We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato golfo dulce outdoor shower scarlet macaws ceiba tree bioluminescence tour local guide every meal resident biologist plunge pool pura vida incredible attention to detail italian influence london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone beach picnic
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Golfo Dulce is an inspiring retreat site. We got to walk in primary rain forest. We got to stay in a gorgeous cabin and live the vision of two brave people committed to doing their part to have a sustainable future. Their offering to all of us is huge. We got to be outside all day, eating in a gorgeous outside living room atmosphere. When we got hot (it was hot), we could cool down in the pool or ocean. When we wanted adventure we could go on a number of outdoor tours and adventures. When we wanted rest, we could swing in a hammock or sit by the ocean. Chantalle and Simon have done something truly incredible.Thank you for following your hearts. You have inspired mine.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The two of us spent 4 nights at the Golfo Dulce Retreat in early February 2019. The weather was perfect as was our vacation at this wonderful lodge.

This place has a lot to offer for nature lovers. We had the opportunity to see a wide variety of wildlife of all kind. More specifically it is a pretty good spot for birdwatchers (like us). There are only 3 cabins available on the property, so it is tranquility guaranteed! The cabin we had was spacious, practical and decorated with great taste. Speaking of taste, the food there was exquisite with many homemade products (yogurt, bread, jam, ice cream, pasta …) and with super fresh catch of the day fish dishes from the nearby gulf.

Simon & Chantelle, the friendly owners of the property, will do everything they can to make your stay at the lodge a great experience. The various tours offered on the surrounding Golfo Dulce are a must. We had the opportunity to explore the mangroves, to do some snorkeling, to see dolphins and to experience the unreal “bioluminescence” at night. Chantelle can organize any such tours for you in the blink of an eye. Everybody over there were really nice. We had great time with the boat driver and with the resident biologists that were there during our stay.

To conclude we give a note of 5/5 because we only have good comments about this place.

Richard and Sylvie, Québec, Canada

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RD123Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you only go to one place in Costa Rica, go here. If you go to more than one place, make sure this is your last stop. If you start here and go other places, your trip will be spent in the disappointed state of noticing that nothing you do after GDR will quite live up to the splendor of your experience here—honestly.

We were two families traveling with a twelve and a thirteen-year old. Each of the smaller cabinas perfectly accommodated a family of three. We loved the activities that were offered and also enjoyed doing little else other than lazily floating in the pool while looking up at the Scarlet Macaws as they flew about the forest canopy.

Simon and Chantelle, along with the staff, work diligently behind the scenes to provide stunningly delicious meals, wonderfully clean and beautifully decorated accommodations, as well as effortless transportation to and from the retreat as well as the activities.

We will be back to enjoy this special corner of the world again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TrippyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a month on the road in CR we treated ourselves to the divine GD Retreat. Thank you Chantalle and Simon for making our last few days just perfect. Only three cabins, not for those looking for air conditioned boxes - instead stylish (Italian influence of course Chantalle) fan cooled mini houses with outdoor showers; showering surrounded by jungle like a shampoo advert. The Sala for meals and socialising or just chilling and reading tastefully decorated in muted greys and blues. Best of all the enormous plunge pool that is the Golfo Dulce. At last we were able to swim without fear of rip tides. Paddle boarding and kayaking in calm clean waters and no one to watch us fall in. Wildlife especially birds, the squawking Macaws! Perfect.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

My husband and I had been travelling around Costa Rica for two weeks and we were desperately looking for a place to unwind, immerse ourselves in nature and eat well. We came across Golfo Dulce Retreat almost at the last minute and we loved it. With the benefit of hindsight I wish we had spent our entire vacation here instead of going from one overcrowded destination to another. In the end we realised that this special corner of the country, only accessible by boat and surrounded by a stunning national park in the midst of pristine nature, is really what Costa Rica should be about. The level of service, the gorgeous food, the incredible location is unparalleled in the country. The owners are passionate and inspirational people and in the end that shows in everything they do.

Room tip: find a beach cabana by the sea - they are wonderful
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBernstein1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews