We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
83
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato golfo dulce scarlet macaws outdoor shower ceiba tree bioluminescence tour local guide every meal resident biologist plunge pool pura vida incredible attention to detail italian influence london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone beach picnic
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We’ve just come back from an amazing few days spent in what must be the most unexpected rainforest retreat in the world. I have never written a review in my life but I felt that I had to write this one! We’ve travelled far and visiting a rainforest usually comes with giving up some comforts and too often one’s sense of aesthetics. Instead, the retreat is beautiful, with light airy cabins and an open restaurant you’d expect to find in Morocco - beautiful rugs on the floors, hand made wooden tables and twinkling candles in the evening. The owners have created a very special place and this transpired throughout. There are beautiful details everywhere, even in the cutlery, the way the food is brought to you, the packed food during our boat trip to see dolphins, the afternoon tea served is old china from England....literally everywhere. And all of this surrounded by lush forest, scarlet macaws crossing the skies, toucans eating papayas nearby and smiling employees. A real jewel.

Room tip: The plunge pool in the suite is stunning!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Reed-Sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So glad we stayed at the Golfo Dulce retreat! It was such a relaxing four days. We were well taken care of by the owners, Chantelle and Simon. The food is yummy and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. I enjoyed being in nature and learning from their resident biology students. It was the perfect place to unplug from the grid. You are in nature and don't have to worry about running from place to place or how you look. The open air cabins with hammocks are a lot of fun, but you must love bugs, since they are a part nature too :)

Room tip: The cabins are open air, so you may have small animal visitors. The open air shower is lovely.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Freedom27534301332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WOW ! From the minute we got in the boat to go to Golfo Dulce Retreat you knew you were going to have a unique experience. And our time spent with Simon and Chantelle and all the others that help was fantastic. Swimming under the stars and the night bioluminescence,hiking to the waterfall,catching fish for dinner and seeing the dolphins from the boat all contributed to a exciting vacation . Make reservations NOW !

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Venture47494115336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had previously heard about Golfo Dulce Retreat and had high expectations. However the experience far exceeded our hopes. We were celebrating a special anniversary and everyone went out of their way to be helpful which resulted in a fantastic holiday that we will remember for the rest of our lives. The surrounding rainforest with its unique flora and fauna, the luxury of the retreat, the quality of the food and the warmth of the family and staff who organise it all make for a very special experience. This is not a conventional hotel, which is evident from the moment you board the boat for the 45 minute ride to the retreat. (There are no roads!) The ethos of caring for the environment generally and this special place in particular is central with long term sustainability being the aim. We certainly will think about things in a different way having had the privilege of staying at this awesome place. Just go!

Room tip: All are excellent.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrandTour17665236428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Golfo Dulce Retreat for 3 nights as part of our 3 week vacation in Costa Rica. The country is amazing and Golfo Dulce was by far the best part we visited. This little corner of Costa Rica boasts one of the highest concentration of species in the world. The beaches of the golfo, the wildlife, the setting and its surrounding forests are absolutely breathtaking. We arrived at the Retreat late in the afternoon with an incredible sunset, dolphins swimming around the boat and the most incredible scent oozing from the rainforest. We thought we landed in paradise. The lodge itself is spectacular. Very intimate, peaceful and beautiful. We have travelled across the whole country and we can honestly say this was our favourite place. In fact it probably was one of the most magical places we have ever visited in our 40+ years of travels.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelafosseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews