We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Marbella
Nearby Hotels
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rana Roja Lodge(Tortuguero)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Casona(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $28/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Tortuguero Natural(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$50
$43
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turtle Beach Lodge(Tortuguero)
$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aninga Lodge(Tortuguero)
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$444
$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mawamba Lodge(Tortuguero)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveler rating
299
218
45
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
218
45
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaryl lothelectric motorstreet sideboat tourthe rivermorning boatnational parkeggs and toastearly morningcosta ricanice deckupstairs roomgreat place to staysuperior roomfamily roomsingle bednice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 570 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to see any wildlife at all, stay at one of the lodges beside the park, do not stay in the town. Between the speed boats, jet skis and music blaring at a volume so loud your teeth will rattle, there isn't any wildlife within a 5 mile radius of the town. We stayed at Casa Marbella - it's EXTREMELY basic; our room on the first floor had big windows with a sidewalk right outside, and everyone walking around to the deck could see into the room (so much for privacy). Our last night we stayed in a room on the second floor with only 1 small window and there was no air flow at all, we just baked. We spent an afternoon at Rana Roja (across the river from the town) and they were wonderful, reasonable rates and lots of wildlife. Next time we'll stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hokulani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay in Tortuguero and Casa Marbella. We liked staying in the town. Casa Marbella is well located, though nothing is very far. Our room was simple but comfortable. Breakfast was good. Daryl and his staff were very nice. Daryl was responsive to email in making the reservation. It's a great value.
There is not much in Tortuguero that is right on the river. Casa Marbella is. We loved sitting on the deck right on the river, for breakfast, sitting there while using the internet, watching the sunset, watching the boats go by and the children swim.
We enjoyed the early morning boat tour with Roberto.
As others have said there isn't much to do inTortuguero. We only stayed two nights and really weren't ready to leave. We almost stayed another day. Three days would be nice if you enjoy just hanging out. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Exxcellent location , Darryl very helpfull , morning excursion well organised however limited amount of fauna to see . Coffee at 6am was well appreciated. Room was clean . Altogether a reasonable price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Casa Marbella. Location is great, right at the Tortuguero Lagoon. There is a private deck were you can sit back and relax. Host Daryl is very nice and helpful. We did the boat tour that he offers, with an electric silent motorboat, recommended! At departure he arranged the water taxi to Moín for us.
Breakfast is nice, with fresh fruits every day and either pancakes or toast and eggs.
Rooms are basic, light and clean, the only minus I can think of is that the beds are a bit hard. If you're willing to spend a bit more on the room: take the one upstairs with the waterside view.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estherhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our first venture out into the Costa Rican rainforest was all we were hoping for and much more - the simple but perfect hospitalty offered by Daryl, his family and staff, the magical peace and quiet of simply sitting on the riverside deck, watching the river flow by and listening to the birds and howler monkies, the roar of the surf on the outside of the barrier in the background, the serenity and excitement of an early morning boatride through the channels in the rain forest, experiencing it all in the total silence permitted by the boat's electric motor as Roberto pointed out one forest resident after the other - all experiences of a lifetime! Thank you Daryl for everything - the only thing we regret is following your advice and only staying 3 nights with you!

Room Tip: we loved the riverside room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews