We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Tortuguero!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Tortuguero!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Casa Marbella 2 nights in March 2012 and we loved it! First, the hotel is very conveniently located, in the middle of the village of Tortuguero: 2-min walk to the pier, 5-min walk to the beach and to the park. A bakery and a grocery store are also very close. The hotel has a very nice deck on the river, perfect to enjoy the breakfast or just read a book. The room we stayed in was large, super clean, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is very good. The staff is very helpful and can give you some advice about the restaurants in the area for instance. They can also give you boots to go walking in the park. We also booked a boat tour with the hotel and it was very interesting, the guide speaks english perfectly. In a nutshell, 2 perfect days in Tortuguero (in spite of the rain!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramabopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    191
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
88
279
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The folks who have posted such positive comments about Casa Marbella know what they're talking about. We stayed in the family room - two adults, two late teens - and had a terrific time. Daryl is tops. He went above and beyond in corresponding to make sure we had all the information we needed to get to Toruguero - which can be a little tricky - and to enjoy our stay. This was a late August trip. We did a night turtle tour (Do it!), a boat tour of the reserve (Do it!), our own "on foot" excursion of the reserve, meandered all over the town, took out one of the B&B's canoes... All sorts of monkeys, a sloth, birds and more birds... The view from the back deck is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Casa Marbella is a very nice place. Before we made our reservation, Casa Marbella provided a lot of relevant information related to getting there and things to do at place. The staff is very helpfull

The rooms have a good size and are clean. Nothing special, just good.

We have done two tours (wild life and turtle tour) with guide Roberto. He is a really fun tour guide with a lot of knowledge and personal attention.

We recommend Casa Marbella as the place to be at Tortuquero!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Casa Marbella and had a wonderfull time. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very friendly and the tours we booked through them were really interesting. We did a few nice walks along the beach, visited the national park (very wet, hire boots!), did a river tour in the electric boat of Casa Marbella, and of course a turtle tour. Daryl Loth is clearly and rightly proud of the organisational level of visiting the national park and especially the nightly turtle tour (an absolute must do).
The location in the middle of Tortuguero gives Casa Marbellla a very special atmosphere. Though in the centre of town it's quiet at night. Tortuguero has an 'un-Caribian', quite active atmosphere. We very much liked it.The terrace of Casa Marbella is overviewing the river and a wonderfull place to spent some relaxed moments. All in all we had a wonderfull time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Really glad that I enquired about availability 10 days in advance. Casa Marbella is great, we had a huge spotless room with breakfast, hot water and wifi included, all for a great price. Daryl was so helpful when I made my booking, thanks for the wonderful stay! They organise a great boat tour - our guide was professional and hugely knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafamille49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Did morning Casa Marbella tour with Daryl. AMAZING!!! He really knows his stuff. I´m a biologist and was absolutely blown away by this tour. He really cares and answered all my questions with a lot of detail. He even included detail on the colour of the monkeys scrota! Saw 3 types of monkey, river otter, awesome birds, river turtles, baby caiman, big caiman, iguanas, soooooo much. Boat really is awesome- very quiet and Daryl has a fab eye for the animals. Other boats from the big lodges were zooming past and making too much noise for some of the animals. Definitely do a tour with Daryl!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When my family visited Tortuguero for the first time in June of 2012, we had no idea what to expect, but we certainly did not expect Casa Marbella to be as quaint and accomodating as it was.

Located right on the water in the heart of the town, Casa Marbella's is a very pleasant and accessible B&B. Although the rooms were somewhat small, the maid service kept them clean, and they always added a special touch by folding our towels into the shape of a swan or something cute. Breakfast is included, and it was very good as well - lots of fresh fruit and either pancakes or eggs and beans. The property has a low dock and a deck, both of which are great from lounging on and enjoying the tranquility of the water and the surrounding lush tropical rainforests. Only drawback could be that there's no A/C, but they have ceiling fans and floor fans - none of my family had any problem sleeping, but that's also because we were worn out by our daily excursions and delicious dinnners on the island.

Overall, great deal for the money. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Property: Casa Marbella
Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing