it is a real bargain.
I love to go there to fish, but I also just like to chill out and hang around the lodge, walk the beach, have a cold drink by the pool or read a book in one of the hammocks + other local activities. I’m headed back in January ’13.. and can’t wait. Don’t know what I like the most.. the anticipation of the trip, being so close to nature, the remoteness, or hooking and releasing a huge fish!

Room Tip: All the rooms are Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whw0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your review and it's an honor for us to welcome you back year after year. We're always trying to upgrade our level of service each season so that returning customers will always have something new and special to experience. The staff and i are looking forward to your return in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

A true 5 star hotel, I almost needed to pinch myself! I never imagined that in the middle of the jungle you could find such luxury. The owners lead by example and make sure your stay is exceeds expectations, and all the staff follow the owners lead in making sure you feel specail and welcome. The bar drinks to the gourmet meals are also way over the top.
I arrived by boat and was met by the hotel's owner, staff and a troup of wild howler monkeys. All of this and I have not even gotten to talk about the perfect rooms or mention the world class fishing we experienced at Zancudo Lodge with the greatest fishing captains in Golfito.

You will not regret a decision to visit Zancudo Lodge, I only regret having to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We had the best time with you and your group from the IGFA and we are all looking forward to seeing you back in the very near future. We appreciate your very kind words and we will continue to do our best in making your next trip an even more pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the most wonderful place to stay in Costa Rica. What a beautiful gem I found. The hostess was fabulous. The food was just amazing. I did not expect to find such a clean and comfortable bed. This lodge is more like a modern hotel. It is right by the beach, so I got to enjoy the beautiful sunset everyday there. It was so beautiful. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: They have a beautiful suite!!! It is a MUST see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 618ObsessedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
The staff and I are so thrilled that you had a memorable stay at the Lodge. We do appreciate the very kind comments and it encourages us to do even better the next time you visit. We hope we can serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
10.9 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
12.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
22.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
11.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
10.7 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zancudo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zancudo Lodge

Property: The Zancudo Lodge
Address: Playa Zancudo, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica (Formerly Zancudo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zancudo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zancudo Lodge is surrounded by the beauty of Costa Rican wildlife, verdant tropical foliage and is located beachfront. Ideally bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Rio Coto river, we offer our guests the perfect setting for an idyllic vacation accompanied by your choice of a variety of thrill seeking activities. Our guests can choose amongst a list of popular sports such as world class surfing, standup paddle boarding, premier catch and release sport fishing and kayaking or a variety of day tours indigenous to the Golfo Dulce such as a visit to a botanical garden and a wildlife sanctuary, oceanfront horseback riding or a zip-line canopy flight through the rainforest. Those guests who prefer to enjoy the tranquility of the resort can spend time relaxing by the pool, taking a stroll in our tropical fruit garden, playing a game of bocce ball on our regulation court, receiving a deep tissue massage, practicing yoga or pilates in the open air or simply relishing the vastness of the Pacific Ocean from the privacy of our Zancudo Beach.Our brand new public space houses an elegant fountain reception area, gift shop, 3 lounge areas, a fine dining restaurant (seating capacity 40), bar (seating capacity 16) and a state of the art kitchen. On the second floor, there is a game lounge complete with a widescreen TV viewing area, pool table, shuffleboard table, card table, foosball and a massage relaxation room with an outdoor shower. On our property, our guests will also find beautiful tropical gardens, green houses (with our own organically farmed product), our own Lodge marina located on the Rio Coto (where all guests are greeted with a VIP service of a welcoming drink and cold towel), a salt water pool and palapa lounge area and open air beachfront platforms (for exercise, lounging, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Zancudo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zancudo Beach Hotel Golfito
The Zancudo Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing