We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Anti-Technology Vacation*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Anti-Technology Vacation*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

* Although they do have wireless & cell coverage.
I am still on the plane leaving Costa Rica, after spending a fantastic week at Rafiki with my two kids. A family owned business, Rafiki is more than just a place to stay; as my daughter put it she felt like she was at home. A warm staff will make you feel that way, the food is fantastic and there are plenty of activities to choose from. My youngest kid especially could not imagine being without his X-Box for so long, but both my kids have come back different, with a real appreciation for the natural world. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
161
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in the Manuel Antonio area and are looking for a white water rafting adventure, be sure to give these folks a try. An rafting package that includes transportation, breakfast (traditional Costa Rican, yum!), picnic lunch, and the rafting cost $95 per person, which is great considering you are looking at the better part of an entire day. After eating breakfast we were given a tour of the lodge including the safari tents and also given free run of their water slide. Then we got down to business. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and the rafting of course was spectacular in both the thrill of the ride as well as the immersion into flora and fauna (to which the guide was knowledgable). After our return to the Lodge we had a few minutes to consume some cold ones at their bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SpartaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been on the rafting trip three other times which is alot of fun. The guides are alot of fun and very experenced. The lodge is very nice and the breakfast/lunch they service is okay.

They have new managers of the lodge (Owners son) and his wife. She was nice and let us take a look at one the of tent rooms which are great. Concerning the owners son he was not very professional and was chewing tobacco and did not seem to enjoys his work.

I know some of the business in C/R are family owned but while we were there the Dad and Mom
had the kids toys every where. Maybe have an area in the back for family stuff? The wife asked us to pay early and purchase items in the gift shop because the family (owners) would not be around at the end of the rafting trip. I know it was a slow day but....

I hope this review helps the new managers out but the other son did a better job running the lodge. When we want to raft again we will be looking else where in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed at Rafiki for three nights and had a great time. The lodge is located quite a ways inland from the Coast Highway on an unpaved road. So be prepared to drive, but it is worth it.

The breakfasts and lunches were great. The dinners were pretty good, but I wish we had a typical Costa Rican dinner options each night.

The mixed drinks by Ann were very good, even though she has just been bartending for 3 weeks- she is a fast learner!

The check in process could have been a little better- we weren't really shown where anything was- we had to ask about things like when dinner and breakfast were, where is the pool, etc. We also were not shown to our room for quite awhile- we were just sitting not sure what to do. I think this is because of some new staff?

Our room had a very pleasant view and

Overall, we had a great time and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the posh bathroom in the middle of a tent! Staff was very nice and accomodating. Went white water rafting and staff was superb! Have to go down the water slide at least once but definitely hold on to your top!!! This is definitely a treat in the middle of the rainforest!

Room Tip: Book a tent further away from the others if you are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did a white water rafting excursion with Rafiki in May 2012. We were picked up from our resort in Manuel Antonio and brought to Rafiki Lodge. The lodge was pretty amazing! We were served an fantastic typical costa rican breakfast and got to play around on the lodge's water slide. Then we left for our trip. Because of the small group, we were split up into 2 small rafts with 2 people plus 1 guide in each boat. The water was tons of fun and the guides incredible!!!! We also got a great lunch and were able to trek to an amazing waterfall. One of the top highlights of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I didn't realize until looking to book our next trip that I failed to post our review from June 2012. We had the pleasure of whitewater rafting at Rafiki. We had the extra pleasure of riding to the lodge with the owners, Constant and Ralene. The lodge is beautiful. The food is so yummy and the guides made us feel so safe. Special thanks to Randoll, who was our guide, who made this nervous nelly feel safe on the entire float (even though we joined the "swimmers club"). We cannot wait to return and are looking at dates now for travel. We are planning on staying there in the luxury tents. Don't hesitate to book! Feel free to email if you have any questions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of Puntarenas
11.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
22.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
11.9 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
22.0 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Property: Rafiki Safari Lodge
Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 567 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing