We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
67
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato outdoor shower bioluminescence tour golfo dulce every meal scarlet macaws resident biologist ceiba tree london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone italian food fresh water swimming pool calm bay the local hot spots locally grown produce waterfall hike
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The incredible reviews of Golfo Dulce Retreat say it all. It’s a very special and unique place and we were genuinely moved when it was time to leave. The work done by Simon and Chantelle is inspirational. Thank you from the bottom of our heart.

Room tip: Only 3 bungalows and they are all beautiful
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoad20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to the Osa Peninsula for more than 20 years mostly around Matapalo. This year we wanted to try something different and we chose instead to go to the other side of the Golfo Dulce and stay at one of the three ecolodges on that coast. We chose Golfo Dulce Retreat and we are so glad we found this little gem hidden away in the rainforest of Piedras Blancas National Park. The lodge is absolutely stunning, located on a wild pebbly beach with hardly anybody or any construction in sight. The accommodation lies slightly more inland at the edge of the rainforest. All of the tours and various walks begin right at the retreat. The are no car journeys to take or long walks along dusty roads. Everything is at your door step and for us that was a huge positive. The activities themselves are real adventures passionately organised by the owners who actually live at the retreat. They know all the secrets of the gulf and the rainforest and they are so enthusiastic about their guest having the best possible time. The level of service easily compares to a 5 star hotel but with a personal touch that we have never encountered in our travels in Costa Rica or around the world for that matter. Thank you to everyone at GDR for such fantastic experience!

Room tip: the Suite is gorgeous
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank willstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Golfo Dulce Retreat last September for 7 nights. We had high expectations after reading so many positive reviews but I have to stay we were completely overwhelmed by the gorgeous setting, the incredible service and the 5 star food. Our Cabina was impeccably furnished with so much attention to detail. The soaps, the sheets, the flowers the decor were gorgeous and you can tell immediately that there is so much thought behind every single detail. We did a few tours including a few whale watching outings (we saw whales and dolphins every single time), mangroves and bioluminescence and each one was really special, tailored to our needs. I miss so much waking up in the morning and sipping my cup of exquisite coffee while being in complete peace. Saying goodbye brought me to tears. This is truly a one of a kind, really really special place.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SandraJL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you can afford it, this is a fantastic place to visit. You get a lot of nature up and close both in the rainforest and the golf. The retreat is very esthetic, calm and beautiful. The food is the best italian kitchen and the hosts and people working there will make sure that all your needs are fulfilled. Total luxury. Thank you very much for a taking so good care for our family. We will return next time we come to Costa Rica, probably in August or September when the humpbacks are calving.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristianStabJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My mum and I stayed at Golfo Dulce Retreat In August for 5 nights. After spending two weeks in Costa Rica we were quite ready to go back home, but once we got to the retreat we hoped time would stop!
The owner Chantel took us around the beautiful gardens, explaining the difference of all the amazing flowers and plants they have. Her husband Simon showed us their hydro plant and explained how they make 100% of their electricity using their small stream. It was more educational than any day at school!
Our cabina was really bright and modern with a beautiful handmade mirror and with many other beautiful details. It was near a big breadfruit tree and in the evenings we saw many wild pigs feeding in the fallen fruit.
The food was delicious and with really authentic Italian flavours using many ingredients they either grow or source from a nearby farm. The cakes in the afternoon were really yummy.
We visited the mangroves and kayaked along the canals with one of their visiting biologists, which we would highly recommend. We saw many dolphins on the way there too.
The highlight of our stay was seeing breaching humpback whales, which visit the gulf in August.
So many amazing things happened during our stay it is impossible to include everything.
We can’t wait to go back and bring the rest of our family. Thank you for a holiday of a lifetime! Pura Vida!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank francialde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews