We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is truly Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I just returned from visiting the Rafiki Lodge last week. I am already dreaming and planning my return trip!
We were stopped in a restaurant in Manuel Antonio by a lady raving about her experience and so with that we decided to take a chance and I am so thankful we did!
The Boshoff family is warm, inviting, educated about Costa Rica and the staff is just phenomenal as well. They are working on a Tapir project to bring back the endangered species to their property and it's very interesting to learn about. My friends and I were even lucky enough to meet Constant! Our raft guide Randol was fantastic, we even got to "swim" twice!! But got to leave our mark in their legendary "swim team" book because of it :)
If you do anything while in Costa Rica this is a must. Believe me it's worth every penny. I plan to rent a tent next time we go because there was just not enough time to see it all!! PURA VIDA! Thank you Boshoff's you truly have created paradise, thanks for sharing it!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxoBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 409 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

If you would like to be wowed, and have the most unique, sincere, exciting, fun adventure than look no further!!!! If you stay on the premises you stay in a Safari fancy tent with a first class bathroom in your tent. If you are staying in or around town they will come get you to stay or for a days adventure. The owners, and entire staff are just wonderful and provided us with the most beautiful day of river rafting. The lunch they served us on natural palm leaf place mats with fresh flowers was not only 5 star quality but so from the heart that it will always make me smile. Thank you for a memorable experience and I look forward to seeing you next year....I can not wait!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Get away from the city, get away from the lights, noise, people, and enter the true Costa Rica wilderness.

On arrival we were welcomed in first class style with a refreshing frozen drink and a quick explanation of the property.

From there we went on a hike up the side of the nearest mountain crossing streams and encountering wildlife along the way.

Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner all outstanding and the dinners prepared by an up and coming South African chef who prepared wonderful dishes in the middle of a rain forest!

The horseback riding and rafting was exceptional and if you have the background and experience I highly recommend the 3 person mini rafts!

The water slide is a blast.

More importantly we got to spend the evenings drinking and chatting with the staff learning about the local culture and life and getting a better understanding of the people of Costa Rica!

Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinInCDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a place!!!! This lodge topped our entire trip. This was a very authentic experience with a top notch lodge and top notch service. Our host was amazing and we were treated to some of the best experiences, horseback riding and river rafting. The food was the best and the cocktails were even better. I would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisabeth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stumbled upon Rafiki when we booked a rafting trip with them through our hotel. Without a doubt, it was the most enjoyable part of our Costa Rican experience. The lodge is beautiful, the setting is fabulous and the food was some of the best we had in Costa Rica. The attention to detail is amazing. Halfway through our rafting trip, we stopped for lunch in the rain forest. The food was delicious of course, but the setting was what wowed us-tropical flowers, palm leave placemats...

We will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank MichiganLellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My partner and I and our 14 year old nephew, as well as frinds of ours just got back from a fantastic weekend at Rafiki.
This was not our first trip, and will surely not be our last.
We have been coming to Costa Rica for more then 15 years, and anytime that I feel like I need a real shot of Costa Rica adventure, hospitality and peacefulness, then Rafiki is our choice.
We also have property in Manuel Antonio, near by, which has beauty, good food and service, but I have to say that it comes together in a much more special way at the lodge.
It feels like we're home, but a home where we get taken care of exceptionally well.
Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pranaspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stopped at Rafiki along our overland expedition through Central America, so we had the chance to drive our own vehicles into the lodge. The drive in started the adventure, and it was a beautiful dirt road through the hills. The location of the lodge is idealic, nestled in a river valley and surrounded with lush jungle. The slide was SO FUN, and the river trips and nature walks were all exceptional. A wonderful adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Province of Puntarenas hotels
11.7 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
11.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,686 reviews
11.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
611 reviews
12 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
468 reviews
12.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 717 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range: $271 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing