We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manatus Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miss Miriam 2(Tortuguero)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$90
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
$96
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
378
129
20
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
129
20
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showersmall hotelthe air conditioningcosta ricathe riverguide luisnational parkhowler monkeyssan joserestaurant staffboat captainspotting wildliferooms are largean excellent guideturtle layinga wonderful stayboth ways
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 530 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. Very comfortable room with two canopied beds. The food was excellent and the dining room wait staff was helpful and friendly. Groundskeepers were hard at work keeping the lawn areas neat and clean. We were very fortunate to have great wildlife experiences here, seeing and hearing lots of howler monkeys and watching a sloth with a baby on her chest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent 3 days here. Cabins are clean and neat. Outdoor shower amazing, had monkeys overhead in nearby trees. The grounds were alive with parrots, sloths, monkeys. An amazing experience.
Rey and Roberto our guides on the waterways were very knowledgable. Great guys. Had so much fun. Food was good, dining outside wonderful. Staff knew our names by end of 1st day and addressed us so. Everyone makes you feel welcomed.
If you want to experience the beauty of Tortuguero with some comforts this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We had room #6 which overlooked front of complex and water.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything. Pura Vida! Just to mention some of the things we really, really liked; the boat trips on, Tortuguerro Village, the Carribean ocean, the staff, the rooms, the wild life, the nature, the sloths,

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and we arrived at the hotel after a long transfer.
Well, it was worth !!
Nice spacious rooms, very well equipped,a.c.,screens,etc...
Outside lush tropical gardens beatifully kept. The tours they offer is also worth the money, ours guide Rey was very helpful. The remoteness of the place and the pristine tropical forest made it an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We were picked up from Cano Blanco Pier in their boat and whisked up the river at breakneck speed - the transfer took about one hour thirty minutes. After a nice lunch, we went on the boat again across the river to Tortugero village.
We were hosted by our guide, Chito, who showed us the turtle beach behind the village.
Next morning, and afternoon, we went in an open boat with Chito (and Manfred) to search for birds and wildlife on the banks of the rivers and canals. We saw sloths, monkeys, river turtles and an amazing variety of birds. A fabulous day, made really special by Chito's comprehensive knowledge of the local wildlife, flora and fauna. He was measured and intelligent in the way he inter-acted with us, a true professional. Top man.
The food and service at the hotel were excellent, - the rooms were great, wi-fi, tv, air-conditioning, etc. and we had two four poster beds.
The whole experience was superb. Well done, Manatus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews