We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
56
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower bioluminescence tour gelato resident biologist golfo dulce every meal scarlet macaws ceiba tree london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone italian food fresh water swimming pool calm bay the local hot spots locally grown produce blue sky
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 56 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Our Stay at Golf Dulce Retreat simply blew us away! The best genuine wildlife experience you could possibly imagine (with THE best food in Costa Rica included). We actually travelled here in May and it was such an amazing once in a lifetime experience (in saying that we will be going back) that it has taken us this long to be able to convey how amazing Golf Dulce Retreat is!! Chantelle and Simon made us feel so welcome and were more than happy to accommodate our crazy wish-list. Waking up amongst Scarlett Macaws and Toucans (+ so much more) was a dream come true. Special thanks to Augustine and Steve for their incredible knowledge and hospitality. Thanks so much, Chris and Erin :)

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wildaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Out stay at GDR was even more wonderful than we had already expected it to be! For all of us it was definitely the highlight of our vacation. It was truly paradise: While swimming in the warm water of Golfo Dulce we saw dolphins, macaws and a turtle, on the Mangrove tour (don‘t miss it!) we spottet whales, devil rays, various birds and a racoon, there were howler monkeys, capuchins and squirrel monkeys in the trees of the retreat’s wonderful tropical garden as well as agoutis, lizards, iguanas, and on the exciting night walk guided by two very smart young biologists we were shown frogs, a snake, pond turtles and even a small crocodile! Honestly, there was no other place in CR where we could observe such a variety of wildlife. However, GDR does not only offer exciting tours and activities (they even provide kayaks and snorkeling gear), it is also the perfect place to relax. We spent many hours playing card games in the open restaurant area or reading a book in one of the cozy hammocks while listening to the gentle sound of the warm afternoon rain in the rainforest. The cabinas are beautiful and comfortable, you can fall asleep and wake up to the sounds of the jungle and the animals.
The hosts, Chantelle and Simon, are wonderful and are always there for you, answering any questions you might have about the reserve, their unique retreat or the wildlife.
The food was exceptional. Every meal we had was homemade, fresh (fish was caught the same day), delicious and prepared with such a great attention to detail. We wouldn‘t be the only ones who would love to buy a recipe book if Chantelle ever decides to write one...
Long story short: Don‘t miss Golfo Dulce Retreat! It is heaven on earth and will make your Costa Rica vacation unforgettable!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank marah_ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Golfo Dulce Retreat overwhealmed us in all possible respects - wonderful location, extremely tastefully designed and comfortable villas, fantastic (!) homecooked food (owners originate from Italy), beautyfully kept "jungle gardens" with so many wild animals living and visiting, most attentive staff and truly lovely owners! As a luxury segment travel agent I have travelled to many of CR's top lodges - this one was all in all by far the best! Even the excursions were better than in most other places. Don't miss the bioluminescence and the mangroves tours! And on top of it, GDR has a zero waste policy. A place out of this world and a must in your travel itinerary if you love both, nature and not exaggerated luxury.Thank you Chantelle and Simon for this magical experience! Hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steinerwartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Our stay at Golfo Dulce Retreat was wonderful. We were looking for a peaceful place away from the crowds and immersed in nature and we were so happy with our choice. The hotel sits in its own rainforest reserve surrounded by a national park and has easy access to a 2 mile long beach. It’s only reachable by boat so there is hardly anybody around. The retreat was very peaceful, such a relaxing place where you can really appreciate nature at its best. We saw many animals, frogs, incredible insects, beautiful toucans and macaws and an incredible number of dolphins when we went for a tour to the nearby mangroves (don’t miss it!). The food was excellent, always made with the freshest ingredients and to a very high standard. The attention to detail was extraordinary. We stayed at 3 of the top 5 rated hotels in Costa Rica for our holiday and for us this was by far the best.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zopissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Incredible stay with the lovely warm family that run the business. The accommodation is gorgeous and chic with great charm and privacy. Particularly endearing are the wooden furnishings, stone sinks and outdoor showers. The restaurant area is simultaneously cosy and open. The food is a fantastic blend of authentic Italian with fresh produce from the jungle. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fish and fruits. The beach and surrounding nature is second to none. I was lucky enough to go on several of the packages - visiting the waterfalls and mangroves, whale/dolphin watching, snorkelling and night swimming in the bioluminescence. All were beyond fantastic and unforgettable experiences.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HayleyZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews