We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Samoa Lodge is a very quiet hotel, perfect for relaxation. You can only get there by boat - the hotel arranges your transportation when you make the reservation. It is quite secluded because you cannot go very far without having to take the boat, but the arranged trips (to the village and to the national park) were very good. The rooms are basic but colourfully decorated. They have no windows, only a screen to keep out the insects. This allows for the rooms to quickly get (slightly) less hot in the evenings and it gets you more in touch with nature as you can hear the sounds of the wildlife at night. The rooms are located in cabins, which are set in a beautifully kept garden. There are some hammocks in the garden to really make you relax. The staff were friendly and the food was pretty good. Compared to some of the other lodges in Tortuguero, this one had fewer guests so more peace and quiet and a more personal approach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Samoa Lodge is a nice place for any traveler like us seeking a peaceful stay; thankfully we had one of the best of it. Boating was fun and also a bit adventurous but getting to see different breeds of wildlife was amazing. Most importantly their pricing pattered seemed strange it was adjustable and not a problem at all. May think of going back again somewhere in the next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker88187331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I and my wife recently spent three great days at this place. It was an enjoyable experience. It is a beautiful and peaceful place. The people at this lodge do a great job. We had the opportunity to see a lot of different wildlife while we were here. The place is well maintained and nicely regulated. You get your meals served at the same timings every day. The place offers lot of fun and comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed the boat rides through the waterways and canals. Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept peacefully there at nights. We wished we could stay for a bit longer at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I made Samoa the first leg of our Caribbean vacation - we did the biggest package - 3 nights - and had a really great time. Transportation from San Jose and back was very comfortable and even enjoyable. We stopped to check out sloths and various wildlife along the way. The lodge staff was fantastic. Our tour guides, Marlon and Luis, were the best. The lodge managers, David and his girlfriend Anna were incredibly nice and accommodating and we found out from them that the lodge's ownership had just changed hands the week before we arrived, and that the property was undergoing many much-needed improvements. Examples: all flatware and dinnerware was replaced by our second night, and gravel was being added to all of the paths that had become muddy from the rains.

The cabin we stayed in was spacious and clean, and sleeping was peaceful. It felt a little bit like summer camp - breakfast at 8, lunch at 1, dinner at 7 every day and planned activities/tours every morning and afternoon (except for our last 2 afternoons - we got free time to go canoeing and to hang out by the pool). There was tons of local wildlife on the lodge grounds as well as throughout the canals, and the canoes we used were in great shape. It was a lot of fun, and the secluded surroundings made it very romantic.

From what we learned, it did not sound like the lodge would have been as great had we arrived 2 weeks prior, but I think the new owner is making an effort to rebuild the lodge's reputation and I would definitely recommend staying there after our experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovespolynesiansauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I do not know how anybody can speak well of this resort.

The appearance is nice (as the rest of resorts around) but I pretended to have an extracharge to be billed in advance. The other few guests in the resort shared the same disgusting experience.

At your risk if you dare to go !!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemmontree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This review is our thank you to everyone, especially Guillermo and Roberto, for making our stay at Samoa Lodge the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. Your friendliness, the warm welcome we received and the wonderful boat rides through the canals and waterways remained at the top of our list for magical experiences in your beautiful country. Roberto and Anselmo showed us more wildlife - birds, caymen, monkeys, turtles, iguana, etc. than we saw anywhere else in the country. The pool was lovely. The room was a bit rustic but it was clean and we were welcomed with hibiscus on the bed and a lovely cocktail at the dock. You can only get here by boat but that is the beauty of this place - quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer for more great conversation and boat rides with Roberto.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VERTIGOER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Roanoke,Virginia
316
Reviewed March 30, 2006

Remote & rustic but,that is what we wanted & expected.Only reached by nearly a hours boat ride.The place needs paint & maintence fix up.Sunday,seems to be a off day for tourd,ect.Myself & two friends decided to go fishing.Different experance to fish where the river meets the,Caribbean ocean.The boat would go out into the ocean,turn back toward the river & it was like a funnel for fish.We caught four largefish,plus the one that got away,lure & all.Of course that was the largest.Took the fish backto the lodge.The chief,from Honduras, was happier than we were.Everyone at the lodge had fish.The chief was so proud,he gave us a tour of the kitchen,showing preperation of the sauce for the fish.The chief has a joyful personality.Dispointed on cancelation of the hiking trip to the,hill of,Tortuguero.

Stayed: March 2006
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,085 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
1.4 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#13 of 34 in Tortuguero
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge

Address: Laguna Penitencia, Tortuguero 70206, Costa Rica (Formerly Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: $112 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Paradise is a true jungle lodge! Everything from great green macaws to howler monkeys are daily sights on this gorgeous property about 15 minutes outside of Tortuguero. On-site walking trails let you get closer to nature, and our outdoor swimming pool is a great place to relax. We offer full service bundles including transportation, meals at our onsite restaurant, and tours in Tortuguero National Park and Barra del Colorado Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Samoa Lodge And Resort Tortuguero
Samoa Hotel Tortuguero
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing