We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bioluminescence tour gelato resident biologist outdoor shower plunge pool golfo dulce every meal tree frogs ceiba tree london restaurant poison dart highly recommend this place to anyone italian food calm bay the local hot spots locally grown produce blue sky
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Our stay at Golfo Dulce Retreat was wonderful. We were looking for a peaceful place away from the crowds and immersed in nature and we were so happy with our choice. The hotel sits in its own rainforest reserve surrounded by a national park and has easy access to a 2 mile long beach. It’s only reachable by boat so there is hardly anybody around. The retreat was very peaceful, such a relaxing place where you can really appreciate nature at its best. We saw many animals, frogs, incredible insects, beautiful toucans and macaws and an incredible number of dolphins when we went for a tour to the nearby mangroves (don’t miss it!). The food was excellent, always made with the freshest ingredients and to a very high standard. The attention to detail was extraordinary. We stayed at 3 of the top 5 rated hotels in Costa Rica for our holiday and for us this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zopissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Incredible stay with the lovely warm family that run the business. The accommodation is gorgeous and chic with great charm and privacy. Particularly endearing are the wooden furnishings, stone sinks and outdoor showers. The restaurant area is simultaneously cosy and open. The food is a fantastic blend of authentic Italian with fresh produce from the jungle. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fish and fruits. The beach and surrounding nature is second to none. I was lucky enough to go on several of the packages - visiting the waterfalls and mangroves, whale/dolphin watching, snorkelling and night swimming in the bioluminescence. All were beyond fantastic and unforgettable experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HayleyZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

It’s difficult to add much after so many raving reviews. We had high expectations and yet we were completely blown away: Golfo Dulce Retreat is amazing! We went for one of the adventure packages which included so many wonderful activities which really made the most of our time and added so much to our understanding of the rainforest. We went to the mangroves with kayaks, hiked to the waterfall, fished at sunset and walked around the garden with chantelle the owner who has a great knowledge of plants and their uses. The pool was great, the food was exceptional, our suite was superb and the attention to detail was incredible. Golfo Dulce Retreat has become our favourite place in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All three Cabinas are amazing but make sure you book a package!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariaonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

From all our travels, our stay at Golfo Dulce Retreat will remain one of our all-time favorites.
This place is so special for so many reasons :
- First, the incredible staff: the owners, Chantal and Simon, did everything they could to make us feel so comfortable and make us have the best time.
We also greatly enjoyed the other employees, from the biologists which were eager to teach us many things about the nature and the animals, to the local guides which were specific to each activity to make it very special every time.
- The delicious food, definitely the best we have had in Costa Rica ! Everything is home made, the food is varied and so tasty. We were so excited every time we were served a meal, from breakfast, to lunch, to tea-time and dinner !
- The retreat is in such a remote place, so calm and far away from other tourists. We are not the biggest adventurers, but we really enjoyed discovering all this wildlife and we were so amazed at the variety of animals that we were brought to seeing, from the monkeys and toucans right next to our cabin one day, to all the Dolphins playing around the boat after our fishing activity the next day.
- We had taken a package with several activities (artisanal fishing, night tour, mangroves tour, waterfall hike) and we loved each and every one of them. Everything was so well organized and so much fun!
It is difficult to find all the words to describe this amazing place, but really, do not hesitate twice and book your stay at the retreat, you will not be disappointed !

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank FrisouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We have been coming to Costa Rica for 20 years and while we still love the country we can see tourism taking its toll in many places especially during high season. Luckily Golfo Dulce remains to this day an unspoilt gem. So wild, solitary and unique. Within this gem we have discovered another one this year - Golfo Dulce Retreat! We had an amazing experience which went well beyond what we were expecting from such a remote lodge located in the middle of primary rainforest. All the structures are wonderful and really well thought out by Simon and Chantal the two welcoming owners. We really enjoyed the food which was excellent, the swimming pool immersed in the rainforest and the little beach huts so relaxing and perfectly located right on the beach with great views of the ocean. Thank you so much for such a memorable time. We will be back.

Room Tip: go for the suite. the plunge pool is great!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gabrielmuller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews