We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place really nailed it! Detail-oriented resort in a remote region of Costa Rica. Staff is wonderful, grounds are gorgeous, and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. Everyone had excellent English language skills.

My only complaint is that the hotel encourages 1 or 2-night package stays. We should've stayed longer. Next time...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Manatus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 486 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Manatus in Nov-Dec 2011. A wonderful hotel with excellent accommodation, food and service. The location was magical, on the river, backing onto the jungle with howler monkeys present in the hotel grounds most days. The rooms were very comfortable and surprisingly free of any wildlife. They could be noisy from the air-conditioning or the loud tropical rain on the roof but our stay was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.
This was not the best time of year to see turtles but sloths, monkeys, otters, toucans, iguanas and a boa constrictor were expertly pointed out by our guide on our river trips.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mongoose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My family stayed here in two adjoining rooms before high season, so especially on our first day it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We were blessed by very little rain and cool breezes.
The staff actually learns your names and calls you by name, which is sweet, and they have gone out of their way to show us a good time. If we were taking an early trip, they opened early for breakfast, and offered to pack us a lunch. We wanted to take an earlier boat trip, so they arranged it. Granted, being low season and not that many guests in the hotel they can be a bit more flexible.
We went on two boat trips (Caño Harold and Caño Palma) to spot wildlife with Cloyde, who is an amazing guide, and the boat captain can spot a basilisk lizard from 100m no joke. Between the two tours the only animal we didn't see was a jaguar (they are not easy to get a glimpse of). After we got back from the tour, we got a knock on the door and it was Cloyde, who brought us ylang ylang blossoms (which we had talked about on the tour) and showed us some spider monkeys in the trees by the restaurant. Cloyde is knowledgeable and has very interesting stories about Tortuguero, having been born and raised here, and can tell you what it was like living in the jungle and his father hunting for jaguars, but he seems to have taken conservation to heart and has a genuine reverence for the rainforest.
We also took the small trail to see the poison dart frogs, which you are pretty much guaranteed to see. It's muddy and buggy, so make sure you pick up some rubber boots (for free) and bug spray.
The hotel rooms are great, could use more light, but air conditioning is a lifesaver! The private outdoor showers are a nice touch, very cold so nice for a hot day. Didn't seem to have a choice of temperature in the inside shower, so if you want a hot shower stay inside, cold shower go outside. Bed was comfy and the room in general was clean and spacious. The grounds are quite lovely and you can see a wide variety of animals just on the grounds. We saw iguanas, howler monkeys, spider monkeys, and many birds, and poison dart frogs on the trail.
I think if you're here for just a day or two you could stay entertained just by doing the Manatus-provided trips and hanging out at the pool or on the dock sipping cocktails. If you're here for longer, take a water taxi or the Manatus-provided shuttle (certain time of the day) into the village and walk around, or have the hotel staff arrange a canopy tour or a fishing excursion, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StarmamaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is in a stunning location, on the edge of the waterway with the jungle on the other side. Being woken to the sound of howler monkeys outside our window at 4.30am was both harrowing and exhilarating.

The resort is fantastic and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful across the board. I especially liked relaxing on the rocking chairs overlooking the river. Rooms are enormous and very tastefully decorated.

My only complaint is the lack variety with the food, which was of a very high quality. I thoroughly enjoyed my two days in Tortugero and Manatus and would not hesitate in recommending this resort.

Tip - if you are going to go for a walk on the trail behind the resort, either wear long sleeved tops and trousers, or douse yourself in insect repellant.mi was ravaged by the mozzies!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a comfortable, friendly and well run hotel fighting back the jungle and its inhabitants on a daily basis. There are plans to develop the eco credentials further and take advantage of the fertile soil to grow produce. The remoteness of the area and the enjoyable boat trip in, enhance the enjoyment of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was a luxurious lodge. The rooms and hotel were beautifully decorated and immaculate. The bar area was nice as was the restaurant. Food was very good as were the cocktails. The owner was “hands on” and very personable. The pool area had a great view and the gardens were beautiful. We saw lots of wildlife both at the lodge and on tours. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer we found the whole tipping business in Costa Rica to be a minefield. In this lodge, as in several others, the guest notes state that gratuities are not included in the package but a box is available to leave gratuities for hotel staff, but this does not include guides and restaurant staff or boat captains. This means if you want to make sure everyone gets a tip then you end up spending as fortune! We also felt that in some top end hotels including this one (but more so in some others) that staff were expecting to be tipped and this reflected their style of service, and as Brits we found this at times embarrassing. We were told before we went to Costa Rica that tips were not normal as service is added at 10% to all food bills etc by law. Very confusing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prettyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Likes:
- Air conditioning. As far as I know, this is the only hotel in the area that offers it and it works well. 
- The group size. There was only one other couple with us, so we got to know them well. We even stayed at the same hotel in Arenal by coincidence. 
- The tours. Well organized and we saw plenty of animals. 
- The coordination. Everything was well organized and ran on time.
- This bus ride to and from the port was nice and air conditioned and we had plenty room to spread out. Melissa, our guide on the bus on the way to the port was excellent. 
- The massages. We did the honeymoon package and it was an outstanding value. We didn't do the included canopy tour (we forgot and they never mentioned it), but the hour-long massages, which came out to $20 a piece, were wonderful. Jessica and Esmeralda (sp?) were great masseuses and it was a great treat after touring by boat all day. 
- The Internet. Strong, fast wi-fi in our room. 
- The T.V. had a good selection of channels in English. 

Dislikes:
- The lack of drinks. When you're in the middle of no where and you have an all inclusive package, you expect at least water and soda to be included right? Not here! We had to pay for every single bottle of water and for every soda. We didn't buy enough during our only trip into town, so we were left paying $2+ per bottle. And with the heat, you want to drink quite a few. 
- Rey, our guide, overcharged us by about $6 for the park entry fee since we chose to pay in colones instead of USD. 
- The food. Besides breakfast, when I got cereal, every meal was incredibly heavy and greasy. I tired of the options very quickly, as they were very unusual. I would have preferred more local cuisine and, surprisingly, fewer courses. Once you're done eating, there isn't much to do to burn off what you've eaten, so we felt incredibly lethargic the entire time we were there. 
- Not much to do. You're pretty much stuck in a relatively small area and the tours only take up a few hours a day. The pool was small and unexciting. The forest trail near the hotel  was pretty short and mosquito-y. We tried to play with the pool table but it was so warped that all the balls rolled to one side. So pretty much we just took naps and watched T.V. in our free time. 
- The rooms were dark, but you had to keep the curtains closed for privacy and to keep the room cool. 
- The lack of king sized bed, but I realize others may like the idea of having two queens. 
- No air conditioning, or windows (just a screen), in the bathroom. Bugs got in the shower and it was uncomfortable to get ready when it was hot. It was small, so it felt really stuffy. 
- The fact that toilet paper cannot be flushed down the toilet. I realize that every place in Tortuguero is like this, but I would have appreciated a heads up from the hotel in order to mentally prepare ahead of time. And he lack of air conditioning in the bathroom doesn't help with this. 

Overall, this is probably the only place I could have stayed at in Tortuguero, but for the price, I felt a bit ripped off. 

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrewP988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManatus, Director General at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hi, thank you for the review of our hotel, we take care about each and every review in order to improve our service, and provide an unforgettable experience in Tortuguero.
We are sorry about the misunderstanding regarding the services provided by our hotel. Manatus does offer a service where meals are included, but is not an all inclusive hotel; therefore, bar drinks such as sodas, natural and alcoholic beverages are not included in our rates. We are going to work in our communication to make it clear to our guests and avoid any misunderstandings regarding this matter.
In general our rates include:
• All meals in our Gourmet Restaurant
• Ground Transfer: San José - (Pavona / Caño Blanco) - San José
• Boat transfer: (Pavona / Caño Blanco) - Tortuguero - (Pavona / Caño Blanco)
• Breakfast on route and lunch on route
• Luxury rooms and accommodations
• Tour to the town and water channels (entrance not included)
If you ever return to Tortuguero, we would be glad to receive you again; we will make special efforts to guarantee you have a pleasant experience in Manatus Hotel.
Again, thank you for your reviews, in Manatus Hotel we want to provide a positive and unforgettable experience to our travelers, and that starts by listening to our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,080 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: $305 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing