We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with a comfortable stay”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service with a comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Manatus is one of the best hotels in Tortuguero, with air condition. This is what gives the hotel its major attraction, having air conditioning in such an area is great comfort, as it reduces mosquitoes and insects from entering the room. Throughout my stay i found very few insects in the room, which was a great comfort. It has impeccable service though and very private, as we were 11 of us and there was only 1 more couple, so it was very private and we were vegetarian, so they changed slight things in the menu for us. Gave us brilliant service, did what we wanted and even let someone from our group cook in their kitchen. Mothers day was at a time and they got the mothers breakfast in bed with a very special breakfast. It has a great forest trail from inside the hotel itself, where you can see different types of frogs and insects.
It is a very safe resort and you have to go there by boat. The guided tour to the rivers helps to see many different types of beautiful birds and we also saw a cayman and a great number of monkeys, iguanas and lizards. They also offer free kayaking.
We saw some toucans, monkeys and Iguanas in the hotel too. If you request them they take you to a hotel just opposite this one to see the red eyed tree frog, which is a must. One thing to keep in mind though is that to get around you need to ask the hotel to call for a cab (a speed boat) as all the places are islands.
This hotel has great service, great accommodation, a lot of fun and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilayshah1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    109
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
132
248
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Manatus is an 'eco-lodge'. The amenities in the rooms are at best average. The rooms are very clean. Food can be hit or miss in terms of flavours. Service is very good, and friendly although if the hotel is full as it was on one of our days, the limited waiting staff can get a little frustrated. That said they were flexible to our needs. The guide we had for our tours, Rey was fantastic - full of humour and information about the area and the local wildlife. Little or no interaction with management of the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location, the views and access to Tortuguero National Park - this is a must see!

Room Tip: If you get a room without a view - ask to change. Rooms arranged in blocks of three, of which one ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. Very comfortable room with two canopied beds. The food was excellent and the dining room wait staff was helpful and friendly. Groundskeepers were hard at work keeping the lawn areas neat and clean. We were very fortunate to have great wildlife experiences here, seeing and hearing lots of howler monkeys and watching a sloth with a baby on her chest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent 3 days here. Cabins are clean and neat. Outdoor shower amazing, had monkeys overhead in nearby trees. The grounds were alive with parrots, sloths, monkeys. An amazing experience.
Rey and Roberto our guides on the waterways were very knowledgable. Great guys. Had so much fun. Food was good, dining outside wonderful. Staff knew our names by end of 1st day and addressed us so. Everyone makes you feel welcomed.
If you want to experience the beauty of Tortuguero with some comforts this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We had room #6 which overlooked front of complex and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything. Pura Vida! Just to mention some of the things we really, really liked; the boat trips on, Tortuguerro Village, the Carribean ocean, the staff, the rooms, the wild life, the nature, the sloths,

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and we arrived at the hotel after a long transfer.
Well, it was worth !!
Nice spacious rooms, very well equipped,a.c.,screens,etc...
Outside lush tropical gardens beatifully kept. The tours they offer is also worth the money, ours guide Rey was very helpful. The remoteness of the place and the pristine tropical forest made it an incredible experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCountryTwo
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We were picked up from Cano Blanco Pier in their boat and whisked up the river at breakneck speed - the transfer took about one hour thirty minutes. After a nice lunch, we went on the boat again across the river to Tortugero village.
We were hosted by our guide, Chito, who showed us the turtle beach behind the village.
Next morning, and afternoon, we went in an open boat with Chito (and Manfred) to search for birds and wildlife on the banks of the rivers and canals. We saw sloths, monkeys, river turtles and an amazing variety of birds. A fabulous day, made really special by Chito's comprehensive knowledge of the local wildlife, flora and fauna. He was measured and intelligent in the way he inter-acted with us, a true professional. Top man.
The food and service at the hotel were excellent, - the rooms were great, wi-fi, tv, air-conditioning, etc. and we had two four poster beds.
The whole experience was superb. Well done, Manatus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#5 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 33 in Tortuguero
1,211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 33 in Tortuguero
671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 33 in Tortuguero
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Property: Manatus Hotel
Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing