We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of The Zancudo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zancudo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have been coming to this lodge to fish for the past 10 years. While the fishing has declined a bit in recent years, the lodge has gotten better with every visit. Its almost too nice for fisherman. The food is now first class - every diner was like eating at a 5 star restaurant. The rooms are well appointed and the staff is truly committed to making your stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank facjkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us!
We are constantly trying to improve our service and property so that wonderful clients like you will continue to make a return annual visit. Our staff and captains look forward to your visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

I just returned from a four day trip to the Zancudo Lodge with my son and have to say that the experience exceeded all of our expectations. The lodge itself has gone through a terriific upgrade and the rooms and dining/bar area are first class (and so is the food!). In addition, our experience fishing and surfing in the beauty of the Zancudo area have created memories that will last a lifetime. Most impressive about the lodge is the warmth and hospitality of the owners (Gregg and Goldine) who really make you feel welcome and go out of their way to ensure that all of the guests are taken care of. This is a very special place that we hope to return to one day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocarriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Many thanks for your review.
Awesome clients bring out the best in us and the entire staff joins me in thanking you for making our jobs so easy! We hope you and your son had a great "bonding" trip as it was a delight for us to serve you. We hope to see you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I came here with a group with my company. It was a super fun adventure. We are not fishers, however we did fish for two days. There was not a ton of other choices, although it was so beautiful I would have had no problem enjoying the scenery. The Zancudo Lodge owners were great accommodating the various needs of our group. They arranged activities and the fishing, etc. The food was amazing!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same, except for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

So happy that you had a good time and thank you for your kind review.
If you ever find yourself in Costa Rica again, please visit us and we will definitely show you the rest of the sights, activities and beauty of the Southern Zone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We just returned from a week long trip to The Zancudo Lodge and had a great time. The lodge is really first class and the owners (Gregg and Goldine) are great. Goldine is a true delight and is definitely the master of all things related to the lodge. Her attention to detail is superb and it shows in everything around the lodge from the immaculate rooms to the incredible dining and bar area.

The entire staff is top notch and very attentive. They had just opened the new bar and dining area a week before our arrival and it couldn't be a nicer place. Gregg made sure all of our in country transfers were arranged and all our travel went off like clock work as a result. They had an open bar the entire duration of our stay that was a huge hit with our entire crew and the meals are top notch....couldn't be better.

Zancudo is great for a host of Costa Rican outdoor adventures to include surfing, paddle boarding, zipline tours, and a host of others. Our final day was a free day and several members of our group had a fantastic time on the zip line tour while a few others when for an ATV ride on the beach. In both cases, Goldine and Gregg made sure all the arrangements were taken care of with only a day's notice. In fact, of all the places I've fished in Central America, this is the only one I would recommend as a nice couples retreat as well and intend to return with my wife someday.

We were there primarily for fishing and this ended up being the only disappointing part of the trip as fishing was unseasonably slow for this part of Costa Rica due to La Nina. This is also the only area that could use a bit of work in our opinion. Gregg is in the process of updating all the boats and gear so some boats didn't have the variety and quality of light tackle equipment I would expect for such a nice resort. He assured us that they will be getting all new Avet equipment soon which will make a big difference. We would also like to see all the boats outfitted the same as some were equipped with tuna tubes while others were not.

Another item that would help would be to have a fresh supply of ballyhoo available for all the boats heading offshore. The crews primarily use bait and switch on sailfish with live bait and it was a bit tough getting bait while we were there so we spent an hour or more each morning making bait.

Our group has fished all over Central America and we all agreed that Zancudo is clearly the best lodge we've stayed at from an accommodation standpoint but could use a bit of work when it comes to the fishing operations. Even the best places in the world have slow weeks and it's the attention to the small details that make the difference when the fishing gets tough. I'd be happy to give Zancudo a 5-Star rating with just a few tweaks in the fishing department: top notch tackle (both light and trolling), identically outfitted boats, fresh ballyhoo and even better penned live bait (if possible), tuna tubes and more rod holders on the boats.

Thanks to Gregg, Goldine and their staff for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: All the rooms are top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJames04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We appreciate all your comments and thank you for giving us a most positive review.
We have taken all your wonderful suggestions regarding the fishing and have upgraded and implemented new systems and equipment accordingly.
We hope that you and your group will allow us to serve you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My brother,a good friend and I had a wonderful time. The owners and staff made us feel like family. We went there to surf and fish but found many other things to do. The week went by so fast. I would recommend this place to all outdoor enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We are three couples who after a lot of research decided to stay at The Zancudo Lodge for a fishing/relaxing vacation. The guys were into the fishing and the girls were into the relaxing, although we all went fishing together one day and had a great time and we all had some relaxing time together on the off fishing days.
First of all, I have to acknowledge and thank all of the staff - Andrea, Admin.Assist. for "being there" for anything; Ryan and Andres at the bar; the girls in the kitchen and housekeeping; and the groundskeeper for the wonderful surroundings. Goldine and Gregg, who are the owners and great hosts were always available and so accommodating. They all make you feel at home in a low key, friendly atmosphere.
The Lodge had arranged all of our in country travel and everything went very smoothly. The location is gorgeous - on the beach, great for long walks or swimming and watching the sunset every evening. The Lodge will arrange tours and activities and you can do as much or as little as you want. We were a little lazy in that department and spent much of our time relaxing by the pool. They arranged for massages that were excellent and also for Stand Up Paddle board lessons from Wilson that were challenging and fun.
The fishing: It was great! They have a great fleet of boats and the captains are very experienced and knowledgeable which ensured for many good fishing days. We ate a lot of fresh tuna sashimi! The food in the restaurant was good - we ate lots of fresh caught fish.
The accommodations were excellent - newly renovated, spacious rooms with comfortable beds and roomy bathrooms with huge showers. There is daily laundry service which we used and appreciated.
I must add that we met some really great people during our stay.
There is a lot of hard work going into the success of the Lodge and they are continuing to make improvements with a new restaurant in the works.
We had a wonderful time - we made the right choice! Thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slynnnalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just got back from an amazing trip to Zancudo Lodge with my friend. The lodge is beautiful - upscale rooms, gorgeous property, good food and great staff. And, the fishing is amazing. In 4 days of fishing we landed several BIG sailfish, mahi, roosterfish and various inshore species - and we raised several more sails and a few marlin. The seas were totally flat (like a lake). The boat and equipment were impressive and our captain (Tito) was really fantastic - professional, great at getting us on the fish and a true fisherman that clearly loved to fish.

This trip was truly an adventure to remember. I strongly recommend considering it for your next fishing vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bergguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
14.6 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
10.3 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
12.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
13.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
6.4 mi away
Hotel Samoa del Sur
Hotel Samoa del Sur
#7 of 12 in Golfito
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zancudo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zancudo Lodge

Address: Playa Zancudo, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica (Formerly Zancudo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range: $281 - $783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zancudo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zancudo Lodge is surrounded by the beauty of Costa Rican wildlife, verdant tropical foliage and is located beachfront. Ideally bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Rio Coto river, we offer our guests the perfect setting for an idyllic vacation accompanied by your choice of a variety of thrill seeking activities. Our guests can choose amongst a list of popular sports such as world class surfing, standup paddle boarding, premier catch and release sport fishing and kayaking or a variety of day tours indigenous to the Golfo Dulce such as a visit to a botanical garden and a wildlife sanctuary, oceanfront horseback riding or a zip-line canopy flight through the rainforest. Those guests who prefer to enjoy the tranquility of the resort can spend time relaxing by the pool, taking a stroll in our tropical fruit garden, playing a game of bocce ball on our regulation court, receiving a deep tissue massage, practicing yoga or pilates in the open air or simply relishing the vastness of the Pacific Ocean from the privacy of our Zancudo Beach.Our brand new public space houses an elegant fountain reception area, gift shop, 3 lounge areas, a fine dining restaurant (seating capacity 40), bar (seating capacity 16) and a state of the art kitchen. On the second floor, there is a game lounge complete with a widescreen TV viewing area, pool table, shuffleboard table, card table, foosball and a massage relaxation room with an outdoor shower. On our property, our guests will also find beautiful tropical gardens, green houses (with our own organically farmed product), our own Lodge marina located on the Rio Coto (where all guests are greeted with a VIP service of a welcoming drink and cold towel), a salt water pool and palapa lounge area and open air beachfront platforms (for exercise, lounging, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Zancudo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zancudo Beach Hotel Golfito
The Zancudo Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing