We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly comfortable and greatest pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Rifle, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly comfortable and greatest pool!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel was a gem in disguise; hidden on a dirt road in Golfito, it was the most comfortable stay. The hotel itself was very classy and clean, as the rooms had great a/c and classy working accommodations. My favorite part of our stay was the extravagant pool that was located just across the road from the hotel; a nice roomy layout of comfy umbrella covered pool lounge chairs and a unique shaped, large pool. The setting was so great as small commuter planes would fly over the pool, with the lush sightings of pure jungle surrounding; it was surreal. If you would like a fair priced, lush comfortable stay in a less than entertaining town of Golfito, I highly recommend staying at Casa Roland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
43
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was a Beautiful hotel, clean, great pool, nice beds linens and pillows. What we didn't like was the restaurant menu very limited. It is 2.5 km from the water taxi to San Jaminez, and there is no other restaurants within walking distance.
The servers in the pool and restaurant were not very attentive, and the activities director could not speak english and they were not helpful with information to the corcovado National park OR the tour they provided.

Room Tip: Beautiful accommodations, a bit pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spend four days three nights in Casa Roland in Golfito Costa Rica.

Every year or so we go shopping in the tax free zone in Golfito and the close by border to Panama. We have to stay at least two nights in order to get all the stuff done, and over the years we tried out several places there. They all take advantage shoppers like us, but some do more then others, Casa Roland was an extreme, they have highest room rates and the worst offering for the money. The rooms shown on the website and on several travel sites are NOT the rooms one get when making the reservation. I thought that USD 150,- per night would get me at least an outside window and a decent breakfast but this was too much to ask. We got a room in the basement, a dark hole where we couldn't' t even see daylight. All the ceilings from all those rooms there are only seven feet high. It was like living in a cave for three days !

To get to the pool all hotel guests have to cross a dusty gravel road dividing the hotel grounds into two different properties. The pool area was totally occupied by locals, mostly underage teenagers and mom's with their small children. Needless to say that youngsters jumping into the pool, crying kids and overall loud locals kill all holiday feelings at once. The hotels speaker system was blasting latino reaggea rap in the pool area and restaurant during the entire afternoon. As it turned out, the hotel sells "Day pases" for only two dollars to the youngsters and for four dollars to the adults with kids under six hears. The food quality at the restaurant was average at best with the prices on the menu in US dollars. No problem there but when we asked for the check, we got billed in colones, the local currency, at THE HOTELS exchange rate which was of course much higher then the banks.

The breakfast room was nice, but the breakfast was exactly the same as sold all over Costa Rica in every little " Soda Restaurant" at the street corner for USD 4,- each. Rice with beans, scrambled eggs, some cut up sausage, platanos, coffee milk and flakes. Everyday the exact same thing.

There is NO beach or marina even close by, the nice rooms advertised everywhere are in the first floor and cost USD 230,-and up. The parking has a guard house but was empty all the time. Missing bath towels and the total absence of pool towels are normal.

After one hot day of shopping when we got back to the hotel we thought we enjoy the pool for a little while but we where force to leave the pool and surroundings because of an arriving wedding party, locals of course. Hotel guest had to get out of the water and clear the sun beds around the pool at 3.00pm!

Looking back now on those days, we felt cheated and ripped off by the hotel and abused by the pricing.

Other hotels in Golfito charge half the price and offer the same !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 752Martin1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Casa Roland was a beautiful little gem. Perfect for an overnight before we caught our boat to Play Nicuesa in the morning. They opened the restaurant just for us as we were late getting in and even sent us with a boxed breakfast in the morning since we left so early. Our room was very pretty and the lobby and restaurant were absolutely gorgeous for such a small place. Much more than we expected for our stopover.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IUMANGO212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

helped make our stay very accommodating. courteous staff enabled us take part in the country club like setting... enormous pools, tennis, rec room, etc. kids enjoyed it. we will be back as the strawberry waffles really made their mornings. wifi by the pool was plus as was the big screens showing the playoff events. certainly a hotel that could host large parties. nice layout!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVRYFKNDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa potreero
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When going to Golfito there is only one reason to go there and that is to buy a new appliance or TV in the duty free zone. You must stay over night to be eligible for duty free. The Roland is by far the nicest hotel in the area. The staff at reception had limited english so they were not overly accommodating with our questions. After you get past the recption it really is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melgertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Location is not the best, it's within Golfito's city limits without bay view. But pool is awesome (even though there were not enough towels). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good and included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tico_puravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golfito hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
11.6 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#7 of 11 in Golfito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
7.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
4.2 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland Golfito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland Golfito

Property: Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Address: Calle Zona Americana, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Roland Golfito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito, the best you can stay in this rea of Costa Rica, offers 50 luxury rooms, included Master Suite and Junior Suites.Luxury Bar and restaurante, SPA, pool, tranquil, comfortable, friendly, close to Golfito airport field. Enjoy a day trip by boat to our secluded beach club, 20 minutes away.Or let us get you inmerse in the rainfores close to the property. We also offer some of the best sportfishing in the world, saifish, marlin, wahoo etc. Don't miss this unexplored part of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland Golfito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing