We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth the drive even if you can't stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eatonville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the drive even if you can't stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were unable to spend the night at this beautiful place but at least wanted to at least see it. It was one of our trip highlights! The staff here is so friendly and welcoming even though we were only day-visitors. They gave us a map to hike the trails, put out fruit to draw in some of their gorgeous wild birds, and welcomed us to try out their very-fast and fun waterslide. We enjoyed lunch and fruit smoothies at their restaurant while taking in the ambiance of this pretty place and being constantly distracted by an abundance of wild birds. We easily saw crested guan and trogons on the trails and up-close views of woodpeckers, tanagers, and euphonia at the feeders. This place is delightful, even just for a day-trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
161
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great staff and beautiful location! White water rafting with them has been AMAZING (we have been twice already and plan to do it another 2 times)! Looking forward to trying out a few of the other tours they offer. Very organized and professional! We did not stay at the lodge, but did take a quick tour - the rooms are very clean and looked great! We have loved Rafiki every visit!!!! Make sure to go down the water slide while there :o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the best bang for your buck in Costa Rica We did not stay at the lodge but scheduled a one day river water rafting trip for 6 people. We were picked up at our villa and after about an hour drive arrived at the Rafiki Safari Lodge. After given a tour of the lodge we were fed a full breakfast before heading out to the river where we started from. We had a brief orientation and safety talk and then we were on our way! Our guide was Rolando......if there is anything you do......don't forget that name. Rolando was an incredible guide. As a native he was extremely knowledgeable. His english was perfect! He stopped at various times during the trip to show us plants, trees, and wildlife. He even takes pictures! We gave him the camera and during the stops, he pulled it out and took the pictures. After river rafting for awhile we stopped for lunch. A full delicious lunch. We then headed back out for more river rafting and even stopped at a waterfall. Did I say how good our guide Rolando was???? Can't say enough about this entire trip. The owners were very friendly, the food was delicious, the guide was fantastic. Everyone on the trip commented about how this was money well spent! We would definitely do it again and would go back to Rafiki Safari Lodge.....maybe even stay there a night or two. Remember.....ask for Rolando! I am sure all there guides are good but if your going to Costa Rica, might as well as for the best. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our fifth trip to Costa Rica, and to Rafiki . After visiting about ten places in country, we split the last two trips between there and the other enchanting destination owned by the same family now called Rafiki Beach Camp. The Safari Lodge location is paradise. It is on the Rio Savegre with wildlife that is a dream to this photographer. You will not need to walk more than 100 feet to find amazing songbirds (go down by the boards in trees with plantains for the first 90 minutes after sunrise and before sunset), the odd Tucan that scares songbirds away for a few minutes, and egrets, herons and other shorebirds in the pond. You can also choose between hiking, rafting, horseback riding and the"aquawalk." That starts with a raft trip down the river. Then you hike up next to waterfalls and up a stream bed about 750 vertical feet to a very small village, have lunch there, and hike back down to the raft on the river to complete the journey. Next to the restaurant is a most interesting suspension footbridge about 130' above the gorge, and about 400' in length.The first unnamed waterfall is about 75' high and people usually stop to swim at the base. The second is about 50' high and you can dive off the third which is only 15' high.
The family that runs the lodge is terrific. The same people are still working there since our first visit in 2008. It has a woderful family atmosphere. IT also features a true chef in the middle of no where. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capture_The_Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

* Although they do have wireless & cell coverage.
I am still on the plane leaving Costa Rica, after spending a fantastic week at Rafiki with my two kids. A family owned business, Rafiki is more than just a place to stay; as my daughter put it she felt like she was at home. A warm staff will make you feel that way, the food is fantastic and there are plenty of activities to choose from. My youngest kid especially could not imagine being without his X-Box for so long, but both my kids have come back different, with a real appreciation for the natural world. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in the Manuel Antonio area and are looking for a white water rafting adventure, be sure to give these folks a try. An rafting package that includes transportation, breakfast (traditional Costa Rican, yum!), picnic lunch, and the rafting cost $95 per person, which is great considering you are looking at the better part of an entire day. After eating breakfast we were given a tour of the lodge including the safari tents and also given free run of their water slide. Then we got down to business. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and the rafting of course was spectacular in both the thrill of the ride as well as the immersion into flora and fauna (to which the guide was knowledgable). After our return to the Lodge we had a few minutes to consume some cold ones at their bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SpartaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been on the rafting trip three other times which is alot of fun. The guides are alot of fun and very experenced. The lodge is very nice and the breakfast/lunch they service is okay.

They have new managers of the lodge (Owners son) and his wife. She was nice and let us take a look at one the of tent rooms which are great. Concerning the owners son he was not very professional and was chewing tobacco and did not seem to enjoys his work.

I know some of the business in C/R are family owned but while we were there the Dad and Mom
had the kids toys every where. Maybe have an area in the back for family stuff? The wife asked us to pay early and purchase items in the gift shop because the family (owners) would not be around at the end of the rafting trip. I know it was a slow day but....

I hope this review helps the new managers out but the other son did a better job running the lodge. When we want to raft again we will be looking else where in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of Puntarenas
11.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
22.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
12.0 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
22.0 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Property: Rafiki Safari Lodge
Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 567 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing