We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating area, lovely staff, great experience”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
TRAVERSE CITY
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fascinating area, lovely staff, great experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Tortuguero is reached only by boat or small plane. My grandson and I went by canal boat. The Manatus Hotel is right in the middle of the rain forest. All rainforest sightseeing is by canoe or boat. We did our sightseeing in pouring rain. I decided I am not a rainforest gal, but the forest and its inhabitants were certianly interesting. We had a pleasant room with two queen beds, nice little enclosed patio and bathroom.
There are lots of insects and lizards in this type of environment. If you don't like these things, don't go to this type of area.
The hotel food was delicious. The staff was warm and friendly. They were concerned that our big day of sightseeing had to be done in a downpour and offered us another trip.
We enjoyed visiting the village of Tortuguero and speaking with people who live in this isolated area.
The Hotel provides boots for doing your own walk in the forest around the area of the hotel and also provided kayaks. We took advantage of both. Great little spot to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the restaurant and lounge area. This way, if it rains you are close to the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    109
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
132
248
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place really nailed it! Detail-oriented resort in a remote region of Costa Rica. Staff is wonderful, grounds are gorgeous, and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. Everyone had excellent English language skills.

My only complaint is that the hotel encourages 1 or 2-night package stays. We should've stayed longer. Next time...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Manatus in Nov-Dec 2011. A wonderful hotel with excellent accommodation, food and service. The location was magical, on the river, backing onto the jungle with howler monkeys present in the hotel grounds most days. The rooms were very comfortable and surprisingly free of any wildlife. They could be noisy from the air-conditioning or the loud tropical rain on the roof but our stay was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.
This was not the best time of year to see turtles but sloths, monkeys, otters, toucans, iguanas and a boa constrictor were expertly pointed out by our guide on our river trips.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mongoose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My family stayed here in two adjoining rooms before high season, so especially on our first day it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We were blessed by very little rain and cool breezes.
The staff actually learns your names and calls you by name, which is sweet, and they have gone out of their way to show us a good time. If we were taking an early trip, they opened early for breakfast, and offered to pack us a lunch. We wanted to take an earlier boat trip, so they arranged it. Granted, being low season and not that many guests in the hotel they can be a bit more flexible.
We went on two boat trips (Caño Harold and Caño Palma) to spot wildlife with Cloyde, who is an amazing guide, and the boat captain can spot a basilisk lizard from 100m no joke. Between the two tours the only animal we didn't see was a jaguar (they are not easy to get a glimpse of). After we got back from the tour, we got a knock on the door and it was Cloyde, who brought us ylang ylang blossoms (which we had talked about on the tour) and showed us some spider monkeys in the trees by the restaurant. Cloyde is knowledgeable and has very interesting stories about Tortuguero, having been born and raised here, and can tell you what it was like living in the jungle and his father hunting for jaguars, but he seems to have taken conservation to heart and has a genuine reverence for the rainforest.
We also took the small trail to see the poison dart frogs, which you are pretty much guaranteed to see. It's muddy and buggy, so make sure you pick up some rubber boots (for free) and bug spray.
The hotel rooms are great, could use more light, but air conditioning is a lifesaver! The private outdoor showers are a nice touch, very cold so nice for a hot day. Didn't seem to have a choice of temperature in the inside shower, so if you want a hot shower stay inside, cold shower go outside. Bed was comfy and the room in general was clean and spacious. The grounds are quite lovely and you can see a wide variety of animals just on the grounds. We saw iguanas, howler monkeys, spider monkeys, and many birds, and poison dart frogs on the trail.
I think if you're here for just a day or two you could stay entertained just by doing the Manatus-provided trips and hanging out at the pool or on the dock sipping cocktails. If you're here for longer, take a water taxi or the Manatus-provided shuttle (certain time of the day) into the village and walk around, or have the hotel staff arrange a canopy tour or a fishing excursion, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StarmamaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is in a stunning location, on the edge of the waterway with the jungle on the other side. Being woken to the sound of howler monkeys outside our window at 4.30am was both harrowing and exhilarating.

The resort is fantastic and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful across the board. I especially liked relaxing on the rocking chairs overlooking the river. Rooms are enormous and very tastefully decorated.

My only complaint is the lack variety with the food, which was of a very high quality. I thoroughly enjoyed my two days in Tortugero and Manatus and would not hesitate in recommending this resort.

Tip - if you are going to go for a walk on the trail behind the resort, either wear long sleeved tops and trousers, or douse yourself in insect repellant.mi was ravaged by the mozzies!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a comfortable, friendly and well run hotel fighting back the jungle and its inhabitants on a daily basis. There are plans to develop the eco credentials further and take advantage of the fertile soil to grow produce. The remoteness of the area and the enjoyable boat trip in, enhance the enjoyment of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was a luxurious lodge. The rooms and hotel were beautifully decorated and immaculate. The bar area was nice as was the restaurant. Food was very good as were the cocktails. The owner was “hands on” and very personable. The pool area had a great view and the gardens were beautiful. We saw lots of wildlife both at the lodge and on tours. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer we found the whole tipping business in Costa Rica to be a minefield. In this lodge, as in several others, the guest notes state that gratuities are not included in the package but a box is available to leave gratuities for hotel staff, but this does not include guides and restaurant staff or boat captains. This means if you want to make sure everyone gets a tip then you end up spending as fortune! We also felt that in some top end hotels including this one (but more so in some others) that staff were expecting to be tipped and this reflected their style of service, and as Brits we found this at times embarrassing. We were told before we went to Costa Rica that tips were not normal as service is added at 10% to all food bills etc by law. Very confusing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#5 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Property: Manatus Hotel
Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing