We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Tarpon Lodge

Jungle Tarpon Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Tarpon Lodge
Save
You added Jungle Tarpon Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Potosi, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Jungle Tarpon Lodge is an excellent place to go! My Uncle Mike and friend Mark Grisham traveled there at the beginning of October and stayed 3 nights. We had zero complaints and many good stories to come back with from there. The fishing,food, and service was top notch. Angelo is the best captain I have ever had and I have been on a lot of fishing trips. Thank you
Colin Juliette-Missouri

Room Tip: all the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just returned from a visit to the Jungle Tarpon Lodge in Costa Rica (11/2011) and it was awesome. Angelo the lodge manager was an extremely helpful and knowledgeable fishing guide. Although our trip was mainly for fishing we found the river blown out and Tarpon not so hungry so Angelo took us on a trip through the jungle via boat and a tour of his village, Parsimina. And the food was just as advertised, wholesome, healthy and great tasting. The entire staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodations were great. The only hiccup on our trip was when we arrived in San Jose our luggage did not but Angelo convinced us to travel to the lodge and he would handle the luggage issue and he did. It was delivered to the lodge later that evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn,usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

there is no place for a zero rating. totally false advertising. room only had 2 beds and a table,no chairs and was lit by 2 incandescant bulbs,and a reading light. bathroom was moldy,dirty,and one bulb for light. no curtains on bathroom windows,and the room had thin,poor quality ones that barely stopped the light. we had beans and rice 11 of 12 meals, coimmercial spaghetti the other. advertised as lobster,fresh fish, etc. we had porkchops twice,chicken enchiladas,and the commercial spaghetti for our 4 dinners.the 100 acres is really about 2 that are accessible to you. NO POOL> the lagoon is a muddy inlet off the very muddy river and is barely big enough for the boat.,however small they were. fishing was in 1 approx 14ft jon boat and you had to sit in 3-5 ft breakers to fish,or troll in the river,where we were run off by armed park guards. ocean fishing in a small boat,no live well,a d smelled of gas fumes the entire time.happy hour was advertised.we had none.just 2 bottles of vodka(one flavored),no mix,one type of beer,and no hors d'oerves as advertised.there is so much more,but if you value your dollars and vacation time dont waste it on this dive.the same folks own great alaska fishing, and i would be leary of them also.you talk to the same guy no matter which you choose.wish someone had warned us.

Room Tip: sure.dont book any of them and save yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Jungle Tarpon Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Following a low price Two for One trip, a writer wrote a tough review of our lodge. Earlier and later TA reviews of the same trip gave us 4 & 5 out of 5 stars. Our prices are about 60% of the nearby competition. The guest said nothing while at the lodge & tipped well. The writer demanded a 50% refund or threatened derogatory postings on TA. We proffered a refund of $420. The refund was refused and he turned the complaint into American Express, which denied his claim. He turned the complaint in again to American Express and it was again denied. He cashed the refund check. He then sent a follow up e mail demanding $2000, not $420. He offered to send no further bad reviews and to rescind the subject review if he received the $2000.
I think that says it all. We have built our reputation on customer service, including refunds when justified. We thought it only fair that we post the Rest of the Story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tortuguero hotels

georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

Went to the Jungle Tarpon Lodge and had a great time. The Lodge is nice, ( be careful though, when it rains, and it does, the rooms tend to leak and you play musical beds). The food was great and the people were awesome. I did the eco tours and my husband did the fishing. I must say I made out better than he. Did some kayaking and saw Sloths, Monkeys, crocodiles, many different species of birds, butterflies and frogs. The fishing was not as great. Could not get out to the sea, due to high waves or low tide and nothing biting in the canals. Saw a lot of Tarpon roll, but none were hungry. The guides they have seem to know the area and were with us at all times. Would recommend the Lodge and plan to go again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leady roof
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trickyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
0.0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#5 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Tarpon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Tarpon Lodge

Property: Jungle Tarpon Lodge
Address: Parsimina River lagoon | southern end of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Tarpon Lodge is located near the entrance of Tortuguero National Park, Costa Rica's most famous jungle wilderness and home to an incredible array of birds, animals and nesting Turtles. The lodge caters only to small and intimate groups of Tarpon fishermen and wilderness adventurers. Three to seven day packages provide Caribbean offshore and jungle river angling, all surrounded by the beauty of Costa Rica's most famous National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Tarpon Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing