We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato golfo dulce outdoor shower scarlet macaws ceiba tree bioluminescence tour local guide every meal resident biologist plunge pool pura vida incredible attention to detail italian influence london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone beach picnic
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The two of us spent 4 nights at the Golfo Dulce Retreat in early February 2019. The weather was perfect as was our vacation at this wonderful lodge.

This place has a lot to offer for nature lovers. We had the opportunity to see a wide variety of wildlife of all kind. More specifically it is a pretty good spot for birdwatchers (like us). There are only 3 cabins available on the property, so it is tranquility guaranteed! The cabin we had was spacious, practical and decorated with great taste. Speaking of taste, the food there was exquisite with many homemade products (yogurt, bread, jam, ice cream, pasta …) and with super fresh catch of the day fish dishes from the nearby gulf.

Simon & Chantelle, the friendly owners of the property, will do everything they can to make your stay at the lodge a great experience. The various tours offered on the surrounding Golfo Dulce are a must. We had the opportunity to explore the mangroves, to do some snorkeling, to see dolphins and to experience the unreal “bioluminescence” at night. Chantelle can organize any such tours for you in the blink of an eye. Everybody over there were really nice. We had great time with the boat driver and with the resident biologists that were there during our stay.

To conclude we give a note of 5/5 because we only have good comments about this place.

Richard and Sylvie, Québec, Canada

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RD123Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you only go to one place in Costa Rica, go here. If you go to more than one place, make sure this is your last stop. If you start here and go other places, your trip will be spent in the disappointed state of noticing that nothing you do after GDR will quite live up to the splendor of your experience here—honestly.

We were two families traveling with a twelve and a thirteen-year old. Each of the smaller cabinas perfectly accommodated a family of three. We loved the activities that were offered and also enjoyed doing little else other than lazily floating in the pool while looking up at the Scarlet Macaws as they flew about the forest canopy.

Simon and Chantelle, along with the staff, work diligently behind the scenes to provide stunningly delicious meals, wonderfully clean and beautifully decorated accommodations, as well as effortless transportation to and from the retreat as well as the activities.

We will be back to enjoy this special corner of the world again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TrippyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a month on the road in CR we treated ourselves to the divine GD Retreat. Thank you Chantalle and Simon for making our last few days just perfect. Only three cabins, not for those looking for air conditioned boxes - instead stylish (Italian influence of course Chantalle) fan cooled mini houses with outdoor showers; showering surrounded by jungle like a shampoo advert. The Sala for meals and socialising or just chilling and reading tastefully decorated in muted greys and blues. Best of all the enormous plunge pool that is the Golfo Dulce. At last we were able to swim without fear of rip tides. Paddle boarding and kayaking in calm clean waters and no one to watch us fall in. Wildlife especially birds, the squawking Macaws! Perfect.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

My husband and I had been travelling around Costa Rica for two weeks and we were desperately looking for a place to unwind, immerse ourselves in nature and eat well. We came across Golfo Dulce Retreat almost at the last minute and we loved it. With the benefit of hindsight I wish we had spent our entire vacation here instead of going from one overcrowded destination to another. In the end we realised that this special corner of the country, only accessible by boat and surrounded by a stunning national park in the midst of pristine nature, is really what Costa Rica should be about. The level of service, the gorgeous food, the incredible location is unparalleled in the country. The owners are passionate and inspirational people and in the end that shows in everything they do.

Room tip: find a beach cabana by the sea - they are wonderful
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBernstein1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

If somebody ask me how heaven should be, I would say it should be like Golfo Dulce Retreat. Simon and Chantelle built their own heaven. We are very grateful to be part of the dream. We traveled a lot around the world. I can easily say Golfo Dulce Retreat is the best magical place that we have ever visited. Previously even if we liked a lot, we have never stayed in same place second time.. Golfo Dulce Retreat will be first place that we stay multiple times.

Golfo Dulce was the second part of our trip. We stayed for three nights. We have two little daughters. They were three years old and twenty months old when we visited.

Chantelle and Simon took care all details. They shared all toys with our little ones. They did everything to make our kids feel comfortable and happy. It could not be better.

All meals that we ate was very delicious. I had high expectation before come. Golfo Dulce surpassed my expectations. Even our picky younger daughter was super happy with foods.

Wildlife was amazing. Our little ones learned too many things about wildlife and rain forest although they are too young.

Tours were also great and so fun. They took care all single details and our requests. We did beach picnic, dolphin watching, mangrove tours with our little ones and I went for night bioluminescence with my wife while Chantelle's lovely young neighbor was taking care our kids.

I definitely recommend Golfo Dulce for visiting with little kids. But! You have to really watch the younger toddlers all the time. Wildlife is everywhere. That is not the place that you can sit relax while little ones are alone at outside . If you feel ready for this, Golfo Dulce will be most magical place for you!

Room tip: You can't go wrong. All cabinas are perfectly designed by respecting nature.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeziyozBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews