We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laguna Lodge Tortuguero”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Laguna Lodge Tortuguero”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really enjoyed the stay here as part of an Eco-terra package tour. Beds were comfortable, but it was usually hot in the rooms from mid-morning until bedtime. With open windows, though, the breeze off the ocean made you look for a sheet to cover with by morning. The gardens were very nice with lots of birds, iguanas, and assorted lizards. The beach was a 5-minute walk and we were lucky enough to see a nest of just-hatched turtles ready to head to the water. The jungle boat tours are always good and you should do the 5:30 am one to see the most wildlife. Food was o.k., served buffet style so there can be lines (I would take off a half-star for that). Overall though, I would stay there again and recommend it for anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Underdog_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    377
    86
    30
    8
See reviews for
181
355
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Right up front, you have to consider this hotel is just outside Tortuguero National Park (full of rivers and jungle), and is truly a "lodge" not a "hotel." It is rustic. Nobody warned us before we left, so I'll let you in on an important piece of information - many toilets in Costa Rica (including this lodge) cannot handle toilet paper (there is a trashcan by the toilets). Requires a bit of an adjustment. This is a rustic facility - no phone, TV or amenities (though they do have a pool, although good luck finding a chair or a towel). There is beach access, but you cannot swim there. For the location, and with our reasonable expectations, the lodge was nice. Just know this is no luxury resort.

Room Tip: The doors are not flush to the ground - make sure you get an extra towel and roll between the door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoalieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had the most amazing stay and enjoyed every minute we were here. From the moment our boat docked and we were handed towels to refresh to our departure, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Mario was our tour guide and did a fantastic job of educating us on the wildlife, the culture and the environment. We had a howler monkey outside our room! Iguanas, spider monkeys, capuchin monkeys everywhere! We saw a crocodile and so many species of birds. Such an amazing place and we were so sad to leave. Highly recommend it for nature lovers and families

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Most places that don't have air conditioning, televisions, or drinkable tap water would get a 5 star rating, but because of where the Laguna Lodge is located and the unique opportunities it provides, all of those limitations are quickly forgotten. Besides, it cools off a good deal at night, there are lots of better things to outside than TV, and they provide water coolers at each lodge for drinking.

You know you are staying at a different place when it takes a 45 minute ride on a small boat to reach it. Despite the remote location the staff does its best to provide an excellent experience for guests. The rooms are rustic, but well kept and the grounds are beautiful. A flower garden attracts both humming birds and butterflies right to your door step.

Lizards of various sizes ranging from small anoles, to a two foot basilisks, to a four foot iguanas roam the property. A wide variety of birds also pop in and out.

The guides provided by the lodge did an excellent job of finding monkeys (we saw spider, capuchin, and howlers), caiman, and sloths for us to observe in the surrounding jungle.

Food options are limited but adequate. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served buffet style that usually combine some local options with traditional American food. For example at breakfast you can have pancakes and gallo pinto.

The beach side of the property is totally undeveloped. Unfortunately, swimming there is not allowed, but the beach is still interesting because it feels totally untouched. Be sure to bring a flashlight (especially one with a red filter) to get out at night to see the stars and some of the creatures that come out when it is dark. A trail runs along the beach side that locals use to get between a small nearby town and other destinations on the peninsula.

The highlight of our trip was the chance to see baby sea turtles scamper into the ocean. Seeing this felt a little like winning the lottery, and I don't think everyone should expect the same kind of luck, but if you want to have a chance, explore the beach early in the morning at sunrise.

Go to the Laguna Lodge if you don't mind giving up some amenities to see lots of wildlife and experience a different kind of Costa Rica than the "Beach Town" feel of the Pacific Coast.

Room Tip: One wing of rooms sits between a flower garden and the beach side. These rooms see lots of wildlife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicahDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

One can feel the noise of the jungle surrounding the lodge, being nevertheless a comfortable and well deserved lodging. The only way to get there is by boat through the Tortuguero lagoon, or walking from the village through the beach (in any case, the village can only be reached by boat). Beware, in any case: at 5 AM the howling monkeys start makin an awful noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

If you looking for resort style lodging, this place is not for you. If you are not looking for luxury but peace and relaxation then you are at the right place. This place has a lot of wildlife around, you would wake up to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys, enjoy you breakfast in a buffet overlooking the river, take walks on the beach or through botanical garden on property. I stayed there for several day but I could easily spend several weeks there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wow, what can we say, this is a wonderful place to be, a beautiful location and an adventure and just as enjoyable getting here, its only accessible by boat or very small plane, and the trip through the canals on the boat to get here is so worth it, you can see all sorts of things on the way. There is a warm welcome when you get here and, although it was a bigger resort than we thought, there is a great feel to the place and you don't see loads of people all over the place all the time except occasionally at the restaurant at night.

Our room was very comfortable even without a/c. There is a Safety deposit box in the room which is an adequate size and Tea/Coffee available all day and night in the Restaruant. Each room has a couple of rocking chairs outside on the porch so you can sit outside when you want.

Its an excellent location for the Restaurant and Bar, you can watch the sunset over the water while you are having your meal or having a cocktail at the bar.

There is plenty to do here and everything is done by boat. The trips up the Canals are well worth taking as you will see Howler Monkeys and loads of different birds and animals in the trees. We saw caymen as well. Tortuguero Village is not far away and there are all sorts of craft shops there but remember this is a small village with limited resources.

You cannot swim either at the beach or in the Lagoon but a trip to the beach is a must.
A wonderful place to stay and we would come back again

Room Tip: Make sure you use Mosquito spray before you go into the Botanical Gardens here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.8 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,036 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Tortuguero

Property: Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Address: BARRA DE TORTUGUERO , CARIBE NORTE 173. | ZAPOTE Limon, Tortuguero 2015, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Lodge Tortuguero 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Laguna Lodge Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing