We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the forest”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent 3 days here. Cabins are clean and neat. Outdoor shower amazing, had monkeys overhead in nearby trees. The grounds were alive with parrots, sloths, monkeys. An amazing experience.
Rey and Roberto our guides on the waterways were very knowledgable. Great guys. Had so much fun. Food was good, dining outside wonderful. Staff knew our names by end of 1st day and addressed us so. Everyone makes you feel welcomed.
If you want to experience the beauty of Tortuguero with some comforts this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We had room #6 which overlooked front of complex and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 503 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything. Pura Vida! Just to mention some of the things we really, really liked; the boat trips on, Tortuguerro Village, the Carribean ocean, the staff, the rooms, the wild life, the nature, the sloths,

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and we arrived at the hotel after a long transfer.
Well, it was worth !!
Nice spacious rooms, very well equipped,a.c.,screens,etc...
Outside lush tropical gardens beatifully kept. The tours they offer is also worth the money, ours guide Rey was very helpful. The remoteness of the place and the pristine tropical forest made it an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We were picked up from Cano Blanco Pier in their boat and whisked up the river at breakneck speed - the transfer took about one hour thirty minutes. After a nice lunch, we went on the boat again across the river to Tortugero village.
We were hosted by our guide, Chito, who showed us the turtle beach behind the village.
Next morning, and afternoon, we went in an open boat with Chito (and Manfred) to search for birds and wildlife on the banks of the rivers and canals. We saw sloths, monkeys, river turtles and an amazing variety of birds. A fabulous day, made really special by Chito's comprehensive knowledge of the local wildlife, flora and fauna. He was measured and intelligent in the way he inter-acted with us, a true professional. Top man.
The food and service at the hotel were excellent, - the rooms were great, wi-fi, tv, air-conditioning, etc. and we had two four poster beds.
The whole experience was superb. Well done, Manatus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We try to visit Costa at least once a year and have been doing so for last five years, or so. We love the rainforest area around the little town of Tortuguero, at the Carribbean Sea. Very remote, very prestine, with wonderful air conditioned accomodations our favorite hotel, in that area, is the Manatus Hotel. Best of the best Great people, great dining (included), very friendly service, and a wonderful relaxing vacation. The Manatus and it's staff, and owner, Roberto, always deliver a great experience. We especially love traveling with the knowledgeable guides, on the included nearby canal boat tours, twice dayly, to spot the "wild life". Awesome for photographers. We'll be returning, again, next month. Even if you stay for one night (we stay five), the Manatus is a treasure not to be missed on your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReefExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was it the wonderful people (some of the nicest we've ever met)? The unbelievable experience of watching the turtles laying their eggs? Was it the howler monkeys outside the lodge? The tours of the waterways with close-up encounters of lizards, birds, more monkeys, fabulous flowers? The tropical beverages awaiting us as we debarked the boat?

This was one of the highlights of our amazing trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjcousins1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you love being in green places, with lush vegetation, nature hikes and total privacy this is your place. You also must love Biology and nature - as you are truly in the middle of a rain forest. It is a once in a lifetime treat and this is one of the only hotels in this area not touristy or with too many groups. You pay the price though as it is very expensive.

Really all you need is a night or two if it is part of your trip to Costa Rica. Once you go on the boat tour (ask for a special tour with Ray Brown - a local who has lived here his entire life and very passionate about the rain forest and natural medicine) a hike and enjoy the all-inclusive meals at Manatus, this is pretty much all there is to see in the area, unless you are scientist studying ecology.

The chocolate cake at Hotel Manatus and Garlic Red Snapper is a must on the menu at the hotel. Make sure to ask for Leo - very gentle soul and always at your service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonVivantGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
1.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
1 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: $329 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing