We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge: persistent rain spoiled our experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great lodge: persistent rain spoiled our experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Efficient pick up in San Jose, comfortable aircon mini-bus for transfer, stopping enroute for breakfast and brief trip round banana plantation, informative commentary on the sights as we crossed the volcanic devide and dropped down into Lemon province. Easy transfer to boat for the very pleasant hour long cruise to the remote lodge.
The main lodge and the fourteen rooms are spread along a hundred and fifty yard stretch of the bank of the waterway surrounded by pleasant gardens. The principle roomes in blocks of four are comfortable with efficient air-con, twin double beds, fridge, sky tv and wifi; the adjoining shower room is spacious but space is limited on the vanitory unit (mostly filled by the safe!) and there is no plug or hot water to the basin.
Food and service are excellent: table service with a good, if a little limited, menu at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Unfortunately the main purpose of visiting, to see the annimals, was completely ruined by the regular and very heavy rainfall. The trips to the National Park were on open boats with no protection offered from the rain, unlike other lodges they did not provide waterproofs so one just got very wet. And while it was raining there was little to see in the way of animals or birds so it was all a bit pointless and unpleasant. When you run out of dry clothes you begin to wonder why you came! And this was the dry season!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
129
242
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WestCountryTwo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was the sixth hotel we stayed in during our one month tour of Costa Rica.
Excerpt from my daily blog as follows:-
Day 16
We had to get to Cano Blanco Pier to get the boat to Tortuguero. Our tour operators said it was at Guapiles, but it was in fact nearly 60kms further on, the last 35kms or so on dirt roads.
Luckily the boat waited for us and we were treated to an exciting and surprisingly fast boat journey up to Manatus Lodge, just opposite the Tortuguero village. This took about an hour.
They gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and we were shown to our cabin/bungalows, which were very nice. Everything to a real high standard. We went across to the local village of Tortugero in the afternoon and had a very nice meal in the Lodge in the evening. Their house wine was wonderful.
They have their own nature trails where we saw poison dart frogs (and some mosquitos!).

Day 17
Good breakfast then a guided boat tour in the morning and afternoon. Visited Tortugero village.
Manatus Lodge is excellent. Small and personal and top quality everything, including the food.

Only a short stay, but we loved it. Would like to go back again. Because they pack in so many tours, two days is probably about right here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Beautiful location, charming staff, very comfortable rooms and nice menus.
The best thing, the views and the peace from the pier.
If we, someday come back to Tortuguero, we will stay at Manatus for sure.
The experiene was unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odijk
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Location was superb. The hotel is not located in Tortuguero Village, but a few minutes on a boat outside, which means you will have an undisturbed nights rest. The rooms are very nice, with a lot of attention to detail. The airco is very nice in this warm climate and above all, its silent! The beds were very nice and we slept like a rose.

The ride to Manatus is already a lot of fun. On the way there is a stop with a nice lunch and you also make a blitz visit to a banana plant. On the spot you can enjoy some fresh coconut milk right from the nut. Delicious.

After this bumpy ride, you jump on a boat with another guide pointing out nice stuff you encounter on your way to the hotel. We saw a lot of birds and a herd of water buffalo.

When you arrive at the location itself, you are greeted with a nice cold towel to wipe of the sweat of your face and the most delicious fruit cocktail.

The food is of superb quality (good restaurant quality) and the staff is very very nice. They speak perfectly english, and they were even friendly enough to help us a bit with learning spanish.

The trips arranged in Tortuguero itself are also very nice.

Its really a shame that Manatus isn't meantioned in Lonely Planet (at least not in our edition). You should take advantage of this, because now there is a higher chance they still got some vacancies left.

Room Tip: The rooms at the riverside are a big better view-wise, all rooms are really nice though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great little hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The boat ride to and from the hotel is an experience in itself and the excursions in open boats on the waterways are rich in wildlife experiences, particularly so for birds. We also saw sloths, howler monkeys, capucine monkeys and alligators, some of them at very close distance.

The food is good and the rooms are more than adequate.

Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

what a great place, in the middle of the rain forest and on the banks of one of the waterways it is situated in a dreamy place.

The food was very good, the rooms spacious and very comfortable
and the stuff very helpful and kind,

The location and atmosphere are exceptional, we woke up in the mornings to the sounds of the Howler monkeys ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level Contributor
493 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is North of the Tortuguero Park which you Will reach after one hour of a superb bot ride. There you will find a small place - 12 rooms- and a most friendly service. Tours are organized twice a day to visit by boat the surroundings and learn about the flora and fauna. Good mélasse included in the Price. Rooms could be better and the total price is rather expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Property: Manatus Hotel
Address: | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A room at Manatus Hotel begins with an extraordinary sense of peace and comfort. Your guest room is designed to inspire, its beauty connects you with the surrounding environment of a wildlife sanctuary and the water canals, while ensuring your comfort and convenience. Here at Manatus Hotel, the first class experience is the rule rather than the exception. We offer all the possibilities for family getaways, romantic escapades, vacations and wildlife adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing