We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
67
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato outdoor shower bioluminescence tour golfo dulce every meal scarlet macaws resident biologist ceiba tree london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone italian food fresh water swimming pool calm bay the local hot spots locally grown produce waterfall hike
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 67 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2019

We spent four wonderful and amazing days @golfodulceretreat. Thank you for this exceptional experience and making us feel at home in your little paradise. The food was a treat we were truly looking forward before each meal and we will miss every single dish. Nature pure, literally at your doorstep if you want to go and discover the rainforest, the primary forest and the mangroves. We visited after receiving a recommandation from friends and it is our great pleasure to assure you that we were grateful and enjoyed every minute of it! If you are looking for peace and quiet but still being among the noises of the rainforest as well as enjoying a luxurious but cosy place, then I would say, do not look further!
Thank you Chantelle & Simon & all the team! Pura Vida and all the best!

Room tip: The cabinas are wonderfully located among the gardens There are only a few cabinas and other guests so it feels very exclusive and privat.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V7719HFannap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

Without a doubt one of our favorite places we ever stayed at. From the time we booked online to the time we departed everything was absolutely perfect. Level of detail and attention compares to any 5 star hotel.
Cabin was extremely comfortable, the hosts were extremely friendly, professional, and very flexible with our requests.
Scenery was beautiful, it was a wonderful experience to stay in such a rich, peaceful and quiet natural environment.
Food was phenomenal, everything was homemade, diverse and catered to our dietary restrictions.
Excursions are awesome, you learn a lot about the Rainforest, the Mangrove, local animals and birds.
Simon and Chantelle are very unique people who created a magical place, one which we hope to return soon.
We highly recommend the retreat since it is a one-of-a-kind experience.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

I had a wonderful time at Golfo Dulce Retreat! It is just the right balance between comfort and luxurity and being surrounded by nature in a secluded space in the middle of the rainforest.
My highlights were the outdoor shower (loved the almond body wash that was provided!), the coffee that was on the porch every morning and that I could enjoy in my hammock watching the sun slowly rise over the rainforest and the dolphins that surprised us every time we took the boat to go somewhere! Chantelle and Simone created a personal and familiar atmosphere, while still giving me all the space for myself that I was looking for.
The food couldn’t have been any better and all my intolerances and food preferences have been met. The tours have been great as well – informative, personal and so much fun!
This was for sure not my last visit to Golfo Dulce Retreat and I can highly recommend to anyone who is visiting Costa Rica!

Room tip: The suite had the first rays of sunshine in the morning!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Golfo Dulce Retreat in November and had an amazing time. The location is perfect, deep into the national park yet only a stroll away from the calm waters of the gulf. We were immediately taken aback by the attention to detail - nothing goes unnoticed to Chantelle and Simon the owners.
All the structures are really beautiful, including the elegant and relaxing restaurant area (full of rugs, hammocks and candles at night), our Suite (go fo it!), the beautiful jungle pool with its wooden deck and of course the lovely huts dotted around the deserted beach. This is the perfect place to relax and marvel at nature.
We saw lots of wildlife during our 4-day visit, including plenty of toucans, scarlet macaws and parrots. Squirrel monkeys passed above our heads one day while we were in the beautiful jungle pool. Not to mention the dolphins we saw on our way to the mangroves.
A special mention goes to the food!Truly delicious, all freshly made (yoghurt, jams, pasta, breads are all made daily in their beautiful kitchen) and presented in the most elegant way. By far the best food we had in Costa Rica.
We could go on and on really....
Gracias, we will be back for sure!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank floramod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Our Stay at Golf Dulce Retreat simply blew us away! The best genuine wildlife experience you could possibly imagine (with THE best food in Costa Rica included). We actually travelled here in May and it was such an amazing once in a lifetime experience (in saying that we will be going back) that it has taken us this long to be able to convey how amazing Golf Dulce Retreat is!! Chantelle and Simon made us feel so welcome and were more than happy to accommodate our crazy wish-list. Waking up amongst Scarlett Macaws and Toucans (+ so much more) was a dream come true. Special thanks to Augustine and Steve for their incredible knowledge and hospitality. Thanks so much, Chris and Erin :)

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wildaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews