We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Nearby Hotels
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens(Tortuguero)
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tortuguero Natural(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$30
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$80
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miss Miriam 2(Tortuguero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Manatus Hotel(Tortuguero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveler rating
373
447
102
33
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
447
102
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean seasmall fancosta ricathe riversan josepasta barbutterfly gardenbuffet stylenational parkfrog pondthere is no air conditioningtour groupboat ridegrounds are beautifulrocking chairshowler monkeyssummer camp
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 963 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Laguna Lodge during our tour with Caravan Tours. I loved that you can only get to the lodge via boat! The Lodge is beautifully situated with the river on one side and the Caribbean on the other. We stayed for two nights in Room #1. The room was clean and comfortable. There is no air conditioning but with open windows and a fan above the bed this was not a problem. It rained both nights we were there which was perfect to cool the air. During the day, the sun was shining and we enjoyed the pool.

The meals were buffet style for the tour group and were very good with fresh fruits and juice available for breakfast and a nice variety of hot foods for all meals.

While at the Lodge we took advantage of a guided tour of the frog garden at night, a bird tour of the grounds in the morning and two tours (one in the morning and one in the afternoon) of the rainforest by boat. We saw so much wildlife in its natural surroundings - what an incredible experience! We also visited the Turtle Research Station and Tortuguero Village. Loved it all and would love to return for another visit!

The only problem I had was with the power source to my laptop. My laptop stopped working on the second day at the lodge - it appeared to have power but would not start up. When we moved to our next hotel I plugged it in and it powered up after about 10 minutes of power. The only thing I can think that the issue would be is not enough power in the electrical connection at the lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

You need to take a boat to reach this lodge. Once there, lots of gardens. The frog garden is best visited at dark. There is a botanical garden to wonder in. The back side of the property is the ocean. Nothing like the sound of the ocean coming in your window at night! The rooms are beautiful and have a ceiling fan. Bathrooms are roomy and quite nice. The restaurant has great buffet style food. All is quite delicious - and fresh fruit!

Room Tip: Take a room that backs up to the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillydog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Laguna Lodge is between the river and the Caribbean (easy walk to both) in the middle of Tortuguero National Park, which is a magical location. You have to come in by boat (it is that isolated) and you do feel like you are in the middle of the jungle. The grounds are beautiful--lots of birds, etc. The cabins (actually groups of six connected rooms) are basic--two beds (one double, one single--not the most comfortable) with a small bathroom (bring your own shampoo--the only thing they provide is soap) and open shelves to put things on. (We actually kept most stuff in our bag because everything gets/stays wet here.) No A/C (but a powerful ceiling fan)--actually there are no windows, just screens so it feels like you are outside. No TV, telephone, hair dryer or coffee maker in the room, either. (Coffee is available all the time in the restaurant.) There is wireless access (free) but it's not the most reliable. There are nice rocking chairs on the covered porch in front of the rooms. The restaurant and bar area are nice--open air and right on the river. Food is good (buffet style meals). Pools look nice (we didn't actually get a chance to use it). The boat tours that are connected with the lodge are terrific--we saw all kings of wildlife (3 types of monkeys, sloths, lizards, many birds) and our guide Luis was amazing--knowledgable and enthusiatic. Tortuguero was a highlight of our tour in Costa Rica--it's a don't miss experience. And Laguna Lodge is a great place to stay. (I can't speak to the question of value because this part of a tour package and we didn't pay for the accomodations separately.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This lodge caters for quite a number of tour boats, and that considered is really pretty good. The cabins are fairly basic but clean, and the grounds of the lodge are attractive, 2 good pools, a nice bar & restaurant area and an interesting botanical garden. Lots of birds to be seen, including good Oropendola nests. The food is all buffet style and has a good range of fruit and salad and 2 cooking stations - all a bit "mass catering" but tasty enough. Whilst this was the most crowded place we stayed in Costa Rica, it was perfectly pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Basic accommodation in chalets with no shampoo etc provided. However, the location is fantastic. Sitting on the veranda we could see lots of different types of birds in the garden and some huge spiders too! The lodge is next to a beach and there is a trail to Tortuguero village which takes about 30 mins to walk. Unfortunately it rained every day of our stay and we were soaked through on the trips, and it was very difficult to get anything to dry.

Meals are all self service buffet style. There was plenty of choice of salads and fruit and at dinner, a couple of choices of main course. We were seated with the group of people with the same guide, of all nationalities, and enjoyed talking to them in a mixture of languages. We found everyone very friendly. Tea and coffee is available for free all day too which was a nice touch.
The trips we went on were interesting and we saw many birds, iguanas, a sloth, an anteater, and 3 species of monkeys. Our guide, Yuri, also stopped the boat and went ashore to find an immature blue jeans frog to show me when i asked about them. Unfortunately it wasnt the right time of year to see the turtles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews