We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple pleasures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple pleasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We loved Casa Marbella. The room was basic, but very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty. The inn is located close to everthing: a short walk to the Caribbean, to the National Park, to local restaurants. We took a guided boat tour which was outstanding: saw monkeys, sloths, caimans and multitudes of amazing birds, then a guided walking tour in the park where we saw toucans, more monkeys, etc. Our guide, Roberto, was excellent. Great value.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    202
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
96
286
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The riverside location of this accommodation is second to none. The decking area is superb and a good place to sit with a cold beer and watch river life. The breakfast was one of the best we had in CR, fresh fruit, pancakes and maple syrup -no rice or beans in sight! Words can't really describe the feeling of tranquility you get here. The rooms are simple yet spotless, showers hot and perfectly adequate. Only slight negative is that when it rains in the night the noise is deafening on the corrugated roof over the side walkway, equally deafening the noise of coconuts or similar being brought down by the rain. We didn't get much sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to see any wildlife at all, stay at one of the lodges beside the park, do not stay in the town. Between the speed boats, jet skis and music blaring at a volume so loud your teeth will rattle, there isn't any wildlife within a 5 mile radius of the town. We stayed at Casa Marbella - it's EXTREMELY basic; our room on the first floor had big windows with a sidewalk right outside, and everyone walking around to the deck could see into the room (so much for privacy). Our last night we stayed in a room on the second floor with only 1 small window and there was no air flow at all, we just baked. We spent an afternoon at Rana Roja (across the river from the town) and they were wonderful, reasonable rates and lots of wildlife. Next time we'll stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokulani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay in Tortuguero and Casa Marbella. We liked staying in the town. Casa Marbella is well located, though nothing is very far. Our room was simple but comfortable. Breakfast was good. Daryl and his staff were very nice. Daryl was responsive to email in making the reservation. It's a great value.
There is not much in Tortuguero that is right on the river. Casa Marbella is. We loved sitting on the deck right on the river, for breakfast, sitting there while using the internet, watching the sunset, watching the boats go by and the children swim.
We enjoyed the early morning boat tour with Roberto.
As others have said there isn't much to do inTortuguero. We only stayed two nights and really weren't ready to leave. We almost stayed another day. Three days would be nice if you enjoy just hanging out. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Exxcellent location , Darryl very helpfull , morning excursion well organised however limited amount of fauna to see . Coffee at 6am was well appreciated. Room was clean . Altogether a reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Casa Marbella. Location is great, right at the Tortuguero Lagoon. There is a private deck were you can sit back and relax. Host Daryl is very nice and helpful. We did the boat tour that he offers, with an electric silent motorboat, recommended! At departure he arranged the water taxi to Moín for us.
Breakfast is nice, with fresh fruits every day and either pancakes or toast and eggs.
Rooms are basic, light and clean, the only minus I can think of is that the beds are a bit hard. If you're willing to spend a bit more on the room: take the one upstairs with the waterside view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our first venture out into the Costa Rican rainforest was all we were hoping for and much more - the simple but perfect hospitalty offered by Daryl, his family and staff, the magical peace and quiet of simply sitting on the riverside deck, watching the river flow by and listening to the birds and howler monkies, the roar of the surf on the outside of the barrier in the background, the serenity and excitement of an early morning boatride through the channels in the rain forest, experiencing it all in the total silence permitted by the boat's electric motor as Roberto pointed out one forest resident after the other - all experiences of a lifetime! Thank you Daryl for everything - the only thing we regret is following your advice and only staying 3 nights with you!

Room Tip: we loved the riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Property: Casa Marbella
Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing